Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2018, 08:39 AM   #441
dach
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
Default

Thank you Eric! I'm behind the curve... Thanks for finding that for me. Definitely a few things I hadn't considered and a few things definitely worth trying when I get up the courage... Thanks again.
dach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 04:52 AM   #442
sub26nico
Human being with feelings
 
sub26nico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Eventually, but for now use JACK instead!
I already do it. Thanks.
sub26nico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 12:38 AM   #443
MrHaroldA
Human being with feelings
 
MrHaroldA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 16
Default

Reaper for Linux runs really nice, but I need a realistic drum kit I can control with my Roland SPD-11 through Midi.

On Windows, there are numerous options, from expensive to free.

Since Reaper doesn't support LV2, the options are somewhat limited. I compiled DrumGizmo as VST3, but that crashes after a few hours work and I need to restart Reaper to get it working again. I tried to get avldrums.lv2 working with the lv2vst wrapper, but even if I get that to work, I probably don't like the sound of the kits of that drum plugin.

Anybody here have some suggestions for a realistic drum kit sampler with Midi input capability?
MrHaroldA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 12:49 AM   #444
sub26nico
Human being with feelings
 
sub26nico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 84
Default

I use DrumGizmo as lv2 and avldrumkits in Reaper with CarlaVST as host (http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/Applications:Carla).
It works fine. If you're looking for good drums, you can take a look at :
http://www.tchackpoum.fr/

A lot of samples with tracktemplates, using ReaSamplomatic5000.
sub26nico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 01:27 AM   #445
MrHaroldA
Human being with feelings
 
MrHaroldA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sub26nico View Post
I use DrumGizmo as lv2 and avldrumkits in Reaper with CarlaVST as host (http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/Applications:Carla).
It works fine. If you're looking for good drums, you can take a look at :
http://www.tchackpoum.fr/

A lot of samples with tracktemplates, using ReaSamplomatic5000.
Tnx, I'll look into that shortly.

PS: I thought ReaSamplomatic5000 doesn't support random samples per velocity layer, is that true?
MrHaroldA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 01:41 AM   #446
sub26nico
Human being with feelings
 
sub26nico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 84
Default

I think so, but not sure.
But RS5000 support round robin.
sub26nico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 01:38 PM   #447
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 459
Default Git Version Control

Just wondered if anyone is using git for version control with their Reaper projects? I noticed that the RPP format is text editor friendly so figured it would work with git and so far it seems to be.

It's a little slow though because small changes in a project appear to require a lot of deletions and insertions as far as git is concerned but just for keeping track of major versions rather than small changes it seems good.

I've set git to ignore multi-media, backup, and undo files.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 10:12 PM   #448
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHaroldA View Post
Reaper for Linux runs really nice, but I need a realistic drum kit I can control with my Roland SPD-11 through Midi.

On Windows, there are numerous options, from expensive to free.

Since Reaper doesn't support LV2, the options are somewhat limited. I compiled DrumGizmo as VST3, but that crashes after a few hours work and I need to restart Reaper to get it working again. I tried to get avldrums.lv2 working with the lv2vst wrapper, but even if I get that to work, I probably don't like the sound of the kits of that drum plugin.

Anybody here have some suggestions for a realistic drum kit sampler with Midi input capability?
I'd tend to go with DrumGizmo as a Linux native vst2.

Windows drums can be used via LinVst or whatever.

There are some other options around that use Reaper projects

(from an old post)

There is a Drumgizmo Muldjord v2 Reaper template that uses Reaper tracks instead of the Drumgizmo plugin at http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=140544

The paths are fixed and are windows paths but redirecting Reaper Linux to the Muldjord Linux paths and enabling the Search autosearch option (On successful search, autosearch for other missing files) seems to work when loading the template and it's just a case of redirecting Reaper to the drum directories (Kick, Snare etc) and then Reaper autoloads the files and then the template can be saved for Reaper Linux.

Tested the Muldjord v2 kit template with Reaper Linux and it works well but needs 4GB to load.
The template needed some file path changing which took a couple of minutes using the Search autosearch option when loading the template.

Another http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=150868 http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=150924
The SM_MegaReaper_Drumkit_Lite Reaper project loads with no file path changing and it needs 4GB of memory, the SM_MegaReaper_Drumkit needs 6GB. https://smmdrums.wordpress.com/category/reaper/


Another http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=172831 https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6K...hWSDVja1k/view (I tested this one and it works fine with the Reaper Linux Reasamplomatic with some file path changing.

Reaper BigMono drums http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=1288785
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 12:46 AM   #449
MrHaroldA
Human being with feelings
 
MrHaroldA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks for your elaborate answer, osxmidi!

Quote:
Originally Posted by osxmidi View Post
I'd tend to go with DrumGizmo as a Linux native vst2.
I'm not quite sure how I compiled DrumGizmo at the time, but the current VST I have is unstable, as it counts to infinity underruns after 5-10 minutes.

I tried the Carla FX host with the LV2 DrumGizmo yesterday, and while I really would like to not have to use external applications to work in Reaper; it worked.

Well, it worked after I discovered that I needed to arm a Reaper track to be able to monitor it's input. That was the weirdest thing I encountered in Reaper so far

DrumGizmo has lots of benifits over RS5000 as far as velocity layers, randomization, timing, feel, bleed, etc; so that's the way I would like to use it.

Let's hope that either Reaper will support LV2, or that DrumGizmo will fix their VST plugin.
MrHaroldA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 08:47 AM   #450
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHaroldA View Post
Well, it worked after I discovered that I needed to arm a Reaper track to be able to monitor it's input. That was the weirdest thing I encountered in Reaper so far
It's an optimization -- there are ways to disable this behavior in the prefs. I'm NIFOR, but look for something like "run plugins while stopped", IIRC?
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 09:45 AM   #451
MrHaroldA
Human being with feelings
 
MrHaroldA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
It's an optimization -- there are ways to disable this behavior in the prefs. I'm NIFOR, but look for something like "run plugins while stopped", IIRC?
I don't need to run plugins while stopped, I need to monitor the input on a track without recording it.
MrHaroldA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 10:26 AM   #452
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,265
Default

It's standard behaviour on reaper that you need to recarm and enable monitoring to hear the track. IMO a good behaviour.
__________________
Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc, etc. :) https://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/REAPER_for_Linux
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 10:52 AM   #453
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,265
Default

Some performance tips based on recent reaper development.

Set prefs->audio->buffering->thread priority to above normal.

You can play back more tracks at low latency without xruns if you enable the prefs->audio->buffering->anticipative fx processing->allow on tracks without fx option.

The new prefs->audio->device->disable power management option prevents the cpu from going into power saving states on supported systems (not quite sure what systems are supported), but it works on my two i7 systems (sandybridge/haswell).

By default the /dev/cpu_dma_latency device is only writable by the root user, to use this functionality you need to make it writable for your user or a group it belongs to. This can be done on most systems with a udev rule. Add a file called 40-pm_qos.rules to /etc/udev/rules.d containing this: KERNEL=="cpu_dma_latency", GROUP="realtime"

The filename could be different and you can replace the group name with another group you belong to. Also don't remember why I prefaced it with 40...

On my system after rebooting it the looks like this:

# ls -l /dev/cpu_dma_latency
crw-rw---- 1 root realtime 10, 62 Apr 11 11:35 /dev/cpu_dma_latency
__________________
Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc, etc. :) https://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/REAPER_for_Linux
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 11:00 AM   #454
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHaroldA View Post
I don't need to run plugins while stopped, I need to monitor the input on a track without recording it.
Ah, my bad.

Note that you can right-click the rec-arm button on a track and set it to "Record: disable (input monitoring only)".
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 12:03 PM   #455
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,944
Default

Thanks Jack -- should that go in the Wiki?
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 12:15 PM   #456
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Thanks Jack -- should that go in the Wiki?
Probably, when I have some time

I also ought to update the how and where of the reaper config directory, and add the dependencies information...

Much as I like real life, sometimes it really gets in the way
__________________
Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc, etc. :) https://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/REAPER_for_Linux
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 08:40 PM   #457
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 391
Default

These are some things I've noticed (just my opinions)

VST3 is like they hired microsoft database programmers to write a audio/visual plugin format and the way they did it was awful and the takeup of VST3 has been very slow.

VST2 is like an old audio hack from the earlier computing days but it works and is all around.

LV2 is ok but VST2 is all that is needed for most things and is the most compatible with other DAWs that now exist on Linux and LV2 is not going to get much more uptake I would imagine.

When talking about plugin formats other than VST2 then AU would be the next down for the Mac and that's mainly because AU was connected to Logic and without that connection I would think that AU would have minor use and be in a similar position to LV2 as VST2 is just too established for any other format to grow much against it and then there are the DirectX and DigiDesign plugin formats and others.

u-he has had trouble with their VST3 plugins in the past and I don't know about the drumgizmo VST3 plugin but the drumgizmo VST2 plugin was stable and ok when I tested it.

From my tests with different Linux DAWs Reaper is able to get the best performance when running plugins and sometimes it's quite a difference and I'm not saying it because this is the Reaper forum, I'm just saying it.

Maybe some of it's due to Reaper's thread/anticipative features that Jack has posted about.

Tracktion would probably be 2nd in performance but it and Waveform are somewhat buggy.

Last edited by osxmidi; 04-11-2018 at 09:06 PM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 09:37 PM   #458
avoca
Human being with feelings
 
avoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
Some performance tips based on recent reaper development.

....
Hi Jack,
Thanks a million for the howto
And thanks to Justin for all these improvements!

avoca
__________________
Debian 9 (Stretch) (Xfce)
avoca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 04:33 AM   #459
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 459
Default

HISE now supports export to native Linux VSTi!

http://hise.audio/
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:53 AM   #460
David Else
Human being with feelings
 
David Else's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Near London, UK
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddiesel41264 View Post
HISE now supports export to native Linux VSTi!

http://hise.audio/
Great news! I had my eye on that project for a while.

Is anyone putting out high quality instruments using HISE that can now be compiled easily for Linux?

I am tempted to make a PolySix library, but it is so noisy and one of the voices has a wrong shaped envelope I realize I need it re-setup and modded... but i bet Behringer will make a brand new one any day now
__________________
----------> Fedora Linux Distribution = Computing Joy & Freedom <----------
Learn Digital Audio Home | 'Nebula Explained' Course Out Now! | YouTube Channel | Twitter
David Else is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 01:37 PM   #461
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Else View Post
Is anyone putting out high quality instruments using HISE that can now be compiled easily for Linux?
The only two commercial HISE releases I'm aware of are Hexeract, by Auddict, and Neo-soul keys.

I'm putting together an orchestral library in HISE. I've been recording for over a year, woodwinds are done, currently recording the brass, and I've recorded a harp. The library will be released when I feel it's ready.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 01:41 PM   #462
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddiesel41264 View Post
I'm putting together an orchestral library in HISE. I've been recording for over a year, woodwinds are done, currently recording the brass, and I've recorded a harp. The library will be released when I feel it's ready.
Great! Commercial or free/donation/etc?
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 02:27 PM   #463
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Great! Commercial or free/donation/etc?
Commercial, source code GPL, not sure about what license for the samples yet, probably CC. I'm thinking of releasing the harp as a pay what you want but we'll see.
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 02:29 PM   #464
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddiesel41264 View Post
Commercial, source code GPL, not sure about what license for the samples yet, probably CC. I'm thinking of releasing the harp as a pay what you want but we'll see.
Cool. Sounds like a neat, but long, project. :-)
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:16 PM   #465
Matt Mayfield
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddiesel41264 View Post
Just wondered if anyone is using git for version control with their Reaper projects? I noticed that the RPP format is text editor friendly so figured it would work with git and so far it seems to be.

It's a little slow though because small changes in a project appear to require a lot of deletions and insertions as far as git is concerned but just for keeping track of major versions rather than small changes it seems good.

I've set git to ignore multi-media, backup, and undo files.
I am, for one big project, but it's not very effective. None of the really powerful Git stuff is of much use - merging branches, resolving conflicts, etc. - because it's just too much text that changes to be human-manageable, practically speaking.

Basically all I use it for is as a version archive, as an alternative to naming everything with date/time, or worse, calling the file names like "Big project FINAL revised with edits FOR REAL FINAL THIS TIME version 2.1".
__________________
REAPER running lights, sound effects, and video for a Pink Floyd tribute show: http://www.runlikehell.band/videos
Matt Mayfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:07 AM   #466
reddiesel41264
Human being with feelings
 
reddiesel41264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North East UK
Posts: 459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Mayfield View Post
None of the really powerful Git stuff is of much use - merging branches, resolving conflicts, etc. - because it's just too much text that changes to be human-manageable, practically speaking..
Yeah I know what you mean
__________________
David Healey
Purveyor of fine sample libraries (and Kontakt scripting tutorials) - http://xtant-audio.com/
reddiesel41264 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.