Old 04-21-2009, 03:16 AM   #1
ezurick
Human being with feelings
 
ezurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Default Reaper and UAD cards

I don't see a whole lot of information on here about the compatibility of the UAD cards with Reaper. Basically a few short threads. Some claim it works, some folks seem to have issues.

Now that UAD has dropped the prices of the UAD-1 cards because they are now selling the UAD-2 cards, I think it is time to get a thread going.

I seen one post that claimed Universal Audio doesn't recognize or support Reaper as a DAW software. Does anyone know if that is still true?

For those that have the UAD working well with Reaper, can you explain anything you done special to get it working (besides install the UAD software and card). Where do the special UAD effects show up? Are they conglomerated within the VST plugs? Or do they show up somewhere else?

Since I never had a UAD card, tell us your opinion of the basic effects of the UAD card (ie. eq, compressor, reverb, etc.). Are there any latency issues? Do they sound as good as the cost? Are they all mono -> stereo for each track? Anything else you want to add.

I am trying to get a good thread going for the UAD compatibility because with the price drop of the UAD-1 cards, I believe there will be a lot more folks using them. I have been trying to find a bargain (ebay, etc.) on one of the UAD-1e specials, but no luck so far. I am hearing/reading good things about the more expensive UAD-2 technology and power. Anyone have experience with these? Thanks... ~ peace!
ezurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 03:34 AM   #2
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,505
Default

If you do a forum search of "UAD-1" I am sure you will find a lot of posts over the years about using the plugins successfully in REAPER. However, if you want to get up to speed quickly then you may want to checkout the REAPER/UAD-1 link in my sig for some actual tutorials.

As far as the UAD-2 goes, I have one and it is the better solution if you can afford one. Better driver compatibilty with REAPER, more power and a more advanced feature set as well.


Cheers,

Billy Buck

Last edited by billybk1; 04-21-2009 at 03:38 AM.
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 05:59 AM   #3
moio
Human being with feelings
 
moio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Frankfurt/Germany
Posts: 985
Default

I found a UAD-1e at sweetwater. Did you have a look there? maybe they're still on stock ...
moio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 01:17 PM   #4
audioguytodd
Human being with feelings
 
audioguytodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,055
Default

I just got my first UAD-1e card last week from Sweetwater.

So far, everything works just fine.
__________________
Comp Specs: WIN XPSP3, Q6600, ASUSP5K, 3 GB PC6400 RAM, Focusrite Saffire, AlphaTrack, lots of plugins and hardware.

Last edited by audioguytodd; 04-21-2009 at 01:50 PM.
audioguytodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 06:57 AM   #5
ezurick
Human being with feelings
 
ezurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moio View Post
I found a UAD-1e at sweetwater. Did you have a look there? maybe they're still on stock ...
Well, I am not a big fan of Sweetwater. And I did order from them a few weeks ago. Even ordered it with overnight shipping. A few moments after ordering, one of the sales guy calls me to say it is not in stock and they are expecting them the following monday. I cancelled in attempts to find it elsewhere. Nothing! I called back that next monday and asked to reinstate my order. No problem. I waited until tuesday for shipment. Nothing. I called and they claim that they weren't sure when they would get the next stock in. Grrrrr! So I cancelled again! Now I see they removed the UAD-1e from the online inventory... Ebay has a few listed, but not sure I want to give someone a nearly 20% profit. I guess I'll just wait and save up... and swing for the UAD-2 Solo.
ezurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 06:58 AM   #6
ezurick
Human being with feelings
 
ezurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguytodd View Post
I just got my first UAD-1e card last week from Sweetwater.

So far, everything works just fine.
Can you please tell us where do you see the UAD plugins? Are they marked as UAD in the VST? Just curious where they show up.
ezurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 06:35 AM   #7
ezurick
Human being with feelings
 
ezurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezurick View Post
Can you please tell us where do you see the UAD plugins? Are they marked as UAD in the VST? Just curious where they show up.
Not sure why this is such a hard question to get answered, but could someone explain how the UAD plugins show up in Reaper please? Are they listed in the VST plugins, or are they listed by themselves? Just trying to get an idea how they show up concerning ease of use. My VST listing is getting pretty clustered.

Another question I can't seem to find is regarding the UAD-2. I see the UAD-2 Solo listed for $499 and it comes with the 5 basic free plugs. Then I see the UAD-2 Nevana listed for $699 and it claims to have 32 channels with a few different plugs. However reading into the details of the Nevana, it claims to have the UAD-2 Solo card. How can they be different. If the Nevana is 32 channels, what is the UAD-2 Solo card. A $200 difference is just what plugs are packaged? I am confused. I also see the Nevana is claimed to be like the Neve-88 console. But again, if the Nevana comes with the UAD-2 Solo card, the difference is what plugins are packaged. Can anyone enlighten me on the differences please?
ezurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 08:16 PM   #8
drumphil
Human being with feelings
 
drumphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,660
Default

Quote:
Not sure why this is such a hard question to get answered, but could someone explain how the UAD plugins show up in Reaper please?
Have you watched the tutorial videos suggested above yet? Done any research on the UAD site about how their plugins are implemented? Do I have to do it for you so I can tell you the answer when I don't own one myself... put some effort in man.

And in general, if you VST plugin list is getting cluttered you're probably "doing it all wrong" anyway.

Last edited by drumphil; 05-01-2009 at 08:21 PM.
drumphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 12:17 AM   #9
moio
Human being with feelings
 
moio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Frankfurt/Germany
Posts: 985
Default

I dont know too much about the UAD-2 cards, but with the UAD-1s the difference in price depends on the plug-ins and vouchers. I guess for UAD-2 theres no difference. The cards themsleves do all they same.

and: yes, the plug-ins show up in the usual Reaper vst list.
moio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 11:21 AM   #10
ezurick
Human being with feelings
 
ezurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumphil View Post
Have you watched the tutorial videos suggested above yet? Done any research on the UAD site about how their plugins are implemented? Do I have to do it for you so I can tell you the answer when I don't own one myself... put some effort in man.

And in general, if you VST plugin list is getting cluttered you're probably "doing it all wrong" anyway.
Hmmmm. What a piece of work this is! Drum (fill)? I suppose you're the main studio engineer and songwriter too?

All my questions are answered now that I purchased the UAD-2. I was trying to get a little heads-up, but didn't realize what I was dealing with until I seen some of these responses.

And yes, my VST is getting clustered because ALL VST plugins are listed where? And every UAD is listed whether you own it or not!

I'll be sure to avoid you...
ezurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:47 PM   #11
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezurick View Post
All my questions are answered now that I purchased the UAD-2.
Which UAD-2 card did you get?

Cheers,

Billy Buck
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 05:52 PM   #12
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,898
Default

I picked up one of the UAD-1e cards that are $99 now.. and I must say, using it on a quad core in vista.. had no problems whatsoever, with REAPER's default settings.. used a bunch of plugs, loaded the card up to 90%, even used with reafir's creating more latency to be compensated.. everything really went smoothly (though not quite as smooth as the UAD-2).. strange!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 06:34 AM   #13
ezurick
Human being with feelings
 
ezurick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billybk1 View Post
Which UAD-2 card did you get?

Cheers,

Billy Buck
Hi Billy... I purchased the UAD-2 Nevana (32 Channel). I was totally confused about the purchase and that is why I was trying to ask questions here. I also tried to research and ask questions on the UAD forums, but I just couldn't get basic questions answered and no one over there would answer about Reaper.

I did have a heck of time getting the card working, but it is working now. I am also a little disappointed in the Nevana 32, when this is nothing more that the UAD-2 solo with the basic 5 effects, to include the Neve 88-RS. I mostly use the 1176SE and ProVerb or whatever the basic reverb is called. So I could have saved myself $200 if I could have gotten my basic questions answered. Oh well, live and learn.

I do have to say... folks, if you want true pro-level mix-down in Reaper or most any other DAW, you need to get a UAD. I am just learning it, but apply the 1176SE to nearly everything... that alone creates a fine-tuned and sonic mix-down. Oh! I am currently doing hard rock. So those drum set signals, electric flying guitars and fat bass tracks... cleaned up in a breeze!
ezurick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 02:04 AM   #14
drumphil
Human being with feelings
 
drumphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,660
Default

Quote:
Hmmmm. What a piece of work this is! Drum (fill)? I suppose you're the main studio engineer and songwriter too?
Lol.. i was having a bad day. My apologies. I don't write songs either... I do the rest though

I guess my point was that nearly all of the answers you were looking for were in the tutorial videos that billy made and suggested above. I should have politely suggested that the video covered most of the basics, and you should probably try watching it first, and then see what questions you still have. I went about it 'all wrong' however.

oh yeah.. when i said "bad day" above, think like an un-medicated out of control schizophrenic woman deciding she was going to move in with me bad day. I sure know hot to pick 'em.

Last edited by drumphil; 05-15-2009 at 02:28 AM.
drumphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.