COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 12-18-2019, 09:09 PM   #1
Nikolaos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 29
Default IPlug Win vs IPlug OSX

Hello, I would like to know why the same project build for Mac (iMac 27 "i5) High Sierra uses a 40% CPU, Mojave (MBP 2019 i7) %100, but in Windows 7 or 10 (i7) use only %3.



Is there a reason why same plug consume much less on Windows?

(when on Mac I load my plug in Reaper or Live the cpu inside the programs reports %3 but on the system monitor reports %100)

Thanks!
Nikolaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 08:49 AM   #2
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,085
Default

The first thing that comes to mind is that you are using debug instead of release builds on Mac.

Also, last time I checked Mac still needed WDL_FIXALIGN on doubles, or else it will be somewhat slower because of misalignment.
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 09:36 AM   #3
Nikolaos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 29
Default

Thank you very much Tale, i build for release..


I will see that, at this point I was also wondering,
If the use of the occasional: if(GetGui ()) {...}
Inside audio thread (pdr) is really a good practice.

Last edited by Nikolaos; 12-19-2019 at 09:54 AM.
Nikolaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 02:45 AM   #4
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,085
Default

Here is the definition/implementation from IPlugBase.h:

Code:
IGraphics* GetGUI() { return mGraphics; }
This will likely compile into very few instructions, so no, I don't think calling GetGUI() should matter much.
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 12:43 PM   #5
Nikolaos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tale View Post
Here is the definition/implementation from IPlugBase.h:

Code:
IGraphics* GetGUI() { return mGraphics; }
This will likely compile into very few instructions, so no, I don't think calling GetGUI() should matter much.

Thanks for answering Tale!


"in the meantime" in standalone mode, when the app is minimized or hidden, after a few seconds and while the audio process perfectly, the cpu in the system monitor drops to normal level.

The controls on the screen are many, but they do not overlap.


I have no idea which library for graphics is using iplug1, I read out there, that maybe this is due to some type of upscaling to be seen in retina.
Nikolaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.