Old 12-24-2021, 05:18 PM   #1
nate6
Human being with feelings

Default Pops/Clicks on MBP M1 Max

Hello all! Newbie here :-)

I've been demoing Reaper for the past few weeks on my former 2015 Macbook Pro and Focusrite 2i2 3rd Gen without issue and default settings. (I've gone through the "This is Reaper 6" videos to figure out where I've got to so far).

I just upgraded to a new 14" Macbook Pro M1 Max with OSX 12.1 and installed Reaper 6.43 for macOS 10.15+ ARM64 version. I'm getting occasional pops/clicks while playing guitar/singing with stock effects that came with Reaper running. (ReaComp and ReaVerbate on vocals and Convolution Amp/Cab Modeler on guitar).

I also tried installing the Sitala plugin for drums, the x86_64 version produces tons of pops and clicks, and if I have it armed in the same project where the guitar/vocals exist, those tracks produce more occasional clicks/pops while playing.

When I open activity monitor I'm barely going past 5% CPU usage.
When I try the same setup for vocals/guitar with effects in Garage Band I get no pops/clicks whatsoever. I've tried different USB ports, unplugging everything else plugged in to the computer, closing Dropbox/Adobe.

Any ideas as to what might be going on? None of this happened on the 2015 Macbook Pro with the same settings.
Much thanks!
nate6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2021, 05:40 PM   #2
mlprod

Nor sure what your problem is, but maybe try this pre release?

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=261017
Old 12-25-2021, 03:28 PM   #3
nate6

Thanks! Gave it a shot and installed :-)
However I realize I wasn't actually using factory settings before describing the Sitala part of the issue above.

I referred to this video to tweak buffer settings after I noticed the occasional clicks/pops on guitar/vocals https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8z-07hWqBmc