Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2019, 08:22 AM   #1
Netchicks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 30
Default Media Explorer: Issue with viewing anything

For some reason my media explorer wont show any of my shortcuts or databases. It will only show folders and other files if it is set to the "List" mode. If it is set to "details" it will not show anything. This issue does not come up if I open a fresh install of reaper. I've tried to export the reaper configuration, made a fresh install of reaper and then imported the configuration again. This did not fix the issue. The linked images show how my media explorer looks like, both with the "list" and the "details" view.

https://imgur.com/a/28s71QF

Edit:
Using Windows explorer allows me to see files and folders, but the shortcuts and databases are still missing

Last edited by Netchicks; 01-04-2019 at 08:31 AM. Reason: forgot to add info
Netchicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 06:11 AM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,876
Default

Might perhaps be the case that the shortcut column is dragged all the way to the left.
So try to place the mouse cursor over the top left corner in the lightgray panel areas (where the column headers would normally be shown) and see if it changes to a 'Drag'-icon in order to click & drag the column width back to the right.


Another option you can try:

1) Options > Show REAPER resource path ...
2) Open the 'reaper.ini' file with a text editor
3) Search for the shortcut_col0= line in the [reaper_explorer] section and change the column width value to something like shortcut_col0=200 (in case it's zero or very small)
4) Save the changes and restart Reaper afterwards
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 01-05-2019 at 06:46 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 06:12 PM   #3
Netchicks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 30
Default

The shortcut panel is there, it just doesnt show anything. the screenshots provided clearly shows this
Netchicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 09:49 AM   #4
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netchicks View Post
The shortcut panel is there, it just doesnt show anything. the screenshots provided clearly shows this
Yeah, I have seen the screenshots. Did you already give the things I suggested a try?


In case it might perhaps not be clear to what I'm referring to in my previous post, here's a short screen capture: https://imgur.com/a/GOUYlA2

The shortcut column width in the left panel can be adjusted by doing a mouse drag or by editing the 'shortcut_col0' value in the reaper.ini config file.
The columns in the right panel can be shown/hidden via the right-click menu or by doing a mouse drag.
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 01-07-2019 at 10:38 AM. Reason: added screen capture
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 06:49 AM   #5
Netchicks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Yeah, I have seen the screenshots. Did you already give the things I suggested a try?


In case it might perhaps not be clear to what I'm referring to in my previous post, here's a short screen capture: https://imgur.com/a/GOUYlA2

The shortcut column width in the left panel can be adjusted by doing a mouse drag or by editing the 'shortcut_col0' value in the reaper.ini config file.
The columns in the right panel can be shown/hidden via the right-click menu or by doing a mouse drag.
You are a blessing man. Thank you so much! Editing the .ini file did nothing earlier, but following the gif provided did the trick. Again, thank you so much!
Netchicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 09:27 AM   #6
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netchicks View Post
Thank you so much! Editing the .ini file did nothing earlier, but following the gif provided did the trick.
Great
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2023, 06:19 AM   #7
MagicRat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: In a hat
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Might perhaps be the case that the shortcut column is dragged all the way to the left. ...
Thnx, same problem here.

This should be fixed imo. At least the cursor should give a hint that there is something extra to drag here.
__________________
MacBookPro 15-inch 2015
Reaper, PureData, Unity3d, Arduino
and Random Junk.
MagicRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.