Old 01-31-2023, 11:16 PM   #1
zabukowski
Human being with feelings
 
zabukowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 187
Default Arm action in MIDI editor

Anyone knows if there is a way to "arm" action in MIDI editor programatically (instead of right clicking on toolbar button).

This is possible in arrange window using "arm next action", but MIDI editor is lacking that action.
__________________
My software & music...
http://www.zabukowski.com/software
http://www.zabukowski.com
zabukowski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 04:01 AM   #2
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,670
Default

There are some settings and actions to change those settings to change some editing features. But might as well be a job for scripts, if possible. What actions are you looking for doing in there?
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 05:23 AM   #3
zabukowski
Human being with feelings
 
zabukowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
There are some settings and actions to change those settings to change some editing features. But might as well be a job for scripts, if possible. What actions are you looking for doing in there?
Note (un)mute, split, and delete first come to my mind.
__________________
My software & music...
http://www.zabukowski.com/software
http://www.zabukowski.com
zabukowski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 09:32 AM   #4
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zabukowski View Post
Note (un)mute, split, and delete first come to my mind.
Aren't mouse modifiers working for you?
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2023, 12:16 AM   #5
zabukowski
Human being with feelings
 
zabukowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Aren't mouse modifiers working for you?
Sure, they are working, but nevertheless, i like idea of "arming" actions and i wonder why MIDI editor doesn't support it (like arrange window does). In MIDI editor, action can be armed only by right-clicking on toolbar button. I would like to use a keystroke instead.
__________________
My software & music...
http://www.zabukowski.com/software
http://www.zabukowski.com
zabukowski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2023, 05:05 AM   #6
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zabukowski View Post
Sure, they are working, but nevertheless, i like idea of "arming" actions and i wonder why MIDI editor doesn't support it (like arrange window does). In MIDI editor, action can be armed only by right-clicking on toolbar button. I would like to use a keystroke instead.
It is possible with scripting. Here is the code:

Code:
local retval, sec = reaper.GetArmedCommand()
if retval == 0 then reaper.ArmCommand(40046, "MIDI Editor") end
if retval > 0 and sec == "MIDI Editor" then reaper.ArmCommand(0, "MIDI Editor") end
You need to change "40046" to something else. It is command ID of "Edit: Split notes" action. To get command ID of the action you need right click it and Copy selected action command ID. You'll have to create one script for each action.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2023, 06:19 AM   #7
zabukowski
Human being with feelings
 
zabukowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
It is possible with scripting. Here is the code:

Code:
local retval, sec = reaper.GetArmedCommand()
if retval == 0 then reaper.ArmCommand(40046, "MIDI Editor") end
if retval > 0 and sec == "MIDI Editor" then reaper.ArmCommand(0, "MIDI Editor") end
You need to change "40046" to something else. It is command ID of "Edit: Split notes" action. To get command ID of the action you need right click it and Copy selected action command ID. You'll have to create one script for each action.
Works like a charm, i've created separated scripts for basic MIDI note operations and assigned them to shortcuts.

Thank you very much for your help.
__________________
My software & music...
http://www.zabukowski.com/software
http://www.zabukowski.com
zabukowski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2023, 06:21 AM   #8
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zabukowski View Post
Works like a charm, i've created separated scripts for basic MIDI note operations and assigned them to shortcuts.

Thank you very much for your help.
You are welcome!
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.