Old 11-19-2007, 01:40 PM   #1
w00t
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 133
Default Audio Units and REAPER

hi..lovin the mac version of REAPER so far, i was wondering if there are plans to support the AU plugin format in the future? Im also new to mac, ive had this intel macbook for about a week but this seems to be an important format for mac and i need to know if i need another program to run them or a wrapper or what.



I LOVE REAPER
w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 02:08 PM   #2
guitar junkie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 50
Default

at one time it was my understanding that REAPER would end up with AU support, in the future.

I am also hoping the REAplugs will get ported to AU so I can use them in BIAS Peak as well as some other software I use.
guitar junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 02:11 PM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,196
Default

Yes AU support is planned..

AU formatted for reaplugs is unlikely in the near term, though who knows eventually...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 02:30 PM   #4
w00t
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 133
Default

thanks for the response REAPER is already looking pretty good on MAC
w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 09:28 AM   #5
mark604
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Yes AU support is planned..
Excellent

As a Mac user, I don't have many VST's, as Logic, Numerology, etc. doesn't support them.

However, I have downloaded a number of free VST's, but it seems that CamelCrusher is the only one that works properly. With a couple of other VST's, I can load presets but the GUI or editor doesn't show up properly. This seems to be the case with all Mac versions of Reaper up to and including .52.

I'm using 10.4.11 on a 1GHz TiG4.

Thanks
mark604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 07:36 PM   #6
guitar junkie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 50
Default

Come on give us some AU ports for the REAplugs!


You gave the windows guys VST ports for free!
guitar junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 07:31 AM   #7
mark604
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitar junkie View Post
Come on give us some AU ports for the REAplugs!


You gave the windows guys VST ports for free!
Giving the Windows guys a bunch of free VST's was unusually generous. While it might be nice to be able to use the REAplugs in other applications, getting Reaper to host Audio Units is way more important.

It's not uncommon for DAW's to have built-in plugins that aren't available as plugins for other applications. Sure, Apple should make Logic's plugins available as Audio Units since AU is their format (many of the instruments were originally available as VST's under OS 9) but as far as plugins are concerned, a DAW's primary function is that of a host. Spark, Peak, Numerology, Live, etc. all have "plug-ins" that are only available within those applications. However, it would be ridiculous if they couldn't host Audio Units. The same applies to Reaper.
mark604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 08:00 AM   #8
leechlife
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Yes AU support is planned..

AU formatted for reaplugs is unlikely in the near term, though who knows eventually...

Can we get an idea when around this supposed to be happening (i mean Au support, not the au ports)

Reaper just get usable for me if Au support is in there, so is this something that will come with the first release, or be added later??

cheers
leechlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.