Old 02-10-2019, 02:55 AM   #1
Cranky Emu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 120
Default Disable Snapping to 0dB

I would like to see a feature where you could disable the mixer fader snapping to 0dB if you did not want this function.

Have it so it can be enabled or disabled dependent on your tastes.

To date I have tried 5 different mouse and all do the same thing, even a single click can cause the fader to snap to 0dB. I am not saying this is a fault within Reaper (it may or may not be) but after 4 different brand-name mouse and a no-namer all doing the same thing it makes me think the rodents are not entirely at fault.
__________________
► C. Emu ◄
♪ DAW: Reaper/Ocenaudio ♫ Audio Interface: Focusrite 2i2
♯ Monitors: Alesis Elevate 6 / Focusrite Scarlett HP-60
Cranky Emu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 06:54 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,904
Default

It should only be a double click that snaps, sounds like something is not configured right on your end
__________________
I found it in the Google Reaper search
http://cse.google.com/cse?cx=0024585...%3Anbhva-j9iic
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 11:45 PM   #3
Cranky Emu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
It should only be a double click that snaps, sounds like something is not configured right on your end
I have adjusted the double-click rate to it's maximum, not sure if there is a bug in Reaper regarding this or not. But more often then not it will snap on a single click, or even while you are adjusting the fader level.

It can't be a hardware related problem, as I have tried 5 different mouse thus far, three well known name-brands and two generic/no-name types and all do the same thing.

If it is not an issue with Reaper itself, maybe an option to disable fader snapping only would be of benefit to those experiencing this happening. If you don't have issues with it, or like the feature, leave fader snapping on, if you have problems or just plain hate it then you can disable it.
__________________
► C. Emu ◄
♪ DAW: Reaper/Ocenaudio ♫ Audio Interface: Focusrite 2i2
♯ Monitors: Alesis Elevate 6 / Focusrite Scarlett HP-60
Cranky Emu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 03:23 AM   #4
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,904
Default

I would guess you have a bad mouse that is intermittently firing a double click. Swap it out to rule it out.
__________________
I found it in the Google Reaper search
http://cse.google.com/cse?cx=0024585...%3Anbhva-j9iic
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 02:57 PM   #5
MaXyM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
I would guess you have a bad mouse that is intermittently firing a double click. Swap it out to rule it out.
he already swapped 4 different mouses. Have you even read OP?
MaXyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 04:41 PM   #6
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,904
Default

I missed that. Damn, what can it be
__________________
I found it in the Google Reaper search
http://cse.google.com/cse?cx=0024585...%3Anbhva-j9iic
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 03:32 AM   #7
Cranky Emu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
It should only be a double click that snaps, sounds like something is not configured right on your end
Yeah mate, double clicks snap to zero as per normal, but it also happens on singles as well.
__________________
► C. Emu ◄
♪ DAW: Reaper/Ocenaudio ♫ Audio Interface: Focusrite 2i2
♯ Monitors: Alesis Elevate 6 / Focusrite Scarlett HP-60
Cranky Emu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 08:17 AM   #8
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,904
Default

Can you try a reinstall of Reaper ? This is crazy and would make the app unusable. Huge problem. What the hell can it be ? Start with a portable install and try it there first. Are you in Windows ? I assume single click / double click works fine in all your other apps.
__________________
I found it in the Google Reaper search
http://cse.google.com/cse?cx=0024585...%3Anbhva-j9iic
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 10:59 PM   #9
Cranky Emu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Can you try a reinstall of Reaper ? This is crazy and would make the app unusable. Huge problem. What the hell can it be ? Start with a portable install and try it there first. Are you in Windows ? I assume single click / double click works fine in all your other apps.
Yeah, no issues with any other programs. This is only happening within reaper. I use Vegas Pro as well, and never have any rodent issues there.

I'm defeated
I think I will purchase yet another rodent from the pet store tomorrow and see what happens.

But I still believe it would be a nice idea to have the ability to disable snap to 0dB on faders only in a future edition of Reaper.

As for re-installing, not so keen on that angle of attack, as everything else works fine, the only issue is with this snapping.
__________________
► C. Emu ◄
♪ DAW: Reaper/Ocenaudio ♫ Audio Interface: Focusrite 2i2
♯ Monitors: Alesis Elevate 6 / Focusrite Scarlett HP-60
Cranky Emu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 04:46 AM   #10
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,904
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cranky Emu View Post
Yeah, no issues with any other programs. This is only happening within reaper. I use Vegas Pro as well, and never have any rodent issues there.

I'm defeated
I think I will purchase yet another rodent from the pet store tomorrow and see what happens.

But I still believe it would be a nice idea to have the ability to disable snap to 0dB on faders only in a future edition of Reaper.

As for re-installing, not so keen on that angle of attack, as everything else works fine, the only issue is with this snapping.
Just do a portable install into a separate directory. Just run the installer and check portable install. It will create and install it has zero effect on your current install and make it easy for you to check it out. This is really an insane problem that age to be figured out
__________________
I found it in the Google Reaper search
http://cse.google.com/cse?cx=0024585...%3Anbhva-j9iic
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 05:26 AM   #11
onewayout
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Florida
Posts: 956
Default

Is your volume envelope engaged BAC?
onewayout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 06:04 AM   #12
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,904
Default

Can you supply a sample project ?
__________________
I found it in the Google Reaper search
http://cse.google.com/cse?cx=0024585...%3Anbhva-j9iic
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 10:15 AM   #13
Cranky Emu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onewayout View Post
Is your volume envelope engaged BAC?
BAC? Blood Alcohol Content, other then that I don't know what BAC is or means, you might have to explain it, I'm old
__________________
► C. Emu ◄
♪ DAW: Reaper/Ocenaudio ♫ Audio Interface: Focusrite 2i2
♯ Monitors: Alesis Elevate 6 / Focusrite Scarlett HP-60
Cranky Emu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 10:17 AM   #14
Cranky Emu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Can you supply a sample project ?
Do you mean the Reaper Project file or everything including audio files?
__________________
► C. Emu ◄
♪ DAW: Reaper/Ocenaudio ♫ Audio Interface: Focusrite 2i2
♯ Monitors: Alesis Elevate 6 / Focusrite Scarlett HP-60
Cranky Emu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 10:59 AM   #15
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,904
Default

Project file should do it, but do a portable install and test that. It's super easy.
__________________
I found it in the Google Reaper search
http://cse.google.com/cse?cx=0024585...%3Anbhva-j9iic
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 11:31 PM   #16
Cranky Emu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Project file should do it, but do a portable install and test that. It's super easy.

Been using the new rodent and all seems to be fine.

With the exception that it 'sticks' in place now and then, like it is turning off. Checked all device settings so it is not powering off etc, and all is good, so unless it is some kind of stupid built-in power (battery) saving feature you cannot disable it has me buggered, but I can live with this. It does this on all programs.

And this variant is an expensive Microsoft variety and it still has issues. It is driving me insane.
__________________
► C. Emu ◄
♪ DAW: Reaper/Ocenaudio ♫ Audio Interface: Focusrite 2i2
♯ Monitors: Alesis Elevate 6 / Focusrite Scarlett HP-60
Cranky Emu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 04:16 AM   #17
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,904
Default

Progress ! Wireless USB mouse? Make sure the receiver is close to the mouse. I put mine on a USB extension cable so it is a foot away. I had the same sticking issue when it kept losing connection.
__________________
I found it in the Google Reaper search
http://cse.google.com/cse?cx=0024585...%3Anbhva-j9iic
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 08:03 AM   #18
Cranky Emu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Progress ! Wireless USB mouse? Make sure the receiver is close to the mouse. I put mine on a USB extension cable so it is a foot away. I had the same sticking issue when it kept losing connection.
Ah thanks for that. Currently the receiver is located around 4 or 5 foot from the actual rodent. I also have a 1 Watt Wi-Fi router to, not sure if that is relevant.

There is no option to change wireless channel for the mouse. I will did up a USB extension cable, sure I have some in the junk room/workshop and give it a run.
__________________
► C. Emu ◄
♪ DAW: Reaper/Ocenaudio ♫ Audio Interface: Focusrite 2i2
♯ Monitors: Alesis Elevate 6 / Focusrite Scarlett HP-60
Cranky Emu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.