Old 09-03-2019, 10:23 AM   #1
chandso
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Default Have to constantly close and restart

Why do I have to close and restart Reaper so often? It's quite frustrating, Occasionally, I can just pull usb to my Tascam interface, and re-plug it in, and Reaper will resume playing. More often though, I have to save/close my project and relaunch the program, sometimes 2 or 3 times before it behaves correctly!

Problem behavior is this: Project plays along fine, but then for no apparent reason, will stop playing or start skipping.

My projects are very small, 2 to 5 tracks, using only built-in Reaper effects. Computer is somewhat old Windows 10 laptop, but my understanding is that Reaper has a very light footprint, so I don't see why computer would be the problem.

Any ideas???

Thanks!
chandso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 10:28 AM   #2
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,474
Default

does this only happen with your tascam interface, what happens when you just use onboard sound?
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 10:31 AM   #3
chandso
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
does this only happen with your tascam interface, what happens when you just use onboard sound?
Do you mean try with laptop soundcard? I'll try that and get back.
chandso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 10:34 AM   #4
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,281
Default

The first thing to check is that your interface is properly set up. At the top-right corner of the main window, what does the big long string of text say?
Lokasenna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 10:36 AM   #5
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,474
Default

yeah, try without the external interface - my guess is that the problem lies there - perhaps the drivers or the actual USB cable / port or maybe a USB setting in windows - i doubt that Reaper is directly responsible
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 10:52 AM   #6
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chandso View Post
Why do I have to close and restart Reaper so often? It's quite frustrating, Occasionally, I can just pull usb to my Tascam interface, and re-plug it in, and Reaper will resume playing. More often though, I have to save/close my project and relaunch the program, sometimes 2 or 3 times before it behaves correctly!

Problem behavior is this: Project plays along fine, but then for no apparent reason, will stop playing or start skipping.

My projects are very small, 2 to 5 tracks, using only built-in Reaper effects. Computer is somewhat old Windows 10 laptop, but my understanding is that Reaper has a very light footprint, so I don't see why computer would be the problem.

Any ideas???

Thanks!
Some other audio using app on your system is making requests to your audio interface. And there's maybe a sample rate conflict between them. Reaper is getting disconnected.

To verify:
Next time instead of closing and relaunching Reaper, open Reaper Preferences/Audio/Device page and select your interface again. Select it again from the dropdown menu even though it already appears selected. The Apply butten will then un-grey. Click it.

That forces a request to your connected audio interface from Reaper. If that worked... that was it. Look for some other app or service that might be making requests to your connected audio interface... and have it stop doing that. Might be as simple as you had an internet browser open.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 11:36 AM   #7
suchatravesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 65
Default

I have a Tascam us 16x08. They have tons of known issues with PC, especially Windows 10. At one point it would freeze up my entire machine until I would pull the USB cable.

I got so fed up with it that I reverted my newest machine back to Win 7. It is workable in Win 7 but still doesn't behave the way it should all the time. Tascam hasn't done very well with keeping up with Windows updates apparently.

My interface works fine for me on Mac OS, which is frustrating since that's not what I have for my dedicated recording machine.

That being said, try what serr said. It could be some other weird issue causing your problem.
suchatravesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 01:40 PM   #8
chandso
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
The first thing to check is that your interface is properly set up. At the top-right corner of the main window, what does the big long string of text say?
Main window of Reaper? All I see there is "44.1KHZ"
chandso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 01:43 PM   #9
chandso
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
yeah, try without the external interface - my guess is that the problem lies there - perhaps the drivers or the actual USB cable / port or maybe a USB setting in windows - i doubt that Reaper is directly responsible
Inital testing does seem to do better with internal soundcard. Any parameters to check in regards to Tascam interface?
chandso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 01:46 PM   #10
chandso
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
Some other audio using app on your system is making requests to your audio interface. And there's maybe a sample rate conflict between them. Reaper is getting disconnected.

To verify:
Next time instead of closing and relaunching Reaper, open Reaper Preferences/Audio/Device page and select your interface again. Select it again from the dropdown menu even though it already appears selected. The Apply butten will then un-grey. Click it.

That forces a request to your connected audio interface from Reaper. If that worked... that was it. Look for some other app or service that might be making requests to your connected audio interface... and have it stop doing that. Might be as simple as you had an internet browser open.
No other audio apps running, but will try what you say next time this happens.
chandso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 02:10 PM   #11
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chandso View Post
Main window of Reaper? All I see there is "44.1KHZ"
Um... then I don't think you've set your interface up at all. Click on it and post a screenshot of the window it opens?
Lokasenna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 08:24 AM   #12
chandso
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Default serr > reset

Thank you serr, yes the reset under "device" did work. That's cool, but I don't see any other program making calls to my sound device.
chandso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 08:34 AM   #13
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,294
Default

OS sound fx?
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 09:04 AM   #14
chandso
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chandso View Post
Thank you serr, yes the reset under "device" did work. That's cool, but I don't see any other program making calls to my sound device.
Oops, worked first time, but not again.
chandso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.