Old 09-12-2019, 01:04 PM   #1
Fred Claughton
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Default Saffire 6 audio device closed

Coming back to Reaper after a few months I'm finding Reaper and my Focusrite Saffire 6 are not seeing eye to eye. Reaper states in top left 'device closed'. I have two options for ASIO device, neither work. I select enable inputs but no option appear for input 1 and input 2.
The fosusrite functions for audio on my pc.
I have tried reinstalling both the drive and resaper itself, starting windows 10 with focusrite connected and not connected.
Running out of ideas
Fred Claughton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 09:26 PM   #2
suchatravesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 65
Default

I'm not familiar with that interface but it's possible that something else has a hold of the driver and not letting go?
I have a Tascam interface and even with it connected through usb, the audio inputs won't show up until I fire up the Tascam monitoring software first.

There is a checkbox in Windows audio device properties, "allow apps to take exclusive control of this device." I've had different results having this checked and not checked, Tascam's are kinda screwy.
suchatravesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 08:06 AM   #3
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

FWIW Focusrite recently released a new improved spftware diver for all their older interfaces.

I gave up on my saffire 6 years ago & moved to an RME Babyface, but from reading other threads, it looks like the new drivers could do the trick. Go download the new driver & see how it goes!
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 12:50 PM   #4
Fred Claughton
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Turns out the Saffire is very choosy as to which USB its connected to and what else is using the other USB ports
Many thanks for the replies
Fred Claughton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 04:04 AM   #5
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

Worth checking that you are running the latest ASIO driver then, just in case.
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.