Old 06-22-2018, 05:09 AM   #1
ccmeyers
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 6
Default MIDI Editor - Automation preferences?

In the Midi Editor: is there a way to change the automation data so it’s not the green bars, but rather the same format as the track envelopes (points/lines)? Similar to Cubase/Logic?
ccmeyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 08:23 AM   #2
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 11,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccmeyers View Post
In the Midi Editor: is there a way to change the automation data so it’s not the green bars, but rather the same format as the track envelopes (points/lines)? Similar to Cubase/Logic?
I'm not sure how Cubase/Logic are, but at the bottom of the midi editor, there's a dropdown menu
for selecting the color for all the events.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 09:04 AM   #3
ccmeyers
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 6
Default

The color isn't the problem- I want a line/point system. Just like the track envelopes. When you do automation for the tracks, it's a line, and you put points and bend the line around however you need. The green bars are annoying
ccmeyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 03:31 PM   #4
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 11,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccmeyers View Post
The color isn't the problem- I want a line/point system. Just like the track envelopes. When you do automation for the tracks, it's a line, and you put points and bend the line around however you need. The green bars are annoying
Aah, okay, got yah now, that's been requested. You can actually do that with "ReaControlMidi", but it has to be done in the arrange area.

I'm used having the events in the CC lanes, so it don't bother me.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 04:00 AM   #5
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccmeyers View Post
In the Midi Editor: is there a way to change the automation data so it’s not the green bars, but rather the same format as the track envelopes (points/lines)? Similar to Cubase/Logic?
As Tod mentioned, you can use ReaControlMIDI to convert take or track automation to MIDI. This video is quite old (so doesn't mention new MIDI editing and automation features) but still gives a good overview of ReaControlMIDI:




However, I strongly suggest that you try to stick with the CCs a little longer. Once you get used to them, they work quite well. Simple freehand drawing can give you any kind of fancy curve, even faster than automation envelopes:




If you want to draw LFOs or edit CC curves, you can use scripts such as these:

juliansader is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.