Old 10-22-2020, 02:42 PM   #1
DarrenH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 215
Default Load Track Template...at end of project?

When I select template > load track template, then choose one of the available templates, is there any possible way to insert an action before the track loads the template that will force the template to be inserted at the end of the project?
DarrenH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2020, 04:16 PM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,015
Default

By 'end of project' you mean after the current last track? If so you could make a custom action like this (needs SWS installed):

Custom: Insert track template at end of project
Track: Select all tracks
Xenakios/SWS: Select last of selected tracks
Track: Set first selected track as last touched track
Track: Insert track from template...
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2020, 07:00 PM   #3
valy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1,088
Default

What annoys me is that it seems to often insert the template track as a child track, making the selected track the parent.
valy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2020, 12:22 PM   #4
DarrenH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 215
Default

Brilliant, thank you...I was thinking this is a custom action job but hadn't thought it through.

I added the additional action "vertical scroll selected tracks into view" to finish it off nicely.

thanks again



Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
By 'end of project' you mean after the current last track? If so you could make a custom action like this (needs SWS installed):

Custom: Insert track template at end of project
Track: Select all tracks
Xenakios/SWS: Select last of selected tracks
Track: Set first selected track as last touched track
Track: Insert track from template...
DarrenH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2020, 06:17 PM   #5
StrumminSteve
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Eastern shore Md, USA
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarrenH View Post
Brilliant, thank you...I was thinking this is a custom action job but hadn't thought it through.

I added the additional action "vertical scroll selected tracks into view" to finish it off nicely.

thanks again
Im interested in starting to customize these actions... where to start?..ie.. where is this pasted into? A plugin of sorts or in the Reaper programming? Plz advise... much appreciated thx
StrumminSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2020, 08:55 PM   #6
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrumminSteve View Post
Im interested in starting to customize these actions... where to start?..ie.. where is this pasted into? A plugin of sorts or in the Reaper programming? Plz advise... much appreciated thx
REAPER 5 Explained - 29. Actions
Starting at 7:00, talking about Custom Actions...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzg9...ROE2K-F4&t=417


This is REAPER 6 - Actions (Action List)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZ1I...Vki39&index=14

Last edited by Edgemeal; 10-23-2020 at 09:06 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 06:35 PM   #7
StrumminSteve
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Eastern shore Md, USA
Posts: 48
Default

Thanks. I didn't realize that was the area to do that. Appreciated!
StrumminSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 06:56 PM   #8
valy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1,088
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valy View Post
What annoys me is that it seems to often insert the template track as a child track, making the selected track the parent.
Responding to my own complaint, I had the realization that perhaps I saved the template while it was a child of some parent. I resaved the template with the track in the top-level position (same as the master track), and it doesn't seem to be creating tracks as children anymore when I use it.
valy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 03:59 PM   #9
DarrenH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 215
Default

That's great news...I had read your earlier post but couldn't recreate. I guess tracks store their child/parent states in the template.


Quote:
Originally Posted by valy View Post
Responding to my own complaint, I had the realization that perhaps I saved the template while it was a child of some parent. I resaved the template with the track in the top-level position (same as the master track), and it doesn't seem to be creating tracks as children anymore when I use it.
DarrenH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.