Old 12-29-2016, 06:19 PM   #1
Rmn
Human being with feelings
 
Rmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 104
Default Bootcamp ?

A similar post have been made on 2009 for reaper 3 :
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=38145

I'm about to install bootcamp on my retina, to use reaper with windows 7.

Are asio4all drivers compatible ?

(It seems there are some problems with audio interface drivers,
but it's not a problem for me because I use only asio4all).

The reason why I want to use mac for production :
- greater screen display 2560 x 1 600 (vs 1366 x 768 for my pc-laptop)

The reason why I want use win7 :
- Vmorph and miditoreacontrolpath are core of my workflow, but it's not supported for osx.

Does it makes sense ? Or am I complicating things ?

Last edited by Rmn; 12-29-2016 at 06:36 PM.
Rmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 10:08 AM   #2
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,489
Default

Simple:

If Vmorph and miditoreacontrolpath are a real necessity for your workflow, yeah go ahead.
Otherwise, it's the world upside down imho :0)
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 03:30 AM   #3
Rmn
Human being with feelings
 
Rmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 104
Default

ahah, sure.
I'll update this post when I'll be done with win7 install, and tried if reaper runs fine, but as I can see for other DAWs, it works exactly the same as PCs, exept may be the case that drivers a different for audio interfaces.

update : asio4all doesn't seems to work, but audio interface motu microbook II with proprietary drivers seems to work.

When the macbook is on battery, the microbook tend to disconnect from time to time, I guess because of a lack of voltage/empere in usb ports (may bootcamp doesn't manage it well ?). It works fine when the retina is on charge.
I'll try soon with an usb hub, with power supply (d-link H7)

Last edited by Rmn; 01-02-2017 at 03:19 PM.
Rmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 09:26 AM   #4
northwoodmediaworks
Human being with feelings
 
northwoodmediaworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 85
Default

This has me wondering now. I use Reaper on my MacBookPro 15 Retina 2013, and even with the built in audio it works well. I have various interfaces, Steinberg UR44 and an old Tascam MkII, the Tascam works great in the MacOS partition, but I have not installed Reaper into my Win10 Bootcamp partition. Perhaps I should try that.

So Asio4All does not work, thanks for the heads up. I will give it a try with one or both of my interfaces and write back.

Cheers
__________________
Robin
Northwood Mediaworks
http://northwoodmediaworks.com
northwoodmediaworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 02:00 PM   #5
Rmn
Human being with feelings
 
Rmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 104
Default

update : work like a charm with d-link usb hub, and microbook II
Rmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.