Old 08-18-2008, 01:27 AM   #1
artkau
Human being with feelings
 
artkau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gauteng, South Africa
Posts: 271
Default Mac Keyboards and SHIFT ?

Hiya, not mad about Mac. Got one. Will do.

Keyboard shortcuts that come up in SHIFT ? helper sometimes indicate keys should be used that simply don't exist on my MacBook Pro.

CMD ALT and PGDN for example. Stupid frikken Mac has few standard page navigation keys.
artkau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 03:22 AM   #2
BaronStinky
Human being with feelings
 
BaronStinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 210
Default

Cmd is equivalent to ye old Apple key (squiggly square icon button next to the space bar), alt is the option key, and as for pg down or anything else you can just change the key binding in the action menu. It's not that mac doesn't have "standard" navigation keys, it just doesn't use Windows standards. They've been doing their own thing for quite a while now, and most of it has been established. Try messing with cmd/alt key and arrow combinations in your favorite aps. (cmd + up arrow/down arrow for instance). It's all pretty intuitive. As far as reaper goes though, I just assign whatever key makes the most sense to me to often-used functions.
__________________
Are you planning on doing anything with all those plugins, or are they just there to ease the chaffing?
BaronStinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 03:31 AM   #3
artkau
Human being with feelings
 
artkau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gauteng, South Africa
Posts: 271
Default

Kewl man. Just in a stinky monday morning mood, and have to re-source all my VST's cause they are mac incompatible... grrr...
artkau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 05:03 PM   #4
BaronStinky
Human being with feelings
 
BaronStinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artkau View Post
Kewl man. Just in a stinky monday morning mood, and have to re-source all my VST's cause they are mac incompatible... grrr...
Hehe. The trials of inter-OS travel. Good luck!
__________________
Are you planning on doing anything with all those plugins, or are they just there to ease the chaffing?
BaronStinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 08:11 PM   #5
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by artkau View Post
Kewl man. Just in a stinky monday morning mood, and have to re-source all my VST's cause they are mac incompatible... grrr...
The main reason I never made the switch. Too many killer freebies available for windoze.

.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.