Old 04-10-2019, 04:11 AM   #801
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 702
Default

Does Alt+124 do it ?

EDIT:" | or ; will wrap the text to a new line,"
i.e. "Multi|line;text"

there's also extended ascii 179 │ but that won't save in the txt.

Last edited by MusoBob; 04-10-2019 at 04:33 AM.
MusoBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 06:30 AM   #802
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 5,883
Default

You can also use ;
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 07:48 AM   #803
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
You can also use ;
Thanks a lot for your answers!

In the meantime I found out how to edit the user.txt file..
o_e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 02:35 PM   #804
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,806
Default

I would like to use the radial menu, without any mouse, using only qwerty keys, possible? If not yet, maybe in future then?

Example: Holding r with my left hand on homerow opens radial menu, then I will design my radial menus in such a way, I have at max or exactly 8 menu points each time, thus I can immediately select the right one with my right hand, the upper half, using u i o p, the lower half using m , . - (German layout). Basically the four upper keys above jkl÷ and four lower keys below jkl÷. Thus you can a quite powerful homerow attack vectors for triggering actions available in the radial menus.

If holding r opens RadialMenu1, there is no reason why t should not open RadialMenu2, in case the first menu is not big enough, the concept could stay same for right hand, left hand selecting which menu, right hand continuing from there. In its most craziest form, you could design 12 radial menus for left hand, then using 8 options for each on right hand.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 02:53 PM   #805
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 5,883
Default

You should already be able to do that. Radial has assignable shortcut keys for the menu buttons (you can also change the keys for different menu sizes), and you can export actions to open Radial with a different "home" menu number from the same settings file.

I think. It's been a while, so I can't always remember which features are in my development version and which are released.

Last edited by Lokasenna; 04-10-2019 at 02:59 PM.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 02:58 PM   #806
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,806
Default

Thanks for the superquick response, will try it at some point, just wanted to throw out the idea, before forgetting.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 03:04 PM   #807
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 702
Default

Just not sure how to get it ike this :


MusoBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2019, 08:25 PM   #808
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 702
Default

All working now, thanks again for the great GUIs !


MusoBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 02:30 PM   #809
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 702
Default

Added some extras.
I just added the Label, Buttons and Radio under
Code:
GUI.elms = not setup and {
and increase the gui size
Code:
-- Window parameters
if not setup then

  GUI.name = GUI.name or "ReaTrak Circle of Fifths"

  GUI.w, GUI.h = frm_w + 135 , frm_w + 110 --16
MusoBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 03:45 PM   #810
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 5,883
Default

Pretty sexy.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 01:33 AM   #811
sickamorz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Philippines
Posts: 735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
So I got the impression that you folks found Radial Menu pretty exciting. Prepare to need a new pair of underwear.



We've got custom colors. We've got adjustable everything. We've got context sensitive menus. We've got a pile of different action modes. We've got a sexy new setup script for getting it all, er, set up.

Oh, and this:



Yeah. That thing that Dora tells the fox not to do.

Presenting...
Radial Menu 2

This time it's personal. Ized. Personalized. This time it's per.... You get the idea.

Getting Started:

Not everyone likes as much text as I do. If that's you, here! Have a video!




Features:
  • Provides a pop-up "quick menu", similar to how most FPS games handle weapon selection these days.
  • Pretty much any Reaper action, custom action, or script can be assigned to a menu button.
  • Create as many menus, submenus, and buttons as you want. Well, 16 buttons per menu, but only a weirdo needs more than that.
  • Buttons for toggle actions (Options: Toggle metronome, etc) will light up appropriately if their action is toggled On.
  • Context sensitive; open a different set of menus when the mouse cursor is over the TCP vs MCP vs Arrange. There are over 20 contexts available, or you can opt for broader categories.
  • Buttons can be activated via Swipe gestures, just like answering your iPhone or trying to pick up strangers on Tinder. When swiping into a submenu, the window will be reopened at your mouse cursor.
  • Buttons can be set to repeat their action for as long as the mouse is held down - nudging volume faders, etc.
  • Buttons can be set to perform an action multiple times per mouse-click - "insert three new tracks", etc.
  • Both of these ^ can be combined, and are compatible with custom actions and user scripts
  • Buttons can also be activated by hovering over them with the mouse.
  • Buttons can have key binds assigned, for an all-keyboard workflow if you want.
  • Several different behaviors for the script's shortcut key.
  • Custom colors for every individual button if you really feel like going to the trouble. I wouldn't want to.
  • A handy-dandy setup script with a help screen, tooltips, and 50% more Vitamin C than the leading brand. Messing around with text files to change settings is for filthy peasants.

Installation:
  • The script is available via ReaPack or, if you'd rather do things the hard way, download and install both of these scripts *in the same folder*:
    Lokasenna_Radial Menu.lua
    Lokasenna_Radial Menu Setup.lua
    (right-click the link, choose Save As, put the files in your Reaper/Scripts folder or wherever you want, then use the Load button in the Reaper's action list to find them)
  • Installing with ReaPack will also get you an example menu file that can be imported in the Setup script (in the same folder as the scripts). If you installed manually, grab the example file here:
    Lokasenna_Radial Menu - example settings.txt

Instructions:
  • By default, Radial Menu will look for the "example settings" file mentioned above, which is included if you installed via ReaPack. If that file isn't found, you'll have to run the Setup script and set up (see what I did there?) some menus of your own before Radial Menu will be of any use to you.
  • Assign 'Lokasenna_Radial Menu.lua' to the shortcut key of your choice. There are some technical limitations on WHAT shortcut key you choose - see below.
  • Holding down your shortcut key will bring up the menu, letting go of your shortcut key will close it.
  • Click on buttons to do stuff, or click any empty space (technically, anywhere that doesn't make one of the buttons light up) to go back to the original menu.
  • See the Setup script's Help tab for further explanation of the various settings. I tried to be thorough.
  • Seriously, look at the Help tab. I spent several hours figuring out how to make the text automatically wrap to fit the window; the least you could do is read through what I put there. :P

Shortcut key restrictions:
Because of how the script figures out what key you're holding, there are a few rules you'll have to follow.
  • Known to work: All of the English letters, all of the numbers, F1-12.
  • Shift+ will only work with letters - no Shift+3, or Shift+[, etc. I'm not sure about non-English characters like 'Ú'.
  • Ctrl+, Alt+, and Win+ should work with any key.
  • Certain keys/characters like tilde ('~') will open the window but not close it. I've been told it's an issue with how the OS passes those characters to Reaper, so you'll have to use something else. Sorry.
  • If the window is rapidly opening and closing, that's a separate issue that I SHOULD be able to fix. Please let me know what key combination you're using, and what OS you're on. Bonus points if you can install this script here, run it, and tell me what numbers it's showing when you press that key combination.

Notes:
  • Reaper switches to a different set of key bindings when you're in the MIDI Editor. You can assign Radial Menu manually in the MIDI Editor's action list, or just assign your shortcut to Misc: Pass through key to main window. It'll use the same menus and settings either way.
  • Any Reaper action or script that takes focus away from Radial Menu's window will interfere with the key detection, causing Radial Menu to go "hey, you let go of the key!" and close. There's nothing I can do about this at present, so you may wish to use one of the alternate shortcut key modes in the Options tab.
  • Settings are stored in a text file right next to the two scripts. Feel free to edit it directly - there are instructions at the top of the file.
I'm setting radial up for context, when using as context can the menu be like the track menu in the default startup menu with one item opening the menu below the current menu.
sickamorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 01:46 AM   #812
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 535
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
If you open the Setup script, go to the Options tab, and choose Clear Settings, it'll reset to the example menus. Does it still happen after doing that?
If I do this I just get blank menus, How can I go back to the default example menus?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:26 AM   #813
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 535
Default

Ok, I found the user settings file and deleted
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 06:25 AM   #814
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 5,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sickamorz View Post
I'm setting radial up for context, when using as context can the menu be like the track menu in the default startup menu with one item opening the menu below the current menu.
If I understand the question, yes - any button in Radial Menu can open a submenu. You can create new menus on the first tab, and then put (I think*) "menu 123" instead of an action ID as the command for one of your buttons in another menu.

* It's been a while; the Help tab will have all of the available commands.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 06:26 AM   #815
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 5,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
If I do this I just get blank menus, How can I go back to the default example menus?
Oh, whoops. It's been long enough since I used Radial that I don't remember how half of it works. :P Glad you got it sorted out.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.