Old 09-02-2019, 09:13 AM   #1
NotCardio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 25
Default Finding old XP compatible version

I have an old XP machine that I want to use, and I'm looking for an XP compatible version. The 'older versions download' section doesn't tell you what they're compatible with, only the fixes and improvements for each version. The search function hasn't helped me.

Does anyone know which range of versions are XP compatible?

Thanks.

And if this would be better in a different forum, let me know. I don't want to start off here by cross-posting.
NotCardio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 09:27 AM   #2
SoulOne82
Human being with feelings
 
SoulOne82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illville - Germany
Posts: 940
Default

Every version including the latest one is compatible with XP.
SoulOne82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 09:51 AM   #3
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,219
Default

Yep! Both of my serious machines run XP. I donít update every single time, but Iím only a couple releases behind.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 10:31 AM   #4
NotCardio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 25
Default Really?

I could have sworn that I read in the requirements that it needed something newer.
NotCardio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 10:33 AM   #5
NotCardio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
Yep! Both of my serious machines run XP. I donít update every single time, but Iím only a couple releases behind.
What's your CPU and RAM?
NotCardio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 10:38 AM   #6
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,219
Default

Theyíre both quad core 3.8 or 3.9G. They both have 8G of RAM installed, but 32 bit OS canít use all of 4. I use the rest as a RAM drive which is where I put my page files.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 11:20 AM   #7
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,464
Default

one of my old machines is a pentium 4 2.6ghz with 3gig of RAM - it has some old 32bit plugins on it that i use occasionally, and i am always suprised by how well Reaper runs on it.
domzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 12:49 PM   #8
SoulOne82
Human being with feelings
 
SoulOne82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illville - Germany
Posts: 940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NotCardio View Post
Really?
Really!

SoulOne82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 03:29 PM   #9
NotCardio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 25
Default

OK, I found that when I went to the download, but I still don't see anywhere that tells you what the hardware (CPU/RAM) requirements are.
NotCardio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 03:57 PM   #10
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,464
Default

difficult to give "hardware requirements" i would think, as people's needs & expectations vary widely.
I would suggest just trying it on your machine.
Just playing & recording audio or MIDI is generally pretty light on resources, & Reaper's own plugins are reasonably efficient.
3rd party plugins, virtual instruments and real time resampling / time stretching are likely to be the most processor intensive, and sampler plugins / players are likely to want your RAM.
domzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 09:32 AM   #11
GordonDavid
Human being with feelings
 
GordonDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 30
Default

I am running XP-Pro with Reaper-32 bit, with no problems at all. The only problem that I am having is finding new VSTi's that will run on XP. They all upgraded to run on WIN-7 and above....
__________________
OneAmbient4
GordonDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 10:46 AM   #12
NotCardio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GordonDavid View Post
I am running XP-Pro with Reaper-32 bit, with no problems at all. The only problem that I am having is finding new VSTi's that will run on XP. They all upgraded to run on WIN-7 and above....
I haven't looked yet, but is it possible to still find OLD VSTs that will work?
NotCardio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 11:30 AM   #13
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,464
Default

loads of old stuff here

http://www.vst4free.com/index.php?s_...&Submit=Update
domzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 06:08 PM   #14
NotCardio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
Thanks, man.
NotCardio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2019, 09:57 PM   #15
westie07
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 39
Default

Hi NotCardio,

Variety of Sound Plugins are still 32 bit, and every bit as good as a lot of newer 64 bit plugs, and should run on your machine.

Get them all (they are all free) and will do most things to get you started.

link
https://varietyofsound.wordpress.com/

Cheers
rob
westie07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 09:28 AM   #16
NotCardio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by westie07 View Post
Hi NotCardio,

Variety of Sound Plugins are still 32 bit, and every bit as good as a lot of newer 64 bit plugs, and should run on your machine.

Get them all (they are all free) and will do most things to get you started.

link
https://varietyofsound.wordpress.com/

Cheers
rob
OK, but besides being 32 bit, do they specifically have to be XP compatible?
NotCardio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 09:30 AM   #17
NotCardio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
I remember seeing this years ago. My main problem with this one was, of the organ VSTs that still have videos available, I couldn't find one that has the kind of B3 I'm looking for.
NotCardio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 02:41 PM   #18
westie07
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NotCardio View Post
OK, but besides being 32 bit, do they specifically have to be XP compatible?
Not sure mate, running 64 bit here so can't check. But they're free, so costs nothing to find out

If they work, you won't be disappointed.
westie07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.