Old 10-23-2020, 10:56 PM   #1
Pink Wool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 182
Default Navigate: select next note - possible to loop back?

I would like to trigger the next note in a midi sequence via midi to manually step through it. So basically, whenever Reaper receives a midi signal it should make one step forward.

I found I can do this via Navigate: select next note but would it be possible to make it loop back to the beginning of the sequence once it reaches the end?

Or is there a better way of doing this?

Also: is there a way to step through several notes that start at the same time like this (chords)?

Last edited by Pink Wool; 10-23-2020 at 11:33 PM.
Pink Wool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 12:50 AM   #2
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pink Wool View Post
I found I can do this via Navigate: select next note but would it be possible to make it loop back to the beginning of the sequence once it reaches the end?
See if these help.

Last edited by Edgemeal; 11-07-2020 at 08:03 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 10:54 AM   #3
Pink Wool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 182
Default

Thanks Edgemeal! They work, kinda. But what I would like to do is make it automatically loop back to the beginning once the midi item has reached it's end. Like the repeat function work in Reaper. I don't know if this would be achievable with your script in a custom action?

It also seems that the "select next note" won't work in the main window, only in the midi editor. Is it possible to pass the midi editor actions to the main window and how?

+ Any idea if it is be possible to play several notes (chords) this way?


Thanks for all the help!

PW
Pink Wool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 11:29 AM   #4
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,126
Default

Sorry, don't know enough about midi to do that stuff, hopefully some else can help, best of luck!
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.