Old 07-31-2008, 12:34 AM   #1
Tonehenge
Human being with feelings
 
Tonehenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 738
Default Just got my new Macbook...question about idle cpu use..

thrilled with the progress on Mac Reaper. I have C2D 2.4 ghz, 4gig of ram. Just a question...idle cpu usage is hovering between 8 and 11%...that's with an empty workspace. Is this normal? If I minimize the view, cpu usage drops to near zero..
I'm on Beta 2.43

Last edited by Tonehenge; 07-31-2008 at 01:23 AM.
Tonehenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 12:25 PM   #2
BaronStinky
Human being with feelings
 
BaronStinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 210
Default

Same here, but I'm kickin up to about 14%. Same processor, 2G ram.
__________________
Are you planning on doing anything with all those plugins, or are they just there to ease the chaffing?
BaronStinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 03:26 PM   #3
Tonehenge
Human being with feelings
 
Tonehenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 738
Default

I wonder what it means...
Tonehenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 10:43 PM   #4
todd160
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 70
Default

same thing here, cpu usage is really high using just a few tracks in a project. seems like the more tracks you add the more power it uses, even when idle.
check out my test project in the lower half of this thread and report your results there :

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=19797

thanks
todd160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.