Old 07-08-2017, 06:43 AM   #1
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,184
Default Why does cut/copy a track destroy the routing?

If I cut/copy a track and then paste, the sends aren't preserved. Perhaps there's a good reason but it seems to me that no information should be lost in a cut/paste cycle. Am I wrong?
IXix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 07:44 AM   #2
Pickasso
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 188
Default

I don't know, never tried.
I always select: Track/Duplicate Tracks
Then just drag the new track wherever desired. It seems to be an exact copy, all routings, media files, fx, etc.
Pickasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 09:20 AM   #3
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6,269
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IXix View Post
If I cut/copy a track and then paste, the sends aren't preserved. Perhaps there's a good reason but it seems to me that no information should be lost in a cut/paste cycle. Am I wrong?
When your cut/paste doesn't include the destination tracks, Reaper would need to assume you meant the routing to be the same. Why would it be different?! This makes sense if you consider cutting and pasting from a different project that might have different routing.

At least that's clearly how Reaper is handling this!
Destination sends are only preserved if the cut/paste includes the destination tracks.

It would be nice to be able to set a preference to either make that routing assumption or be prompted to 'keep assumed routing'.
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 11:59 AM   #4
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
When your cut/paste doesn't include the destination tracks, Reaper would need to assume you meant the routing to be the same. Why would it be different?! This makes sense if you consider cutting and pasting from a different project that might have different routing.
Ah okay, I see the reasoning now. Thanks.
IXix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 11:13 PM   #5
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 1,423
Default

Maybe because routing in trackstatechunks is ID-oriented (not GUID).
I guess if it would be GUID oriented, then it could preserve routing through cut/paste (and clear routing if destination GUID is not valid for project this track was pasted).
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 06:32 PM   #6
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,004
Default

Related feature request by myself: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=7721
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 01:45 PM   #7
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,566
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IXix View Post
If I cut/copy a track and then paste, the sends aren't preserved. Perhaps there's a good reason but it seems to me that no information should be lost in a cut/paste cycle. Am I wrong?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickasso View Post
I don't know, never tried.
I always select: Track/Duplicate Tracks
Then just drag the new track wherever desired. It seems to be an exact copy, all routings, media files, fx, etc.
Yeah, if you're Copy/Pasting in the same project, just use "Duplicate".

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
When your cut/paste doesn't include the destination tracks, Reaper would need to assume you meant the routing to be the same. Why would it be different?! This makes sense if you consider cutting and pasting from a different project that might have different routing.

At least that's clearly how Reaper is handling this!
Destination sends are only preserved if the cut/paste includes the destination tracks.

It would be nice to be able to set a preference to either make that routing assumption or be prompted to 'keep assumed routing'.
The only time I copy/paste tracks is when I'm copying to another project. Then you do clearly need to include all the tracks that are part of the routing, that is if you want to preserve them.
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 01:26 AM   #8
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,184
Default

Thanks ever so much but I didn't ask how to duplicate a track. I asked why copying doesn't preserve the routing.
IXix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 01:37 AM   #9
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 3,876
Default

There are SWS actions to cut/copy with the routing as a workaround.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.