Old 05-18-2018, 11:40 AM   #1
Ash Telecaster
Human being with feelings

Default Recording Drums

Hi All,

I have a small home studio with a Taye Gokit mic'ed up with a Sure drum mic set. It includes 2 over heads, 3 tom mic's, snare, Hi-hat, and Kick. I am using Reaper as my DAW

I am looking for two things.

First is thoughts on the kit. The attached soundcloud url is recorded on the Taye kit. It's in a small room and I was trying to control the volume. Do you think my results will improve significantly if I go with a larger kit?

https://soundcloud.com/user-700640754/boom-boom

Second, I was hit by a ransom virus and lost all my settings. I'm not a pro. Getting that sound took a lot of tweaking and now I have to start over and honestly it's an intimidating task. Is there any software that you know of that will simplify the task and give me good results?

I appreciate your thoughts, thank you in advance for taking the trouble to answer my questions.

Pic of Taye Kit attached.
Attached Images
File Type: png Taye.png (60.5 KB, 293 views)
Ash Telecaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 10:28 PM   #2
Bazzbass

don't overdo it mate

Kick, snare and ONE overhead over the toms and cymbals should be adequate.

I've heard great recordings of big kits with just two overheads as well, no kick or snare mics at all. Less is more with drums, imho
Old 06-20-2018, 06:21 AM   #3
Ash Telecaster

Thanks for the advice Bazzbass!

Ive read about two, three, and four mic set ups. Easy enough to experiment with. Ill have to play around with it.
Ash Telecaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 11:49 AM   #4
fred garvin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ash Telecaster View Post
Do you think my results will improve significantly if I go with a larger kit?