Old 06-23-2018, 12:27 PM   #1
nottos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Default Problems with Kontakt using Reaper

Well, i'm using Reaper v 5.91, and i downloaded Kontakt Player v 5.8.1 (free version of Kontakt) and his free library as well (Kontakt Factory Selection). So, in my default VST folder i've got 3 .dlls from Kontakt (Kontakt 5, Kontakt 8out and Kontakt 16out). And every time Reaper scans these 3 .dlls files, he keeps scanning it eternally and if i click somewhere, then Reaper crashes.But if i open Kontakt out of Reaper it works just fine.

PS: I already have reinstall Kontakt and Kontakt Factory Selection on the Native Access program (which is the program to manage the licenses for those free softwares).

PS 2: I also downloaded Guitar Rig Player and Reaper scans it normally and it works
nottos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 12:48 AM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,875
Default

In case Reaper can be launched without crashing **, try to do a [Clear cache/rescan] via Preferences > Plug-Ins > VST. Then restart Reaper afterwards.

** If that's not the case, you can try if the VST scan process can be skipped by holding the Shift-key while launching Reaper.


Otherwise try this:
  1. Temporarily move the 3 Kontakt .dll files to a different location (which is not part of Reaper's VST plugin path) so they don't get scanned
  2. Launch Reaper and do a [Clear cache/rescan] as mentioned above
  3. Then move the 3 Kontakt .dll files back to your default folder and see if it works now


By the way: what's the folder path of your default VST folder?


Quote:
I also downloaded Guitar Rig Player and Reaper scans it normally and it works
Just to clarify: is the Guitar Rig 5.dll plugin file in the same VST folder where the 3 Kontakt .dll files are?
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 05:08 AM   #3
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,257
Default

Also, where is the Kontakt library installed?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 08:28 AM   #4
nottos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Otherwise try this:
  1. Temporarily move the 3 Kontakt .dll files to a different location (which is not part of Reaper's VST plugin path) so they don't get scanned
  2. Launch Reaper and do a [Clear cache/rescan] as mentioned above
  3. Then move the 3 Kontakt .dll files back to your default folder and see if it works now
I did it and doesn't work, Reaper crashes


By the way: what's the folder path of your default VST folder?
Its C:/Program Files/Steinberg/VSTPlugins


Just to clarify: is the Guitar Rig 5.dll plugin file in the same VST folder where the 3 Kontakt .dll files are?
Yes man
nottos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 08:32 AM   #5
nottos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Also, where is the Kontakt library installed?
In the Windows Documents folder, just the default directory.
nottos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 01:07 PM   #6
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,875
Default

Just for testing purposes: does it make any difference when launching Reaper as admin (via Right-Click > Run as administrator)?


If this doesn't make any difference, I'd suggest to try the following next:

1a) In Reaper go to Options > Show REAPER resource path ...
1b) Or open the resource path (C:\USERS\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Reaper) directly in the Windows File Explorer

2) Delete the 'reaper-vstplugins64.ini' file in this folder
3) Restart Reaper
4) Maybe also do another [Clear cache/rescan], just in case


Otherwise try this:

1) Uninstall Kontakt (only the Kontakt Player - not the Factory Selection): https://support.native-instruments.c...ndows-Computer
2) Then use this tool to remove any 'Kontakt' entries from the registry: https://support.native-instruments.c...cts-on-Windows
3) Restart your computer afterwards and reinstall the Kontakt Player again via Native Access

Last edited by solger; 06-24-2018 at 01:14 PM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.