Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > ReaScript, JSFX, REAPER Plug-in Extensions, Developer Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2019, 11:17 AM   #1
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default Dfk's Mini Track Mixer v.5 Beta, Testers Welcome! (formerly Dfk's Track Panner)

Disclaimer:
Test/use my scripts at your own risk. While it is atypical that a REAPER Lua script would damage or harm your hardware/software/data, I will not accept any liability if this were to occur. The download, installation, and operation of my scripting code and its structures are strictly an operative of free will, and signify an agreement to these terms. You are responsible for any damages that might occur, however unlikely. All my scripts are licensed as GPL v.3.

Reapers! Bug-reports! Feature requests! Complaints! Encouragements! You are all welcome here in my thread!





Script requires js_ReaScriptAPI.


Script 'user area'options (open script with a text editor to change):

SETTING NAME
DEFAULT SETTING
OPTIONAL INPUTS

Pin_Script_Window
false
true/false
local Font
"Arial"
"Arial", "Times New Roman, "Helvetica", etc.
local Font_Size
20
10-30: default is 20
local Visualizer_Amplification
1.5
1-3(recommended): multiplied ratio, 1=no amplification of signal
local Invert_Mouse_Scroll
false
true/false
local Mouse_Wheel_Sensitivity
10
1+


Big thanks to X-Raym for reminding me where I got inspiration for this script... actually it was from him! Check it out: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=210211 Also, I used a function from one of spk77's script, 'set volume for selected tracks'. Big thanks to him, as always!


Release Log:

[v0.5]
*(script release)
Attached Files
File Type: lua Dfk Mini Track Mixer.lua (37.3 KB, 152 views)
__________________

Support my feature request!

Last edited by Dafarkias; 03-26-2020 at 03:07 AM.
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 12:54 PM   #2
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

I'd just like to make an open statement:

This is a pretty simple/basic script, and it's supposed to be!

My last script was slightly (cough) more extravagant than my average production.

I've been really big into workflow scripts lately, and I think in this regard, it's kinda cool to have a script that keeps 'track' of your tracks' pans. (terrible pun intended)

I like this for a few reasons:
A: if you have a project with a lot of tracks, it's almost impossible to view the pans of each individual track simultaneously (without horrific amounts of de-zooming)
B: if you have a project with a lot of tracks, this script can be a convenient way to edit your tracks' pans in just a matter of seconds, and very finely
C: there are no (that I'm aware of) VST's that possess the capability to monitor dozens of track pans natively from a DAW
__________________

Support my feature request!

Last edited by Dafarkias; 10-26-2019 at 03:29 PM.
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 02:50 PM   #3
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Very nice concept :P I see yoi get inspired by this !



Semi cicle representation like the one I made is convenient cause it leaves more space to see track pan without too much overlapping. But maybe just changing circle size can be good.



Also, with track pan envelopes, could it behave with previous and next point from play cursor pos ? could.be nice :P


Cheerw !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 03:20 PM   #4
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

I did, in fact. My apologies for not mentioning it in my OP.

I'll be sure to update comments tomorrow.

You're absolutely right about the arc, visually, I think it's better for pan-work. For me, my script is a nitty-gritty, get it done, do it quick, kinda thing. Nothing on par I'm sure with what you're working on!


Somewhat confused by your statement regarding pan envelopes. Currently, I've not included any support of envelopes in this script.
__________________

Support my feature request!

Last edited by Dafarkias; 10-26-2019 at 03:27 PM.
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 04:11 PM   #5
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Quote:
Nothing on par I'm sure with what you're working on!
I had to stop dev for now. I had to move (change home) unfortunately. Will be a bit of time before I can do something. Not even sure when I will have internet on PC. :S


For envelope, what I would expect is the following two modes:
- insert/update point a edit cursor / play position.
- update value of both previous and next point relative to edit cursor /play position.


And thx for mentionning my work in OP. Support is very welcome these days...
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2019, 07:36 PM   #6
lachinhan
Human being with feelings
 
lachinhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Can Tho - Viet Nam
Posts: 305
Default

WAohh ! Awesome ! Thank you.
__________________
NK Recording Studio
Email: lachinhan@gmail.com or admin@thuamninhkieu.com
Website:nkpro.top and ntmusicpro.com
lachinhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 02:36 AM   #7
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Thanks, lachinhan!
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 09:36 AM   #8
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Updated the OP post with due credits. Sorry it took a little longer but I was working on a few bugs I found last night and it took me longer than I expected lol....

All said and done though, v0.8 is here! Most of the changes involve being able to toggle/clear solo/mute from the script window for your project tracks.

Oh! And it's a borderless window now!
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 01:33 PM   #9
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

interaction idea: there's one track in a line. You shoud be able to select a track by clicking anywhere into the line. And a hover state for a line should be implemented as well.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 03:39 PM   #10
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

By hover state, you mean that the line should highlight when you have the mouse within boundary?
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 03:47 PM   #11
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafarkias View Post
By hover state, you mean that the line should highlight when you have the mouse within boundary?
Yes .
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 04:00 PM   #12
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Okay. Np.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Anything else you think could use alteration or improvement?
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 05:22 PM   #13
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafarkias View Post
Anything else you think could use alteration or improvement?

What I planned for my track panner script was a customizable steps incrementation so that the pan is always rounded to that value tolerance (5% or 1% are quite useful).
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2019, 11:46 PM   #14
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

That's pretty good!

I was also considering the idea of allowing the script to alter/adjust multiple tracks at once!

When I originally coded it, I purposely placed the limitation in the script to only work on one individual track at a time, but now I feel that is redundant.
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 03:02 AM   #15
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

This is one way of how it could be:



I have another version in mind, so if you like this one, do not attach too much. Also post your comments and suggestions.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 04:33 AM   #16
HoJo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 253
Default Message

Thanks, Dafarkias.

Gave it a quick attempt.
I ended up with
"Dfk Track Panner.lua:72: attempt to call a nil value (field 'JS_Window_Find')"
being shown.

What I did, in one of py projects (containing tracks, childtracks, pannings), I selected all tracks and all items and id drun the script.

Is that a wrong move here?
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 09:39 AM   #17
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Hojo

Before I investigate further, you do have js_Reascript installed? Sorry, I just want to cover the basics first. There's a link in the OP.

bFooz

That looks really good! Is that a script modification, or just an image mock-up?

I would definitely be okay to switching to that formatting, it looks easier to my eyes!

Also, I'd be glad to hear/look at all your ideas... Feel free to PM me if you like, or post on this thread! All feedback and collaboration is welcome and appreciated!
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 09:56 AM   #18
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafarkias View Post
That looks really good! Is that a script modification, or just an image mock-up?
Mockup. I've started getting into UI/UX design, I take this as an excercise.

I'm doing this in Figma. I have another little different idea how this could look/work. I'll send you some links to Figma project later when the design is advanced. You can see all shapes, color, sizes, fonts there. I will leave coding to you.

I'd like you to imagine how this design of mine could work, if there are any drawbacks or problems I overlooked usability-wise.

The first thing that comes to my mind is the width of sliders. If the track name is too long, it won't fit.
Solution 1 - stretch a slider width to accomodate text - not desirable
Solution 2 - shorten the trackname by removing vowels, Protools-style. The algorhythm for this would need to consider when there are numbers at the end or e.g. L/C/R in e.g. Guitar L, Guitar C, Guitar R.

Do not try to come up with a solution yet, since that other design wil not probably need it. Just think of all problems a user can come to.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 10:55 AM   #19
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Personally, I think that the method you said is Protools style, shortening the text to meet the confines of the button, would be the most streamline. Possible this could be coupled up with a feature in which when hovering the mouse of the track-button, the name is displayed in a panel somewhere on the script that displays current mouse context information.

Tbh, it would be nice to have this script as having three modes:
1.) track panning mode (currently in progress)
2.) track volume mode
3.) track FX mode
Preferably, the user could cycle through each of these modes with just a click of a button, maybe a tab-style of option at the top window of the screen.

Sorry for the poor aesthetics:

__________________

Support my feature request!

Last edited by Dafarkias; 10-28-2019 at 11:04 AM.
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 11:13 AM   #20
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

And how do you imagine those two additional tabs would work?

Why would I need a mixer tab in this script when I have a native mixer and then there is a script by Heda.

What would show the fx tab?

At the moment I feel that this paning method is a good usable idea but cannot imagine what the other two tabs would bring to a user. On the other hand, since all this work is non-profit, based on enthusiasm, the answer "I just want to do that" is pretty legit :-).
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 11:34 AM   #21
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

I 100% agree with what you are saying, it's just the idea that in one script you could be two-clicks away from adjust the pan, volume, or an FX on any track in your project.

In large projects with a lot of tracks, that to me, seems like a pretty decent idea.

I'm not saying it's a perfect idea, however, it would take a considerable amount of time to create.
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 11:53 AM   #22
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

To answer your question regarding what would show in the FX tab... I'm not sure! :P

Ideally, it would display all FX inserted on any selected/highlighted track, or at least quick access to any track's FX chain, but I've never delved into REAPER's API capabilities regarding FX yet. I'm not really sure what is possible and what isn't!
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 12:31 PM   #23
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

What would may be sufficient is a "mini-inspector":

https://wireframe.cc/qk5Is1

We could then stuff some more quick buttons up there. The keyword here is "quick".
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 12:33 PM   #24
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

I like that!

In theory, those graphics could identically work for either pan, or volume adjustments!

All a user would need to do is click a button corresponding with whether or not they want to adjust one or the other!
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 01:52 PM   #25
HoJo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafarkias View Post
Hojo

Before I investigate further, you do have js_Reascript installed? Sorry, I just want to cover the basics first. There's a link in the OP.
Yes, I do have it installed. 64 Bit and 32 bit as well
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 01:55 PM   #26
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Okay, sorry, I'll look into it tomorrow I'm going to bed.
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2019, 02:07 PM   #27
HoJo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 253
Default

Guess it was missing on my PC, because on my Mac its working fine. Thx.
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 10:12 AM   #28
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Glad to hear it!

I'm probably not going to do anymore coding until this weekend (at earliest), I've been busy, tired, and I coded a little too much last week. I need a little break!
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 02:42 PM   #29
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Here's a rough-draft of a new version I'm working on. This is a poor implementation of a design that bFooz sent me.

__________________

Support my feature request!

Last edited by Dafarkias; 11-01-2019 at 05:26 AM.
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 07:21 AM   #30
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Politefully requesting that a REAPER mod delete this thread.

I'd like to create a new thread for the new script that was inspired from this old script, which will be more functionally/visually advanced.
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2019, 10:55 PM   #31
TobyAM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafarkias View Post
Politefully requesting that a REAPER mod delete this thread.

I'd like to create a new thread for the new script that was inspired from this old script, which will be more functionally/visually advanced.
I got here through the link in your signature! Now you want the link to be dead?

Anyway, I really want this, and looking forward to the release!
TobyAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 07:58 AM   #32
mehmethan
Human being with feelings
 
mehmethan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 603
Default

Very nice and useful script. Thank you.
I want to report a bug. The mouse pointer is disappearing when it is over the gui.I need to guess where the mouse is.

win 64. reaper v6.02
mehmethan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 09:04 AM   #33
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TobyAM View Post
I got here through the link in your signature! Now you want the link to be dead?

Anyway, I really want this, and looking forward to the release!

Lol!

You are correct...and yet...here we both are!

@mehmethan

I've been on a vacation. But for you my friend, I'll put I'll bring my laptop to the beach tomorrow and track down this bug
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 05:29 AM   #34
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 855
Default

Just came across this and am interested too, any info on the new version?

Last edited by todd_r; 12-29-2019 at 06:10 AM.
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 07:08 AM   #35
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Yep. Let me post what I have real quick. It's still in test-stages, of course...
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 07:15 AM   #36
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Southern Vermont
Posts: 864
Default

Patched an update to the OP. Hopefully should work for you now!
__________________

Support my feature request!
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.