Old 07-12-2018, 02:07 PM   #1
typewriter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 526
Default v5.93rc2 - July 12 2018

v5.93rc2 - July 12 2018
+ Notation editor: properly adjust events when inserting notation messages in media items with nonzero start offset [t=208079]
# Automation Items: fix various snap behaviors
typewriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 04:29 PM   #2
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,104
Default

Quote:
# Automation Items: fix various snap behaviors
working right now I believe

automation items snapping to item edges and other automation items, head and tails, with and without grid visible 👍 👍
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 01:53 AM   #3
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,162
Default

Quick report. From Quicktime Prores, VLC 3 produces a green frame of nothing. VLC 2(easy install just like Reaper) produces a picture just fine.


Prores in Quicktime or MKV container. Same result. VLC 3 is off the table for me as long as that's the case.

To reproduce use TEncoder64 to produce a Quicktime or MKV container file with the ProRes codec(PROXY quality 15). I even upgraded my FFMPEG tools(4.01 shared x64 Zeranoe) for TEncoder, but that didn't help or break anything in TENcoder.

VLC 3.0.3 video item source properties:
Code:
Length: 1:42.895
Video: 720x404@24.10fps, Aspect=1.00, Decoding format=I420/YV12


Using VLC decoder (v3.0.x)
Video: 720x404, apcn, 24.10fps -- convert from I2AL

Loaded from: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC
From the Preferences/Video/Show available decoder information with VLC 3 being installed.

That first line looks interesting.
Code:
Current video frame: 128x64 'YV12' #1665

Available decoder information:

========== VLC ==========
VLC v3.0.x
Loaded from: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC

========== ffmpeg/libav ==========
ffmpeg/libav DLL decoder v57.107.100

Loaded from: C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\avcodec-57.dll
(snip)

And here's the source properties from VLC 2.2.8
Code:
Length: 1:42.895
Video: 720x404@23.98fps, Aspect=1.00, Decoding format=I420/YV12


Using VLC decoder (v2.2.x)
Video: 720x404, apcn, 23.98fps -- convert from I2AL

Loaded from: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC

From the Preferences/Video/Show available decoder information when VLC 2 is installed
Code:
Current video frame: 720x404 'YV12' #795

Available decoder information:

========== VLC ==========
VLC v2.2.x
Loaded from: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC

========== ffmpeg/libav ==========
ffmpeg/libav DLL decoder v57.107.100

Loaded from: C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\Plugins\avcodec-57.dll
(snip)
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 07-13-2018 at 02:13 AM.
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 02:01 AM   #4
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,301
Default

Confirmed! Had this result as well, but I suspected that ffmpeg created a faulty ProRes.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 02:15 AM   #5
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Confirmed! Had this result as well, but I suspected that ffmpeg created a faulty ProRes.

I checked in both VLC versions. It plays fine everywhere. I upgraded the FFMPEG encoder versions too. TEncoder64 uses shared builds in its own subdirectory. Same files. MOV or MKV container made no difference either.


Something's fishy on the Reaper side, since it reports a different frame size in the Prefs/Video/Show available decoder information as well when using VLC 3.

VLC 2 : 720x404 'YV12' #795
VLC 3 : 128x64 'YV12' #1665

Identical video file. Onscreen video window docked and same size.

All other ProRes files I tested show the same results, even those from Apple Compressor. All the stuff I get from studios just shows that identical green frame.

For example, a 1080p 23.976 file gets me
Code:
Current video frame: 128x64 'YV12' #1245
VLC3 reports the proper frame size in the item source properties.


Justin , I did try switching off the checkboxes in the video prefs for I420/YV12 and YUY2 colourspace output. Made no difference.
2.2.8 works fine and it's easy to install, so I'm not worried.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 07-13-2018 at 02:22 AM.
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 06:52 AM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,686
Default

Thanks, fixing!

Last edited by Justin; 07-13-2018 at 07:50 AM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 02:03 PM   #7
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,162
Default

v5.93rc3 - July 13 2018
# VLC3: fix colorspace conversions for ProRes
And this fixes it. I just checked with Quicktime and MKV Prores files from both TEncoder and another source (probably Apple Compressor), and it works great.

Thanks for the speedy fix.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 02:36 AM   #8
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 362
Default

Oh WOW !!! I can see a lot of performance difference when playing videos. While seeking the frame updates are very fast. Forward a bit and rewind a bit actually works very nicely !! (Which wasn't the case with previous versions)

Thank you so much for this...

Now maybe its the right time to have a tape machine style forward/rewind action ?
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 03:19 PM   #9
fetidus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svijayrathinam View Post
Oh WOW !!! I can see a lot of performance difference when playing videos. While seeking the frame updates are very fast. Forward a bit and rewind a bit actually works very nicely !! (Which wasn't the case with previous versions)

Thank you so much for this...

Now maybe its the right time to have a tape machine style forward/rewind action ?
I don't see a performance improvement with 3.0.3 on a very powerful DAW. It seems about the same on my system as 2.2.8. Maybe it's a driver/system difference between us though. That said, I wish Reaper+VLC were more responsive during seeking, there is just too much lag when compared to the Steinberg and Avid video engines. It's not terrible, but it's still more laggy for me than the other engines. I've tried various settings, but no improvement.
fetidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 03:50 PM   #10
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fetidus View Post
It's not terrible, but it's still more laggy for me than the other engines. I've tried various settings, but no improvement.
Yes, I agree. Unfortunately it's still laggier than any other DAW.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 04:04 PM   #11
fetidus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Yes, I agree. Unfortunately it's still laggier than any other DAW.
Well, maybe not *any* other DAW! :-) I'd put Studio One's video engine a full notch down from Reaper's.

But yes, Reaper's video engine responsiveness could use some love. I was hoping that VLC 3 would improve it for me, but alas, I can't tell a difference from VLC 2, at least on standard codecs I've tested.

Maybe there will be a difference with 4K footage, since supposedly VLC 3 has much better performance with hardware assist on those frame sizes. But as for typical codecs at 1080p and below, I don't see an improvement. And who wants to score/mix to 4K footage anyway? I'm perfectly happy scoring/mixing to 1080p or 720p. I just want SPEEEEEEEEED and responsiveness!
fetidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 04:21 PM   #12
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,301
Default

AFAIR, the S1 engine was still more responsive. I would have to check.

I'm not sure if this laggyness has anything to do with the used (external) engine. My feeling is, that it has to do with the timeline in Reaper.
When I load the exact same video and seek around in VLC, it feels completely responsive. No frame lags, I can just skip thru it with no hiccups.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 04:30 PM   #13
fetidus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
AFAIR, the S1 engine was still more responsive. I would have to check.

I'm not sure if this laggyness has anything to do with the used (external) engine. My feeling is, that it has to do with the timeline in Reaper.
When I load the exact same video and seek around in VLC, it feels completely responsive. No frame lags, I can just skip thru it with no hiccups.
The S1 video engine has a number of problems and limitations. The lagginess is hidden in part by its poor accessibility, not to mention that it doesn't support very many codecs, and it was not frame accurate for some codecs until recently, sadly.

But as for Reaper's lagginess, yes, you might be onto something about the timeline. I just wish Justin would spend some time on it to speed it up. One gets used to it though.
fetidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 04:33 PM   #14
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,301
Default

Quote:
But as for Reaper's lagginess, yes, you might be onto something about the timeline. I just wish Justin would spend some time on it to speed it up. One gets used to it though.
Yeah, I wish that, too! But I can understand it. There are so many things in Reaper he takes care of...
Let's just hope he got something for us in 6.0
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.