Old 09-23-2018, 05:56 PM   #1
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 83
Default High Sierra poor CoreAudio performance

I've recently updated two machines from Sierra to High Sierra. After things settled (Spotlight, etc.), I had to raise my latency to get rid of drop-outs that never were there before. Now it only works at 256 spls, but used to at 64.

I see same on both computers, both with USB and Thunderbolt interfaces. I see this both in Reaper and Studio One. Somehow this upgrade worsened my audio performance, though nothing else had changed. I've tried deleting CoreAudio preferences, I've tried the "delete the disk and restore 10.13 from Time Machine" path, etc. Nothing helped yet.

Did anyone had a similar problem? Or High Sierra is good and stable for you in that department?
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 04:03 AM   #2
arsvivendi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 6
Default

For me, just the opposite. When I first downloaded Reaper, moving GUI objects during playback caused noises, and any VST instrument not visible during playback would drop out. The next High Sierra update I received resolved everything. Super smooth now at 128/96k. That is, until last night when my interface detached itself mid-playback :-D

Thank God my monitors were not powered on at that time!

Just curious, what kinds of drop outs are they? Single hungry plugs? Huge projects? Audio / MIDI?
arsvivendi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 05:38 AM   #3
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,068
Default

Take a look at Activity monitor. There have been reports of batteryd taking up to 100% CPU, causing dropouts.

In that case, you can disable batteryd, but only if the Mac is on mains power.
__________________
“Political correctness is fascism pretending to be manners.” George Carlin
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 05:45 AM   #4
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 83
Default

1. no, that is not heavy plugins. I see this just on a project with two tracks and no plugins at all.
2. as for batteryd, thanks for suggestion, but I don't see it eating the CPU time.
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 05:47 AM   #5
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 83
Default

it happens like this: everything is running normally, but a short flicker maxes out CPU and it's not available to DAW in time.

in Reaper's performance monitor I see no load. in Activity Monitor I see top processes: DAW and coreaudiod (the latter is like 25% CPU).
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 05:50 AM   #6
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 83
Default

as for now my guess is there is something in UI rendering or something like this. but not able to prove or check this yet.

both my computers have an integrated video adapter (i.e. on-board Intel).
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 06:53 AM   #7
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 83
Default

I use Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt. checked with Scarlett USB and High Sierra also performs with it worse than Sierra did.
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 10:50 AM   #8
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 83
Default

this seems to be log entry for when it fails:

HALS_OverloadMessage.cpp:159: perform: Audio IO Overload inputs: 'FocusritePCI001' outputs: 'FocusritePCI001' cause: 'Unknown' prewarming: no recovering: no

Last edited by Vasily; 09-24-2018 at 10:59 AM.
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 11:20 AM   #9
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 83
Default

I was wrong: it only affects one my machine. a 2015 one, but a 2012 is still working fine after the same upgrade, which is strange, considering the 2015 is more powerful.

Time for a clear reinstall, I guess. Or any other suggestions?
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 10:20 AM   #10
shanabit
Human being with feelings
 
shanabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 294
Default

I always trash the DAWS Prefs as well when I upgrade the OS

Try a SMC reset and a PRAM/NVRAM reset as well
__________________
Reaper 4.78, Cubase 9.5.30, StudioOnePro 3.5.6, LogicProX 10.4.1
MacPro Dual Quad 2.4,OSX 10.13.6, MR816X
shanabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 10:58 AM   #11
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 83
Default

@shanabit

1. It’s not a problem with user profile, as this happens with a new empty user on this system.
2. Tried that, no effect

Currently deleted disk and reinstalling HS from scratch, let’s see if the problem will be there.
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 03:47 AM   #12
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 83
Default

okay, I tried to re-install HS from scratch, but it hang just after installation.
I guess, it just doesn't like this specific computer or something like this.

reverted to Sierra and everything is working. and will wait for a newer, better OS someday.
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 10:34 AM   #13
mamazai
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 341
Default

Interesting. I've had the same problem with High Sierra (Uad Apollo twin). Sierra better for me. I don't know why.
mamazai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2018, 01:09 PM   #14
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,068
Default

Time to try Mojave?

What's positive is that Apple seems to have noticed. I've seen accounts named "Apple Support" springing up on a few related fora...
__________________
“Political correctness is fascism pretending to be manners.” George Carlin
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.