Old 06-25-2015, 08:11 AM   #1
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default Scripts: Item Fades (various)

Hi !

Here I will put some scripts related to item fade.

Let's start with one !

  • Set selected items fade-in fade-out length (seconds)


The power of this script is to be able to set priority for fadeout This means that yuo can set a value for both fade in and fadeout, but the value of fadeout will be set before the value of fade in, that will be adjusted if it's value were too high and was supposed to go beyond item fade out.

Instructions: A pop up will let you enter value of selected items fade-in and fade-out. -1 is for leaving as it is, 0 is for reset. Express value in seconds. Priority is to let you choose what fades will be set first if they overlaps (items too short). If fades are longer than items, they are adjusted accordingly.
If you want to change the fadetype, there is buildin action for this !

Hope you will like it

Cheers !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 04:14 PM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

  • X-Raym_Set selected items fade-in fade-out length (seconds).lua
Code:
 * v1.1 (2015-26-06)
  + Now with relative to initial fade with + prefix
You can now offset the current fades by a certain amount using the "+" prefix
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 04:37 PM   #3
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

Two new scripts:
  • X-Raym_Set selected items fade-out to snap offset.lua
  • X-Raym_Set selected items fade-in to snap offset.lua


Can be useful, especially with the Set fades length script in relative mod

Pfiou. Approx 20 scripts release today and 10 updates... Time to rest.

Thanks you for your support in any way (donation or comment)

EDIT: 2015-09-29
So, if you completly messed sommes items fades because you had Auto-fades activated... :
  • Reset selected items auto-fades

Last edited by X-Raym; 09-29-2015 at 02:47 PM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 09:07 PM   #4
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,583
Default

Bonjour Raymond! These are great.
Would you be able to add an option to exclude any existing fade in/out that might be set? (For the purposes of only adding fades to item edges that don't have them.)


Cheers!
__________________
Puzzle Factory Sound Studios, London [Website] [Instagram]
[AMD 5800X, 32Gb RAM, Win10x64, NVidia GTX1080ti, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUCX, REAPER x64]
[Feature request: More details in Undo History]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 09:50 PM   #5
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

wonder if it would be possible to copy the fades on a given item and apply that to other selected items?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 09:54 PM   #6
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,583
Default

Mmm, possibly, but it wouldn't be the most efficient workflow for what I have in mind.
__________________
Puzzle Factory Sound Studios, London [Website] [Instagram]
[AMD 5800X, 32Gb RAM, Win10x64, NVidia GTX1080ti, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUCX, REAPER x64]
[Feature request: More details in Undo History]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 12:09 AM   #7
babag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
wonder if it would be possible to copy the fades on a given item and apply that to other selected items?
spk77 has a copy/paste item parameters script that includes fades. great script.

what i'd really like to see in reaper fades is a dragable point on the fade curve that would allow for customization of the shape. or even bezier handles.

thanks,
BabaG
babag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 03:45 AM   #8
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

@babag
Thanks for pointing the spk77 script this is indeed the way to go for cooy paste fades !

For dragble bezier point... I'm affraid it is not a scriptable thing :P

@dax
Hi !

As I want my scripts to be the most modular as possible, and if possible not to be bloated of feature, what I can propose you is a second script before to run before with one:
Exclude itels with fades from selection, with two user inouts : In, out. Need to check how it will handle crossfades.
This way if someone want to execute another action on non faded items, it will be possible.it will be also possible to invert selction and select only non faded items... Nice for putting small fade in/out with the set items fades script !
Sure yiu can use save and restore items selection if you need.

What do you think of that ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 04:50 AM   #9
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,583
Default

Yes, sounds fine to me. I can put it into I've script very easily anyway.

Thanks Raymond
__________________
Puzzle Factory Sound Studios, London [Website] [Instagram]
[AMD 5800X, 32Gb RAM, Win10x64, NVidia GTX1080ti, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUCX, REAPER x64]
[Feature request: More details in Undo History]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 08:52 AM   #10
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

Script release and posted here:

Scripts: Items selection (Various)

X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 09:38 AM   #11
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by babag View Post
spk77 has a copy/paste item parameters script that includes fades. great script.

what i'd really like to see in reaper fades is a dragable point on the fade curve that would allow for customization of the shape. or even bezier handles.

thanks,
BabaG
Thanks for pointing to that script... I'd missed seeing it. However, Planetnine seems to have done some beta version in eel... I just got his most recent beta 9...
But I find a flaw when it comes to fades... plz try this to see it. [maybe it can be fixed???]

OK... just make two empty midi items ... on one of them put a fade at start and end... make them long enough to easily see...
Now, hold the Alt key and tweak the shape of them both..

OK... not use the script to copy all the possible settings for fades from that item and paste to the other item.

I do not see the tweaked shape of the fades getting pasted. Do you?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 09:57 AM   #12
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

@hopi
be sure to click on FadeIn Shape, FadeOut Shape, and equivalent length before setting the source and make the copy.

Further assistance needed to this script should be writen in the dedicated thread :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 10:10 AM   #13
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

thanks... but unless I'm really dumb [always a possibility!] I don't find it working. Here is what I see... am I doing it wrong?

http://***************/a/img537/669/I8jvGJ.gif

..and yes, I understand and will continue in the thread about that script. Forgive me for cluttering up this thread.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 10:18 AM   #14
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

I'm pretty sure you don't have the last version. That should be the problem
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 10:22 AM   #15
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

I may be a bug with the BWF version, try this one:
https://stash.reaper.fm/v/21379/Copy%...parameters.zip

EDIT: See spk77 comment below

Last edited by X-Raym; 07-04-2015 at 11:47 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 11:25 AM   #16
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,668
Default

X-Raym and hopi,
I posted a fadein/fadeout related feature request here: http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...&postcount=140

That weirdness in hopi's gif is probably happening because we can't get/set the fadein/fadeout curves from reascript.
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 11:53 AM   #17
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

@spk77
This could be retrieve by XML chunk reading

Code:
item = reaper.GetSelectedMediaItem(0, 0)
retval, chunk = reaper.GetItemStateChunk(item, "", false)
reaper.ShowConsoleMsg(chunk)


it could be a nice SWS API request or a code snippet to write in Lua/EEL
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 12:13 PM   #18
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,668
Default

That's right
...but when writing to a state chunk, there's always a possibility that something goes wrong (Jeffos mentioned something about "freezed tracks" etc.). Let's hope that Cockos or the SWS guy(s) would solve it somehow.

(the SWS guy would be Breeder, of course )
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 06:53 PM   #19
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

thank you both and Planetnine also who replied by pm...

So what I'm hearing is, for now anyway, it really cannot be done in a script.
...but that maybe that will change...?

OK here's hoping it will .... I see this as such a potential time saver, I'd think the DEV's would love to see it totally working.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 07:03 AM   #20
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,668
Default

@X-Raym
There are two attributes in Get/SetMediaItemInfo_Value functions that aren't documented in reascript help file: D_FADEINDIR and D_FADEOUTDIR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post
It's already there, just not documented
Code:
D_FADEOUTDIR
D_FADEINDIR
@hopi
Download Copy item parameters script here: http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...3&postcount=53
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 09:48 AM   #21
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

spk77.... PERFECT! Thank YOU Sooooo Much!

It works beautifully now.... and lives in my TB #9 in the SPK77 Scripts section.

This is to me a super useful tool.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 07:29 PM   #22
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

@spk77
Undocumented function... Are you serious ??
How do yo even know about that ! ^^
Any other undocumented function on your radar ? ^^

Thanks for the tip !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 10:29 AM   #23
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,668
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@spk77
Undocumented function... Are you serious ??
How do yo even know about that ! ^^
Any other undocumented function on your radar ? ^^

Thanks for the tip !
Breeder told me - don't know where he got that information from
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 02:49 PM   #24
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

So I'm on a project and I should have move some items while having AUTO FADES ITEMS activated.
The Set Fades to 0 script didn't clean the fades, so I crate this very short script that can be useful :
  • Reset selected items auto-fades


Voilà
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 08:15 AM   #25
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 642
Default

Thanks for the scripts. Especially thanks for the good documentation (within the script) so I could easily make a customization for making a one frame long fade in OR fade out.

Looks like most people stick with the mouse for fade editing while I find the shortcut variant more interesting. A pity that no relative fade editing actions exist right now (e.g. increase fade out lenght by one frame).
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 10:16 AM   #26
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

@Luster
Hi ! It is a Set or Offset scripts. If you had +/-, it adds or substract based on original fade. So it can works relative to existing fades.

But I didnt put keyword from frame, inded ! I can add it in the Unit settings.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 01:42 PM   #27
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@Luster
Hi ! It is a Set or Offset scripts. If you had +/-, it adds or substract based on original fade. So it can works relative to existing fades.
Oh man - I wasn't aware of that. That's great. Maybe it's good to point that out in the documentation.
Thinking about integrating some macro stuff in my Shuttle Pro so I don't have to set fades with the mouse anymore.

The frame thing isn't that big of a deal. Most of the time I work in 25 fps, so 40 ms is easy to setup. But of course a more flexibel "meta" approach when building custom versions of the script isn't a bad idea.
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 02:41 AM   #28
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

New script :
  • X-Raym_Invert selected items fades.lua
Useful when you reverse a take !



Shared for free in ReaPack. Donation welcome :P

Enjoy !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 04:36 PM   #29
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default Crossfade selected items across tracks

Coming soon:
  • Crossfade selected items across tracks


Just need to find the right premium pack to put it ^^
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 09:54 AM   #30
zigzag312
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Coming soon:
  • Crossfade selected items across tracks
Is this script available yet?
zigzag312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 07:00 PM   #31
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

@zigzag312

Not yet ! I guess Ill just create a dedicated pack if I dont find script to pack with it.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 03:54 AM   #32
todoublez
Human being with feelings
 
todoublez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: beijing
Posts: 612
Default

thx for the Script.
Just donated as an expression of my good will.
keep yo good work and..

may the force be with you !
todoublez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 04:32 AM   #33
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

Quote:
may the force be with you !
With your generous help, it will Thx !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 05:20 AM   #34
Dragonetti
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Kiel
Posts: 974
Default

Is that already there?

"fade in to next grid"

"fade out to previous grid"

Thank you
Dragonetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 06:03 AM   #35
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

@Dragonetti
The advanced version of this script has Grid Unit but not Grid Snap, though it could be added.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2019, 01:59 PM   #36
Dragonetti
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Kiel
Posts: 974
Default

where can i get the advanced version?
Dragonetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2020, 09:17 AM   #37
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

After discussing with amagalma, free release of my Crossfade selected items across tracks script shown above !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.