Old 08-12-2017, 11:23 PM   #1
jas
Human being with feelings
 
jas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: a zonzo
Posts: 472
Default v5.50repre3 - August 12 2017

v5.50repre3 - August 12 2017
+ MIDI export: fix export when project start time is not zero [t=194713]
+ MIDI export: option to use timecode time rather than wall clock time for SMPTE offset [t=194710]
# linux: use gcc 4.9 on armv7l
# vst: improve behavior when resetting size and scroll offset [p=1874087]
jas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 11:53 PM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jas View Post
# vst: improve behavior when resetting size and scroll offset [p=1874087]
This fixes the vertical scrollbar that was added for the D-50 plugin. Thanks!
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 03:27 AM   #3
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jas View Post
# linux: use gcc 4.9 on armv7l
Reaper on ARM ?!?!?!?

Any additional infos on that ?

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 03:59 AM   #4
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Reaper on ARM ?!?!?!?
It's just reaper for linux and swell compiled for the armv7 platform, has been around for 3-4 months now. To be found on lol as always.
__________________
Software: Archlinux/KDE, Komplete8, IK Multimedia, Toontrack, Schwa/Stillwell and various other plugs. Gear: i7-2600k, 16gb ram, RME Multiface, RME Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, and too much more :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 04:08 AM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Reaper on ARM ?!?!?!?

Any additional infos on that ?

-Michael
Runs on Raspberry Pi 2 and later, or on ARM Chromebooks in developer mode w/ Crouton...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 05:55 AM   #6
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 628
Default

Wow, Reaper on Raspberry Pi
Thank you guys for making it possible.
__________________
Hope Sacred Passion Life Night Ache Soft Light
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 08:16 AM   #7
Ivannn Bennnettt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 78
Default

Thank you a lot Justin!

btw will we see node view and pimped out modulation to Reaper finally take over the World?)
Ivannn Bennnettt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 10:04 AM   #8
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 310
Default

Playrate envelope: https://goo.gl/nd5wgn

Move or copy media item: https://goo.gl/Js5twA

Glue deletes underlying envelope point: https://goo.gl/jUXEbw

Does't connect to underlying envelope 1: https://goo.gl/mn1agh

Does't connect to underlying envelope 2: https://goo.gl/vzZruQ
Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 01:52 PM   #9
Ulf3000
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 336
Default

^ you can add images by writing [img] image url [/img] .. should be stickied since lots of people don´t know
Ulf3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 01:58 PM   #10
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Runs on Raspberry Pi 2 and later, or on ARM Chromebooks in developer mode w/ Crouton...
Incredible ! Great !!!
-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 02:43 PM   #11
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 3,768
Default

This is just a yeh! come on Devs! you can do it! one last push motivational support post.

BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 02:46 PM   #12
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Runs on Raspberry Pi 2 and later
Maybe I'm late to the party, but is the idea to allow developers to use Reaper as an audio engine of sorts for gear built on Raspberry Pi 2? Like a custom digital guitar pedal or something similar?
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 11:08 PM   #13
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jas View Post
v5.50repre3 - August 12 2017
+ MIDI export: fix export when project start time is not zero [t=194713]
+ MIDI export: option to use timecode time rather than wall clock time for SMPTE offset [t=194710]
Thanks for these. Just did a quick test and seems to work as advertised.

Just a couple things. First, there's still a bug in the midi export when exporting a time selection. When exporting a time selection it exports the first tempo marker of the selection but also includes a marker of whatever the previous tempo marker was before the selection at the same measure number. So you end up with two tempo markers in the first measure of the selection (which is very problematic if those are two different tempos).

The second thing is more of a question. When exporting a SMPTE offset of a MIDI file, by definition it is going to be timecode, so having the option to export wall time is confusing to me. I can't think of a single instance when choosing to export a SMPTE timecode offset you would want wall time instead. I think it would be less clutter and less confusing if SMPTE export only exported timecode and not wall time which is a bit meaningless and will never be used, especially as it is not part of the spec. Thoughts?

Again thanks so much for the fantastic work.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 08:22 AM   #14
Sju
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 498
Default

Plugin resizing (tested with Cytomic) seems to work correctly now in w7 x86. Thanks!
Sju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 09:41 AM   #15
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 310
Default

copy points inside automation item then paste: https://goo.gl/ec9Md8
Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 11:48 AM   #16
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
The second thing is more of a question. When exporting a SMPTE offset of a MIDI file, by definition it is going to be timecode, so having the option to export wall time is confusing to me. I can't think of a single instance when choosing to export a SMPTE timecode offset you would want wall time instead. I think it would be less clutter and less confusing if SMPTE export only exported timecode and not wall time which is a bit meaningless and will never be used, especially as it is not part of the spec. Thoughts?
The SMPTE MIDI spec does not define non-drop timecodes, the only choices are 24,25,30, and 30DF. So providing the option to encode as wall clock vs timecode time seems to be sensible, depending on how the importing software is configured?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 12:16 PM   #17
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
The SMPTE MIDI spec does not define non-drop timecodes, the only choices are 24,25,30, and 30DF. So providing the option to encode as wall clock vs timecode time seems to be sensible, depending on how the importing software is configured?
Right, I see what you are saying. I think the better way to deal with it is to have the first SMPTE offset checkbox be DF timecode instead of wall time and the second checkbox Non Drop as you have it. That way if you are in DF it exports the timecode start as expected. Otherwise, wall time as the default SMPTE offset is going to be the incorrect timecode start every time you export something in DF timecode. Also, if you are exporting ND and importing into another program, the only thing you are concerned about is a correct start time. The importing program only cares about the SMPTE offset flag at the beginning of the file, so even if there's a frame rate mismatch the SMPTE start will still be correct.

Since we are talking about SMPTE offset here, it needs to be SMPTE regardless, either DF (as default for the include SMPTE offset checkbox) or Non-DF with the second checkbox. Having the option for wall time is both confusing and dangerous IMHO as it has nothing to do with SMPTE.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 02:52 PM   #18
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 173
Default

Sorry, I'm just realizing it already does work correctly at DF frame rates (uses SMPTE not wall time). My apologies for not confirming that.

That being the case, I would go back to what I had said earlier. Just use one SMPTE offset checkbox for both DF and NDF. I'll do some testing on the SMF import side of things but I don't see it causing any issues.

If it is too much work or a hassle for Reaper to differentiate between DF or NDF on export then it's probably fine as is.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 06:29 PM   #19
braveness23
Human being with feelings
 
braveness23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Runs on Raspberry Pi 2 and later, or on ARM Chromebooks in developer mode w/ Crouton...
This warms my heart! Thank you devs and all you Linux guys out there who have made this happen.

After having invested myself deeply into a platform that was a losing game (Atari ST, anyone?) I made the solemn vow to only invest my efforts into software that ran identically on "BOTH platforms". To see this open up to "ALL of the platforms" is exciting!

I like to say that the OS wars are over and everyone won.
braveness23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.