Old 01-07-2009, 05:38 PM   #1
Evan
Human being with feelings

Default How do you judge monitors?

I have very little experience with studio monitors, and never owned any myself.

A friend of mine got a pair of Tascams (VL-5A or something similar) for his (untreated) home studio. To my ears, there is very little bass, almost like there's a highpass from around 80Hz up. And the sound totally failed to impress me in terms of 'clarity' or 'detail' or anything I would expect from specialized monitor speakers.

The speaker placement (angle) was ok (unless you're being anal), they were a bit close to a wall and room corners. The room is a typical small livingroom with furniture and curtains, no other treatment. Also, we didn't put them loud, only at casual listening/low volumes.

I suspect my ears are not trained for what to look for in studio monitors. Maybe I am not used to neutral sound. So my question is, how do I go from here? What sound material would I put through the monitors to adjust and learn how to properly evaluate sound through them? Any tips?

Thanks.
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 05:58 PM   #2
medea

Listen to Dynaudio, ADAM or Genelec :-)
Old 01-07-2009, 07:15 PM   #3
Sanskrit

I think the best way to make a judgement about which monitors to buy is to first find a store, or stores, that offer lots of opportunities to listen to various makes and models side by side, or better yet lets you take them home for a demo. For my money the keys are thus:
1. Get speakers that are designed by a reputable company that make "studio monitors" like (as medea suggests) Genelec, Dynaudio, or Event, or Alesis or Fostex, or Westlake or Tannoy or Yamaha, or what-the-heck-ever. This should get you close to that notion of "neutral" or a "flat" frequency response -which is key.