Old 08-15-2018, 01:18 PM   #1
Baconaire
Human being with feelings

Default Do I need a dedicated Preamp?

I am relatively new to home recording in this era having started using a cassette 4 track in the 80-90's. Took a break to have a family and now I'm getting back into writing and recording. The number of options is overwhelming. Of course budget is an issue. Here is my current setup:

-I have decent low end mics(SM57s, a Sterling Condenser, an M-Audio large diaphragm condenser, MXL stereo condenser).

-My interface is a Behringer 4 track USC404HD (btw for $100 I thinks its incredible. I also have access to a Focusrite 2i2, and a Yamaha USB mixer, and the Berhinger with the 'Midas inspired' preamps sounds noticeably better to me. For anyone starting out on a budget this is the one by far!)

-Mainly I use one of my two Vibrochamps to record and am generally happy with my tone. I also have a Bugera 1x12 EL34 amp I'll use too if I want more of a Vox sound. A mix of guitars (Amer Strat, Gretsh hollow with bigsby, Tele,etc A Taylor all wood dreadnaught.)

-Bass I record direct with a DBX compressor going into the interface

-I play acoustic drums with 2 57's overhead and a the Sterling large diaphragm in front of the kick.

I'm generally happy with the results. In fact I'm blow away but what one can do with almost zero money when compared to my old Fostex 4 track, but of course I want to take it to the next level. I'm someone who just likes to hear the pure unadulterated sound of instruments and amps. Think 70's, warmth, a little grit, punch, chime. Some compression, reverb/delay and let the instruments shine.

So my question is, is my next acquisition a preamp like an ART MPA II? Or should I just focus on learning more about plugins. or invest elsewhere? My interface's preamps do the job of getting the gain to where I need it so its more about adding presence and character, than doing the workman job of a preamp.