Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2019, 01:25 PM   #761
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

Ah right, creating an item beforehand... I’ll look into automating this with a script.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 01:30 PM   #762
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Ah right, creating an item beforehand... I’ll look into automating this with a script.
Do you think right-clicking should create an item under the cursor if one doesn't already exist?
tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 01:31 PM   #763
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

You can read my mind

Yes, that would be really good. Unless someone chimes in and says "this is a real bad idea".
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 01:34 PM   #764
Vadium
Human being with feelings
 
Vadium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shootkin View Post
Thanks so much for your excellent work! I'd like to take the liberty of asking you for a small FR: is it possible to remove the gradients from the buttons so this would perfectly fit to my completely flat theme? Thank you
only as option! because current gradients are very sweet for many people (and me - I like it so much)
__________________
macOS 10.13.6, personal/small business use license
Vadium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 01:41 PM   #765
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

Just a quick thought on user experience:

have you thought about "splitting" the articulation buttons in 2 areas?

When single left clicking on the note symbol, it would insert the articulation
and by clicking on the name, it will only switch the articulation.

I'm just asking in terms of touch screen usage. Right clicking on a touch screen is problematic and for double clicking you really have to get the timing right.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 01:44 PM   #766
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
I'm just asking in terms of touch screen usage. Right clicking on a touch screen is problematic and for double clicking you really have to get the timing right.
What about if long-press was possible as an alternative to double-clicking?

I'm not sure I like the idea of having different click targets for insert vs activate. I'll think on it a bit more but I think long-pressing could be a solution?

I'm surprised you're having difficulties with double clicking though. I'd have thought 500ms was plenty of time to click twice.
tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 01:45 PM   #767
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

Long press sounds great!!! Sold me
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 01:49 PM   #768
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 46
Default

OK! It's functionally working now with two switches I setup in TouchOSC. (I wanna get two switches working flawlessly before making it work with all the articulations).

But....

When I look at the Bank/Program Select (which I want to be able to reference/edit), it is showing two events per each time I press the button. It does not do this when I bypass reaticulate.

I've attached a screenshot of the bank program select. In this example, I hit buttons for Long, Legato, and then back to Long. You can see that there are three pairs of 2 events.

Any suggestions to avoid this?

Thanks again for your help! I know you're doing this as a hobby, and I don't take your help for granted.
Attached Images
File Type: png LongLegatoLongSmall.png (5.2 KB, 3 views)
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 01:50 PM   #769
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Long press sounds great!!! Sold me
I was actually originally inclined to do that instead of double click but I vaguely recall someone (maybe Vadium) talked me out of it.

Unless it's causing you some real frustrations, I'll probably wait for the 0.5.0 prerelease cycle for that feature. Mainly because I did some major changes to rtk (the gui library I'm building along side Reaticulate) in my dev tree that make this functionality a little annoying to backport.
tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 01:52 PM   #770
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

No pressure, I just wanted to give some feedback in terms of daily usage.
I can definitely cope with that for the moment, no need to drop everything for that :P

Thanks!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 01:54 PM   #771
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsthem View Post
Any suggestions to avoid this?
Based on the presence of that 0-1-0 event at the front, I think you are still sending Program Changes from TouchOSC. You really should send a CC (of your choice, I use 119) and bind that to the "Activate articulation by CC on default channel." This might solve your other problem too.

You can then double-tap the button in TouchOSC to insert, or explicitly use the "Insert last activated articulation into MIDI item on default channel" action if you prefer.


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsthem View Post
Thanks again for your help! I know you're doing this as a hobby, and I don't take your help for granted.
np
tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 02:33 PM   #772
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

You might jump in on this one:
https://forums.cockos.com/showpost.p...64&postcount=8
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 03:13 PM   #773
Vadium
Human being with feelings
 
Vadium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Just a quick thought on user experience:

I'm just asking in terms of touch screen usage. Right clicking on a touch screen is problematic and for double clicking you really have to get the timing right.
as a case, if a tablet supports multygesture, pressing by 2 fingers? (and by 3 fingers for a reset)?
__________________
macOS 10.13.6, personal/small business use license
Vadium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 03:16 PM   #774
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

I guess that's an issue with Reaper and the API. The API doesn't recognize multitouch, IIRC.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 03:20 PM   #775
Vadium
Human being with feelings
 
Vadium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
I guess that's an issue with Reaper and the API. The API doesn't recognize multitouch, IIRC.
but if make multitouch events conversion to mouse action inside a tablet?

long pressing makes averall work loooonger)
__________________
macOS 10.13.6, personal/small business use license

Last edited by Vadium; 11-11-2019 at 03:50 PM.
Vadium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 07:54 PM   #776
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vadium View Post
only as option! because current gradients are very sweet for many people (and me - I like it so much)
Thanks, I think the gradient looks pretty nice too.
tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:10 PM   #777
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

Same, it looks super stylish to me.
And I agree, let's first take care of the functionalty. GUI stuff can always be changed later on.
And for a pre-release Reaticulation looks super professional already.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:13 PM   #778
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
And for a pre-release Reaticulation looks super professional already.
Mind you it's been in development for juuuuussst about two years now. I'm doing a Google style pre-release strategy here, clearly.

(Gmail was in beta for something like 5 years.)
tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:14 PM   #779
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

Haha! Good thing wants to have it
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:17 PM   #780
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 827
Default

Current behavior of my local dev branch: long press insertion, new MIDI item created under cursor if none exists, and I added a little animation for insertions (which looks a little clunky in the low frame rate of the animated GIF but you get the idea).

tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:23 PM   #781
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

OH MY GOODNESS!!!

Checking it out!

EDIT: oh wait, you wrote "local devbranch" lol...
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:43 PM   #782
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
EDIT: oh wait, you wrote "local devbranch" lol...
Yeah, nothing's committed yet. I spent the weekend implementing the new GUID approach and I need to do a generous round of code cleanup first before I dare push anything into public view.

I think the new approach will work ok. I feel like there are loads of corner cases here, and I'll need to take care testing, but identifying banks by a new GUID attribute and dynamically assigning MSB/LSB does still feel like the right way.

Version 0.5 will have a new option (under the edit popup menu) to import banks from clipboard. Banks now look like this:

Code:
//! g="Vendor/Product" n="Patch"
//! id=3afd2094-ba9b-4bde-8b15-4da6caedf3a0
Bank * * Some Patch
[...]
The GUID is generated by Reaticulate if it doesn't exist in the user's reabank file (and the file written back out).

Then the MSB/LSB here is decided by Reaticulate. The * means Reaticulate can decide entirely on its own. If actual numbers are specified, they're actually more suggestions than requirements: Reaticulate will use the supplied MSB/LSB as the starting point. And then it will just increment them until it's able to find an available MSB/LSB not already in use in the current project. (This shouldn't be an issue for existing projects where today we have to manually manage the MSB/LSB assignments to prevent collisions.)

The goal is users shouldn't have to know or care about this MSB/LSB business. Import a bank and go. It should Just Work. Except in rare cases, MSB/LSB is just invisible.

I think this change is more likely to break things than the previous gutting I did in 0.4.0. I'm not sure how yet, but it does feel like there be dragons here.
tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 09:29 PM   #783
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

That's awesome Jason, really looking forward to test this. We will fight the dragons, no worries!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:23 AM   #784
Shootkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tack View Post
Thanks, I think the gradient looks pretty nice too.
I do not insist. But the option would be very useful. With my theme, gradients are not sexy at all
__________________
Primal Wheel
Shootkin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:33 PM   #785
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,937
Default

Not sure if this is a bug in Reaper, but when moving PC/bank events in the ME, the actual name gets lost.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:41 PM   #786
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Not sure if this is a bug in Reaper, but when moving PC/bank events in the ME, the actual name gets lost.
This looks to be a Reaper issue in the pre-release. On my end, when you move the PC events it is actually changing the PC to a different one, and a different name.

Definitely a Reaper bug.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:34 PM   #787
robgb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsthem View Post
OK. Installed it. Love the simplicity and look of it. So far though, I have not been able to use my touch OSC to trigger Reaticulate. I was using Touch osc to send keyswitches before.
Thanks!
Are you on a Mac? If so, think about getting OSCulator. It can work as an alternative go-between with TouchOSC and Reaper and is much easier to deal with than setting up articulation switches in the TouchOSC editor.
robgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.