Old 08-05-2017, 10:28 AM   #1
ensoniq
Human being with feelings

Default Filtering background noise

Hi Reaper people. I'm a new user of this interesting software, although not a complete beginner in the area of songwriting/recording with computers.

I'm trying to find a decent compromise for my home studio's acoustic problems. My mic picks up everything, even my neighbour's most intimate thoughts, almost. I've tried using a gate, but the noise from the pc's fans, the fridge and whatnot comes through a bit too much when the gate is open.

Is there a vst filter plug that creates some kind of noise profile of the signal from the mic that could be saved as a preset and used on an audio channel?

Would this work for good vocal recordings or would it probably filter out too much of the voice character? I've already done what I can with the room itself.

Updated, I found the Reafir plug which seems to do this. No idea how well it works compared to others on the market. It doesn't seem to do it when monitoring, only on already recorded audio.

Running Reaper on Asus P5K-E with Q9650, Win 7 64, Delta1010lt, UR22.

Last edited by ensoniq; 08-05-2017 at 11:26 AM.
ensoniq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2017, 11:37 AM   #2
ashcat_lt

ReaFIR does that, and there are any number of other plugs out there that will do it, too. None of them can do it without creating artifacts of one sort or another. Whether it works well enough for your purposes depends on just about everything. You just have to try it and see if you can find a compromise/balance between the noise you're trying to remove and the artifacts that it adds.

I personally won't even bother because it almost always just makes things worse. I guess I just find a bit of noise to be easier to tolerate than the weird, synthy, watery warble that this kind of re-synthesis invariably creates.