Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2020, 02:33 AM   #1
Rosetree
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 151
Default Linux SO plugin files won't load properly all of a sudden!

Hello.

I just got into using Reaper Linux version recently.
I used LinVST and converted vst files with success.

Until yesterday, these converted files were being loaded properly,
but somehow I must have done something to the settings in Reaper or Linux itself,
they won't and the following message appears.

The following effect could not be loaded
(effect configuration is preserved)

Since the plugins I tried loading are not licensed ones and
I have not done a thing to their configurations, and not only that,
these converted files were working before, I am at a loss.

If anybody can show me a way to fix this,
it would be fantastic.

Thank you and have a great day.
Attached Images
File Type: png Not loading.png (9.7 KB, 56 views)
Rosetree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 02:54 AM   #2
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 575
Default

Reinstall LinVst.

copy the lin-vst-servertrack files to /usr/bin again.

Generate new .so files for your plugins using linvstconvert (linvstconvert will overwrite the old .so files and update them).

If it still doesn't work then maybe something has gone wrong somehow with your Wine folder (by default /home/yourusername/.wine) which also contains your plugins config files etc.

If nothing else works then you can delete the .wine folder using a terminal sudo rm -R /home/yourusername/.wine and then run winecfg from a terminal (which will generate a new .wine folder) and then reinstall the plugins and then run linvstconvert on your plugins.

Maybe check your Reaper vst scanning paths as well.

Last edited by osxmidi; 01-15-2020 at 03:09 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 03:13 AM   #3
Rosetree
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 151
Default Thank you!

Thank you for your quick response.
I really appreciate it.

I would give them a try and get back to you!

Rosetree


Quote:
Originally Posted by osxmidi View Post
Reinstall LinVst.

copy the lin-vst-servertrack files to /usr/bin again.

Generate new .so files for your plugins using linvstconvert (linvstconvert will overwrite the old .so files and update them).

If it still doesn't work then maybe something has gone wrong somehow with your Wine folder (by default /home/yourusername/.wine) which also contains your plugins config files etc.

If nothing else works then you can delete the .wine folder using a terminal sudo rm -R /home/yourusername/.wine and then run winecfg from a terminal (which will generate a new .wine folder) and then reinstall the plugins and then run linvstconvert on your plugins.

Maybe check your Reaper vst scanning paths as well.
Rosetree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 05:51 AM   #4
Rosetree
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 151
Default It worked!!

Hello osxmidi once again,

I gave your instructions a try and although simply reconverting dll files did not do the trick, deleting the .wine folder, running the wineconfg command then converting dll files again did the trick.

Thank you so much for your help!

I was actually trying to work it out on my own by searching on the web, but somehow did not come across a straightforward solution.

This forum is such a great place.
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Rosetree
Rosetree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 06:09 AM   #5
Rosetree
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 151
Default Um...

Um....

Another problem comes around.

This time, when I tried to open a project that I was working on in Windows, maybe because it contains some plugins that are yet to be authorized inside Reaper Linux native version, the opening "initializing" state persists forever.

So confusing...

Do you happen to have any clues as to how I can go about solving this?
Rosetree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 06:37 AM   #6
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosetree View Post
Um....

Another problem comes around.

This time, when I tried to open a project that I was working on in Windows, maybe because it contains some plugins that are yet to be authorized inside Reaper Linux native version, the opening "initializing" state persists forever.

So confusing...

Do you happen to have any clues as to how I can go about solving this?
Maybe a plugin hanging.

To work it out you need to start Reaper from the terminal and look at the output and maybe post it here.

Open a terminal and change into the Reaper directory and enter ./reaper and watch the output for errors.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 07:04 AM   #7
Rosetree
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 151
Default

I gave it a try and the following message appears.

"reaper: activating running instance...done"

And back to the same initializing screen.
Perhaps I am executing it from a wrong path?

I am using /reaper_linux_x86_64/reaper_linux_x86_64/REAPER$
Does it look like the right place?

In Windows, your exe. files are found inside Program files folder.
Is there an equivalent of that?

/.config/REAPER holds all the program relevant data, but I suppose that is not what you had in mind.
Rosetree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 07:38 AM   #8
Rosetree
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 151
Default

Hello again.

I tried uninstalling, then installing Reaper again, then rebooting my PC.
I had moved the content of vst folders temporarily and it was "hanging" as before at first,
and when I put the content back in the designated vst folder which Reaper goes to see, then it was able to load properly.

So confusing for sure, but at least now it seems to be working.

I just want to know how to avoid this for good because if a client is with me and this happens, it would not be funny...

I don't want to go back to Windows because I can already tell how much lighter using the Linux version is.

Anyway, thank you so much for assisting me and providing help!
It is truly appreciated.

Rosetree
Rosetree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 07:50 AM   #9
Rosetree
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 151
Default

And then, the same thing happens again...

I guess I will go to sleep for now.
It's quite late here in where I live.

Please have a lovely day☆
Rosetree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 08:58 AM   #10
acebone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 91
Default

I just had a similar experience, and my solution was to clear the reaper-vstplugins64.ini file, delete all *.so files in my VST folder, running linvstconverttree on the VST folder (regenerates all the *.so files) and then start reaper up again.

(I know, I am repeating what somebody already said to you, but you shouldn't have to uninstall reaper).
acebone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.