Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2019, 10:26 AM   #1
Eladarian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Default Ear piercing feedback when recording monitoring is active

Hello fellow recording newbies...

I have a serious problem.

Whenever I want to monitor my recording, and I click the "Record monitoring" I get a massive ear-piercing feedback, it goes away after I set record monitoring to off.

I've done some research myself, and it seems to be some routing issues I have with windows.

My interface is a TASCAM us-366 and within its own mixing panel software, there no monitor options, so this has to be related to windows OS

I've also noticed, that when I have an active track set for recording, that track picks up EVERY sound that my PC puts out in my speakers, changing volume sound, listening to music etc... Which is probably the reason for the feedback when initializing record monitoring. I just can't seem to find the option in windows to disable this function...

Mind you, this error only recently occurred when I installed Windows 10, coming from Windows 7.

Hope you guys can help me out, because I simply can't record or do anything in Reaper at the moment. Thanks.

Kind regards, Eladarian.
Eladarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 10:52 AM   #2
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,214
Default

Do you have the mode switch underneath the unit set to multitrack?
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 11:03 AM   #3
Eladarian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella645 View Post
Do you have the mode switch underneath the unit set to multitrack?
No, it is currently set to stereo mix.
Eladarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 11:57 AM   #4
rothchild
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 591
Default

Turn your speakers off?
rothchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 11:29 AM   #5
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eladarian View Post
No, it is currently set to stereo mix.
Well there is at least a part of the problem.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.