Old 02-05-2016, 11:50 PM   #1
gv.lazcano
Human being with feelings
 
gv.lazcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chile
Posts: 120
Default I'm never buying anything from Presonus again

(Read the title as an angry outcry )

I have a 3 year long story with this brand, that has rustled my jimmies endlessly:

Chapter I - My kingdom for a (working) monitor!
Two and a half years ago I bought a pair of nice sounding Presonus Eris E5 monitors; the price was right, and I got a better deal by buying a pair (The published price was for a single unit). A year later, a couple of days after the warranty expired, it blew a fuse and never worked again (yes, I replaced the fuse). After explaining my case to the local distributor, they accepted to repair my unit free of charge, just paying the shipping costs.

Monitor as good as new and everyone's happy... But a year later, it blew again. Same thing, bad fuse, a little burnt odor, so I suspect it's the same goddamn fault. I tried some repairs myself, checking some critical parts in the power path, but couldn't find anything wrong, even after swapping some parts "just in case".

Tired, I just let it be, till today, after trying some new repairs, to no avail, I decided to contact the local distributor, asking for the repair costs. After that, I plan to sell this things.

Chapter II - The Phantom Menace
Short story, had a Audiobox USB that had a weird noise when the Phantom Power was on. Tried some friend's Audiobox, and same problem. We bought the damn thing together, so maybe it was a problem within that batch of interfaces, but as I didn't knew anyone else that owned an Audiobox, I just assumed it was a design problem. A little e-mail exchange with the dealer, and I swapped it by another interface (Tascam US-322, working great till today)

Chapter III - To love and be loved
I was an avid user of Studio One, even upgrading to the now extinct Producer branch. I loved the damn thing, had a nice workflow to sketch things, and it was pretty to look at. With Studio One 3, I was not only angry at the fact that none of my desired features was included (Being fair, I only wanted one thing: 32 and 64 bits bridging VST, a la Reaper), but also I was dissapointed by a non-existent upgrade path for the Producer branch - they offered an upgrade option to the top of the line edition, but it was too much moola for a student - and by the turtle slow performance. Not only they didn't improved on Studio One 2 bugs and performance issues, no, it also seemed that they blatantly worsened those aspects.

And that's my take on why I'm never buying anything from Presonus again.
gv.lazcano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 03:58 AM   #2
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gv.lazcano View Post
Chapter III - To love and be loved
I was an avid user of Studio One, even upgrading to the now extinct Producer branch. I loved the damn thing, had a nice workflow to sketch things, and it was pretty to look at. With Studio One 3, I was not only angry at the fact that none of my desired features was included (Being fair, I only wanted one thing: 32 and 64 bits bridging VST, a la Reaper), but also I was dissapointed by a non-existent upgrade path for the Producer branch - they offered an upgrade option to the top of the line edition, but it was too much moola for a student - and by the turtle slow performance. Not only they didn't improved on Studio One 2 bugs and performance issues, no, it also seemed that they blatantly worsened those aspects.

And that's my take on why I'm never buying anything from Presonus again.
I got caught in that particular little trap too - just as well I didnt really get on with S1 that well. I always think it is a shame the way companies not only push you to keep moving to their latest business model (Sonar and PT subscription models) but at the same time make it pretty much impractical just to stick with what you already bought.

At least that has never been an issue with Reaper.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 04:06 AM   #3
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 8,706
Default

Slightly OT, but is it true that in order to be able to render in MP3 in S1 you have to get the very expensive Pro version.
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 04:52 AM   #4
serstickman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 76
Default

I have a pair of Eris 5's & they have been wonderful! YMMV
__________________
Mac Pro 2.93ghz 8-core, 20GB RAM Reaper, Studio One, Logic, Cubase, Pro Tools, Slate Bundle, SSL Duende Native Essentials, numerous sample libraries
serstickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 06:24 AM   #5
gv.lazcano
Human being with feelings
 
gv.lazcano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chile
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
Slightly OT, but is it true that in order to be able to render in MP3 in S1 you have to get the very expensive Pro version.
Nah, that was also in the mid tier (Producer) edition. For the Artist edition you needed to buy a $20 addon (It was $5 in a Cinco de Mayo deal)
Quote:
Originally Posted by serstickman View Post
I have a pair of Eris 5's & they have been wonderful! YMMV
And I hope they stay that way for you, as they offer a fair feature set and good sound, though I don't really know another reason for the same monitor to fail twice, in the same way, than subpar build quality.
gv.lazcano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 08:13 AM   #6
Doc Brown
Human being with feelings
 
Doc Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,424
Default

I had an audiobox 22vsl and still do but use a different card now. I never had any issues with it whatsoever. Nice little card for the money. I also had studio one v2 but never really gelled with it. Switched to Reaper and never looked back.
__________________
Intel I7 2600/ 16 gigs ram/ system drive-samples drive-audio drive- backup drive/ windows 7 64/ Reaper 64/ focusrite 18i20
Doc Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 05:02 AM   #7
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
Slightly OT, but is it true that in order to be able to render in MP3 in S1 you have to get the very expensive Pro version.
Does anybody actually render from their DAW ?
I have always used a separate audio editor on the master wav file

S1 is missing a hell of a lot of features that a lot of people would think of as basic though
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 05:10 AM   #8
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,839
Default

Stepped away from S1 along time ago : horrible performance on my mac.
And i do have alot of knowledge about keeping a mac in terrific shape,
so it was not a faulty OSX system or whatsever.

Performance issues always have been part of S1.
Just google around and see for yourself.
i believe they were more serious on mac version than on PC version.

The features and GUI were pretty neat imho, but performance is everything to me.
Thats why i am loving Reaper so much: great in CPU utilisation.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 05:36 AM   #9
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 8,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
Does anybody actually render from their DAW ?
Yes. Me
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 05:53 AM   #10
SoulOne82
Human being with feelings
 
SoulOne82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illville - Germany
Posts: 826
Default

Me too.
__________________
Wood side panels, custom knobs, parts & upgrades for Maschine and the MPC range | Website | Soundcloud
Quote:
Originally Posted by strunkdts View Post
MIDI will outlive humanity.
SoulOne82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 06:09 AM   #11
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
Does anybody actually render from their DAW ?
I have always used a separate audio editor on the master wav file

S1 is missing a hell of a lot of features that a lot of people would think of as basic though
I do, especially for masters. I decrease the final limiter by 1 or more db for rendering the mp3.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by serr
Stay the heck away from Geek Squad and Worst Purchase.
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 06:03 AM   #12
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie43 View Post
I do, especially for masters. I decrease the final limiter by 1 or more db for rendering the mp3.
I wonder about this - why would you "master" the mp3 at a lower level?
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 08:35 AM   #13
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20,949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
S1 is missing a hell of a lot of features that a lot of people would think of as basic though
True. It's only at version 3 so... give it some time to catch up.

It's biggest editing hole is probably with advanced midi editing, there's almost nothing there as relates to attacking groups or collections of notes in any kind of random way.

I'm giving it the same kind of logical view as I gave Reaper for it's first 3-4 versions, knowing they couldn't do it all at once... but yeah, if you need deep midi editing like Logic and Cubase and FLStudio, look elsewhere.
__________________
"I, Bozo The Clown, do solemly swear to uphold the Consti.. consti... uh, how do you pronounce that again?".
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 09:32 AM   #14
Panic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 989
Default

I had a VSL44 for a couple weeks, but returned it because it had power issues. I currently have an Audiobox USB for use with my iPad. It seems to work ok, but I don't use it very often and haven't even tried the phantom power. Years ago I had one of their MP20 units; it worked fine, but I always had a tough time getting enough gain out of it. Anyway, I won't say I will never buy from Presonus again, but they aren't on my "A" list of manufacturers.
Panic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 06:08 AM   #15
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20,949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
Slightly OT, but is it true that in order to be able to render in MP3 in S1 you have to get the very expensive Pro version.
No, that's not true.
__________________
"I, Bozo The Clown, do solemly swear to uphold the Consti.. consti... uh, how do you pronounce that again?".
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 09:10 PM   #16
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 8,706
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawrence View Post
No, that's not true.
Thanks, I can't remember where I heard that, but thought it sounded a bit odd...
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 10:59 PM   #17
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,847
Default

I've used the Firebox and then Firestudio Mobiles for ~10 years as my main interface. The firebox was fine, but the channel 2 pots on both the FSM's eventually failed (the lead connection eventually breaks for some reason). This is gentle sitting-on-the-desk type usage, no abuse at all, really. (And channel 2 is used less than 1, so maybe it's a thermal stress thing or something.)

Fortunately I found a source for the replacement pot (thanks to alibaba) which fixes it, but besides the repeated failures, a big part of the frustration is that because i bought both the FSM's used, it's impossible to even send an email to presonus (or even fill out a web form) to ask a question or even just let them know about it, and you get zero access to post on their user forums without a confirmed serial number, so you can't ask the main user base if anyone else knows the value/type of the pot, etc. Craziness, and annoying.

All that said, there's no interface I'm aware of that approaches the FSM for "small and cheap", so I grudgingly stay with it. 10 inputs (counting spdif in) and 8 out, nice-enough pre-amps, reasonable latency, and you can get them on eBay for <$100... if anyone knows an alternative at that price point, let me know.

I suppose they have to cut some serious corners to achieve that price/performance, and I don't want them using actual, literal slaves to make the things, so i guess i can deal with a bad pot (or two... or three...). But yeah, i'd jump ship if given a good alternative.
clepsydrae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 02:19 AM   #18
eviluess
Human being with feelings
 
eviluess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Guangzhou, China
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gv.lazcano View Post
(Read the title as an angry outcry )

I have a 3 year long story with this brand, that has rustled my jimmies endlessly:

Chapter I - My kingdom for a (working) monitor!
Two and a half years ago I bought a pair of nice sounding Presonus Eris E5 monitors; the price was right, and I got a better deal by buying a pair (The published price was for a single unit). A year later, a couple of days after the warranty expired, it blew a fuse and never worked again (yes, I replaced the fuse). After explaining my case to the local distributor, they accepted to repair my unit free of charge, just paying the shipping costs.

Monitor as good as new and everyone's happy... But a year later, it blew again. Same thing, bad fuse, a little burnt odor, so I suspect it's the same goddamn fault. I tried some repairs myself, checking some critical parts in the power path, but couldn't find anything wrong, even after swapping some parts "just in case".

Tired, I just let it be, till today, after trying some new repairs, to no avail, I decided to contact the local distributor, asking for the repair costs. After that, I plan to sell this things.

Chapter II - The Phantom Menace
Short story, had a Audiobox USB that had a weird noise when the Phantom Power was on. Tried some friend's Audiobox, and same problem. We bought the damn thing together, so maybe it was a problem within that batch of interfaces, but as I didn't knew anyone else that owned an Audiobox, I just assumed it was a design problem. A little e-mail exchange with the dealer, and I swapped it by another interface (Tascam US-322, working great till today)

Chapter III - To love and be loved
I was an avid user of Studio One, even upgrading to the now extinct Producer branch. I loved the damn thing, had a nice workflow to sketch things, and it was pretty to look at. With Studio One 3, I was not only angry at the fact that none of my desired features was included (Being fair, I only wanted one thing: 32 and 64 bits bridging VST, a la Reaper), but also I was dissapointed by a non-existent upgrade path for the Producer branch - they offered an upgrade option to the top of the line edition, but it was too much moola for a student - and by the turtle slow performance. Not only they didn't improved on Studio One 2 bugs and performance issues, no, it also seemed that they blatantly worsened those aspects.

And that's my take on why I'm never buying anything from Presonus again.
So do I.

I think Eris E5 should not be produced any more.
eviluess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 06:01 AM   #19
kero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: London
Posts: 522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gv.lazcano View Post
(Read the title as an angry outcry )

I have a 3 year long story with this brand, that has rustled my jimmies endlessly:

Chapter I - My kingdom for a (working) monitor!
Two and a half years ago I bought a pair of nice sounding Presonus Eris E5 monitors; the price was right, and I got a better deal by buying a pair (The published price was for a single unit). A year later, a couple of days after the warranty expired, it blew a fuse and never worked again (yes, I replaced the fuse). After explaining my case to the local distributor, they accepted to repair my unit free of charge, just paying the shipping costs.

Monitor as good as new and everyone's happy... But a year later, it blew again. Same thing, bad fuse, a little burnt odor, so I suspect it's the same goddamn fault. I tried some repairs myself, checking some critical parts in the power path, but couldn't find anything wrong, even after swapping some parts "just in case".

Tired, I just let it be, till today, after trying some new repairs, to no avail, I decided to contact the local distributor, asking for the repair costs. After that, I plan to sell this things.

Chapter II - The Phantom Menace
Short story, had a Audiobox USB that had a weird noise when the Phantom Power was on. Tried some friend's Audiobox, and same problem. We bought the damn thing together, so maybe it was a problem within that batch of interfaces, but as I didn't knew anyone else that owned an Audiobox, I just assumed it was a design problem. A little e-mail exchange with the dealer, and I swapped it by another interface (Tascam US-322, working great till today)

Chapter III - To love and be loved
I was an avid user of Studio One, even upgrading to the now extinct Producer branch. I loved the damn thing, had a nice workflow to sketch things, and it was pretty to look at. With Studio One 3, I was not only angry at the fact that none of my desired features was included (Being fair, I only wanted one thing: 32 and 64 bits bridging VST, a la Reaper), but also I was dissapointed by a non-existent upgrade path for the Producer branch - they offered an upgrade option to the top of the line edition, but it was too much moola for a student - and by the turtle slow performance. Not only they didn't improved on Studio One 2 bugs and performance issues, no, it also seemed that they blatantly worsened those aspects.

And that's my take on why I'm never buying anything from Presonus again.
I bought a brand new pair of Eris 8s, after 2 weeks one of the speakers went off, had to send them both back to Thomann, what a hassle, no speakers for 6 weeks! Thomann were great though, they had something replaced in the speaker. lets hope it doesn't go off again.
Mean time I contacted Presonus about it, they sent one reply email of acknowledgement, then no further emails to my reply.
I am very disappointed in Presonus, I won't buy again.
kero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 07:16 AM   #20
sostenuto
Human being with feelings
 
sostenuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kero View Post
I bought a brand new pair of Eris 8s, after 2 weeks one of the speakers went off, had to send them both back to Thomann, what a hassle, no speakers for 6 weeks! Thomann were great though, they had something replaced in the speaker. lets hope it doesn't go off again.
Mean time I contacted Presonus about it, they sent one reply email of acknowledgement, then no further emails to my reply.
I am very disappointed in Presonus, I won't buy again.
Yeah, no excuse for a poor Customer Support System ... NONE !!

OTH, have pair Eris 8s over one year _ on 24/7 _ very pleased. Go figure.
sostenuto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 09:43 AM   #21
kero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: London
Posts: 522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sostenuto View Post
Yeah, no excuse for a poor Customer Support System ... NONE !!

OTH, have pair Eris 8s over one year _ on 24/7 _ very pleased. Go figure.
Good to hear you have had no problems sostenuto! long may it continue!
I had mine 12 days, playing back at a really quiet volume, and just went POP! then off!
the light was still on, but no sound.

First thing I done was email Presonus, they replied quite quickly asking me for full information, so I mailed them straight back, told them the situation, and asked what I should do, no reply whatsoever!
kero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 10:01 AM   #22
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6,501
Default

Looks like a lot of hit & miss or luck of the draw with Presonus...

That Firebox interface seemed like a really good deal for a budget interface. One of the huge selling points was 6 balanced outputs so you could do 5.1 surround. Nearly every other interface choice out there goes from 4 outputs to 8 or more and nothing in between.

And... I know 3 people personally that had the thing die on them. The firewire controller chip blows up I believe. They aren't servicing them any more and their new "budget" model only has 4 outputs. Google it and it looks like a pattern with the Firebox blowing up.

Then they really fell flat on their face with S1 didn't they!
"The app Studio One has unexpectedly quit." seems to be it's favorite feature. Admittedly, they were very new on the scene when I tried S1. Their tech support literally gave up and just said "sorry". (I was trying to push it at low latency though. It might be fine for just tracking and general mixing.)

That iPad app they made for S1 sure looks slick though! (Midas has the other slick iPad app right out of the box for their x32 interface/board.)

These guys seemed to have solid budget offerings in the past. Maybe not so much anymore? Behringer (and more recently M-audio) always held up the low ratty end of 'truly not worth it for any price'. Did Presonus fall into that hole?
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 10:10 AM   #23
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
And... I know 3 people personally that had the thing die on them. The firewire controller chip blows up I believe.
Funny, my old Firebox was a tank, but i've lost full function on two Firestudio Mobiles because the gain pots break (see above in this thread, IIRC) and other issues.

Quote:
Behringer (and more recently M-audio) always held up the low ratty end of 'truly not worth it for any price'.
Is that fair for Behringer? My limited experience is that they still have some pretty great deals... i just did a week of live sound with a rackmount X32 that seemed pretty sweet. Of course, maybe it breaks in 6 months.
clepsydrae is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.