Old 09-24-2018, 03:51 PM   #1
pcmusicpro
Human being with feelings
 
pcmusicpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cali, Colombia.
Posts: 613
Default OMF / AAF Import export option

I find Reaper a great tool for film sound postproduction and the preferred workflow in that environment is to get OMF/AAF files. All major DAWs have that feature. I don´t find AA Translator an option since it is more expensive than Reaper itself.

Are there any plans to implement OMF/AAF into Reaper and if not, for what reason?

Tranks.

Ed.
pcmusicpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 04:01 PM   #2
Aeolian
Human being with feelings
 
Aeolian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Somewhere PRO
Posts: 969
Default

Who's implementation of OMF should the cockos devs go with?

__________________
Resistors are futile, you will be simulated ...
Aeolian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 12:01 AM   #3
andyp24
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 614
Default

AA Translator is still less than the cost of the other DAWs that would give you this facility.

Plus, afaik it has never charged for an update, so over time its value increases greatly.

Don't blame AAT for Reaper being absurdly cheap compared to the competition.
andyp24 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 02:08 AM   #4
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,380
Default

We do understand that $199USD may be hard for some to justify so one thing to consider is that we do offer a conversion service.

While we don't actually advertise it we certainly make no secret of it.
It works this way - we convert whatever you want to whatever you want and you make a 'donation' to the value of your choosing and the value of that 'donation' comes off any future purchase of AAT.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 03:11 AM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,389
Default

Won't happen, use AAT. Reasons for this have been regurgitated in many similar FR threads over the years (you could've just hit forum search about it).

Also if you're using Reaper professionally and earn a decent chunk of your yearly income with it you're supposed to use the $225 version of Reaper, not the $60 version. At which point, AAT is cheaper than Reaper.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 10:44 PM   #6
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,200
Default

That conversion service is a good deal.

I do sometimes wonder how a file import plugin could improve stuff. Then again, even the Protools OMF/AAF import method is not all that easy. There’s a lot of setup option when you bring in material that way.

Runaway, I’m sure you thought about writing a Reaper file import plugin with AATranslator as a back end at some point. What were your oros and cons if any ?
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 03:41 AM   #7
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
That conversion service is a good deal.
We think so - when all is said and done if you have need for the service you really can't lose

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
I do sometimes wonder how a file import plugin could improve stuff. Then again, even the Protools OMF/AAF import method is not all that easy. There’s a lot of setup option when you bring in material that way.
More than you could imagine and even more so when you are a 'spoilt' Reaper user ;-)
Before anyone gets all over me like a cheap suit, by 'spoilt' I mean Reaper will let you do pretty much anything you like and let you get away with practically murder unlike the strict regimes of these other DAWs

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Runaway, I’m sure you thought about writing a Reaper file import plugin with AATranslator as a back end at some point. What were your pros and cons if any ?
Short answer is yes we have. We have ventured a little way down this path but only for a single format rather than the entire AATranslator back end and should we pursue it further it would be by providing a number of specific format plugins.

While I like to visit this forum more often than most other forums we do get the same requests from other forums for AAT plugins. In fact, we are currently developing a couple of plugins for another DAW as a proof of concept and if that goes well we will hopefully bring those learnings across to build some Reaper plugins. With scant resources we need to make sure we don't spread ourselves too thin as we never want to neglect user support
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 12:14 PM   #8
pcmusicpro
Human being with feelings
 
pcmusicpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cali, Colombia.
Posts: 613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Won't happen, use AAT. Reasons for this have been regurgitated in many similar FR threads over the years (you could've just hit forum search about it).
I did the search before asking. Put OMF on the topic, searched all forums and the search said "Sorry, no matches. Please try some different terms".

Did the search again and even this post is not listed neither. Is something wrong with the search feature?
pcmusicpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 12:19 PM   #9
pcmusicpro
Human being with feelings
 
pcmusicpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cali, Colombia.
Posts: 613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
We do understand that $199USD may be hard for some to justify so one thing to consider is that we do offer a conversion service.

While we don't actually advertise it we certainly make no secret of it.
It works this way - we convert whatever you want to whatever you want and you make a 'donation' to the value of your choosing and the value of that 'donation' comes off any future purchase of AAT.
Oh well this is great to know. Because I don´t need the service all the time since it´s not my main work.So when the need arrives I will certainly contact you.
pcmusicpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 02:19 PM   #10
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmusicpro View Post
I did the search before asking. Put OMF on the topic, searched all forums and the search said "Sorry, no matches. Please try some different terms".
I think you can't search for terms containing 3 (or less) letters, kinda sucks.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 02:39 PM   #11
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,389
Default

You can use Google's search restricted to forum.cockos.com instead...
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 08:02 AM   #12
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Won't happen, ...
And I think Cockos is shooting themselves in their own knee with this decision

Let me explain why: Many small bands, artists, DJs, whatever, use Reaper ... understandable right? But most pro studios don‘t, but usually use DAWs, that support AAF format.

I as a hobbyist for example use Studio One besides Reaper because of the much better song writing capabilities. But because Reaper doesn‘t support AAF, I‘m asking myself, if I‘ll buy a V6 licence, because I use Reaper less and less due to the missing AAF support.
But because the one and only DAW doesn‘t exists and Reaper has strengths, that S1 lacks and vice versa, I would like to use both. But without AAF the project migration between the two is too much hassle, because I use a lot of virtual instruments. No need to tell, that S1 support AAF im- and export.

Long story short: With AAF support the user base might become greater or at least won‘t become smaller
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 08:43 AM   #13
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,636
Default

I'm all for native AAF support. However, this won't help us with virtual instruments.
AAF only supports audio files. I have high hopes for AATranslator, though. They might be able to nail it.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 08:50 AM   #14
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
However, this won't help us with virtual instruments.
Yeah, too bad, plugin infos get lost ... didn‘t knew that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
AAF only supports audio files.
Are you sure, that MIDI tracks don‘t get exported? Needs to be done separately?
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 09:20 AM   #15
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,636
Default

Hm not sure about MIDI. But I prefer to drag and drop MIDI parts/items. At least that works from Cubase to Reaper. I'm sure it works from S1 to Reaper, as well.

But still, the complex part is to get all the instruments and plugins over to the other DAW. Compared to that, the MIDI data is rather trivial.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 09:56 AM   #16
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
But still, the complex part is to get all the instruments and plugins over to the other DAW. Compared to that, the MIDI data is rather trivial.
Yep, I know ... moved a Reaper MIDI project over to S1.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 10:11 AM   #17
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,523
Default

IMO, it's not a big deal what doesn't get sent over instrument or even plugin wise for many kinds of sessions/projects. Just to be able to import a projects that gives the tracks, puts midi tracks on correctly named tracks for one to add VIs, auto-spots the audio and if it doesn't understand the take system, puts takes on separate tracks would be great. It may be missing aspects but sometimes this would be plenty. I'd be really happy with some kind of ex/import that does everything that can can easily done and just leaves out the other stuff.

There's a difference between import/export that needs to be done continually over a project and one that only needs to be done once, and where whatever fx are on it before export are only for rough monitoring.
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 05:18 AM   #18
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
I'm all for native AAF support. However, this won't help us with virtual instruments.
AAF only supports audio files. I have high hopes for AATranslator, though. They might be able to nail it.
You are correct in that AAF only supports audio files and given that there is no such thing as an AAF (or OMF) 'standard' that in itself keeps us pretty busy.
Converting virtual instruments can be a bit like converting chalk to cheese so it is not currently high on our priority list ;-)

And BTW for those that are interested AATranslator can read and write S1 session files (except for midi and FX)
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 01:03 AM   #19
Moy
Human being with feelings
 
Moy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: China
Posts: 35
Default

Still hope for this feature.
Many studios only provide Pro Tools' project.
I don't want to use PTs.

And when I recommend RP to other users,
When they asked:"Did it support omf/aaf?" - They have to exchange projects with their clients.

I could only say: "Sadly, no. You may try AAF if you could afford it."
__________________
Nice to meet REAPER.
My Chinese tutorials of RAEPER: https://zhuanlan.zhihu.com/reaper
Moy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 01:34 AM   #20
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,389
Default

I've no idea why people are still hoping for this to happen, it obviously won't because AAT exists.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 01:42 AM   #21
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I've no idea why people are still hoping for this to happen, it obviously won't because AAT exists.
Then the simple decision everyone has to make is, either use Reaper with AAT or choose a different DAW like Studio One, which supports AAF.

And because it seems, that most Reaper users don‘t want to buy AAT, I guess, Cockos will loose customers in the long run, right?
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 01:44 AM   #22
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,389
Default

Sure there might be some loss of customers, but that's a risk of any business. The real question here is - would that be a huge loss or not? And we don't see Justin & co. complaining about it, so I guess it's just business as usual. "Most Reaper users" are probably not even in such workflows where AAF/OMF is even needed. People who need those formats are probably a minor part of Reaper userbase, I'd venture a guess (not to diminish anyone's anguish - just hazarding a guess).

Last edited by EvilDragon; 01-18-2019 at 01:57 AM.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 02:15 AM   #23
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
"Most Reaper users" are probably not even in such workflows where AAF/OMF is even needed.
What I have in mind are many bands and solo artists, that start with Reaper and sooner or later might want a pro recording from a pro studio, e.g. for CD production.

So the need for AAF comes later in most cases, right?
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2019, 09:17 AM   #24
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aymara View Post
And because it seems, that most Reaper users don‘t want to buy AAT, I guess, Cockos will loose customers in the long run, right?
You would probably be very surprised at just how many Reaper users have purchased AATranslator and while there are many which just have a need to convert from one or two specific DAWs the majority have purchased to convert to/from OMF, AAF and or ProTools.
These are Reaper users who have felt that the investment in AATranslator is worth it to their workflow, income or whatever.
Remember, if you are a Reaper user who gets an OMF or AAF every now and then we do have a conversion service available - we convert it and you are happy with the result then you make a donation of your choosing with that amount coming off any future purchase of AATranslator.
We can't really be any fairer than that.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2019, 10:16 AM   #25
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
... the majority have purchased to convert to/from OMF, AAF and or ProTools.
That‘s what I would have guessed

Quote:
We can't really be any fairer than that.
I‘ll definily keep that in mind.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.