Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2019, 04:49 AM   #1
Bluesh1ft
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Default What is the best way to add bars/measures into the middle of a song?

The way I do it seems kinda tedious. I have to take everything from the right side (or left depending whats easier ) and drag it over how many measures i want added. The thing is I cant see all 40+tracks at once on my screen so I end up having to do many tracks one at a time.

Is there a better way to go about this?

Thanks in advance.
Bluesh1ft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 05:17 AM   #2
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,545
Default

There's ripple editing and "Time selection: Insert empty space at time selection (moving later items)".
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 07:11 AM   #3
Bluesh1ft
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
There's ripple editing and "Time selection: Insert empty space at time selection (moving later items)".
Cool thanks, now to find a way to remove space without destroying items.
Bluesh1ft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 01:03 PM   #4
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 5,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluesh1ft View Post
Cool thanks, now to find a way to remove space without destroying items.
Try SWS cut items/tracks/env (obey time selection). The contents can be pasted somewhere else if you wanted to keep them.

Items don't get destroyed. In the project bay you can set whether they are removed from the project when deleting them in the arrange.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 02:08 PM   #5
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 6,067
Default

I would love if there was a way to right click over the arrange view and have all the ripple options for pasting and deleting right there without having to change modes. What say you guys ?
__________________
--- My favorite way to search for Reaper info: ---
http://cse.google.com/cse?cx=0024585...%3Anbhva-j9iic
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 07:12 PM   #6
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 5,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
I would love if there was a way to right click over the arrange view and have all the ripple options for pasting and deleting right there without having to change modes. What say you guys ?
Would be fairly easy to achieve with a contextual toolbar. I use loads of custom actions that turn on ripple and off again when they're done. I rarely need to touch the button.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 04:11 AM   #7
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 6,067
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Would be fairly easy to achieve with a contextual toolbar. I use loads of custom actions that turn on ripple and off again when they're done. I rarely need to touch the button.
I'm not familiar with that. So users can make their own contest menus?
__________________
--- My favorite way to search for Reaper info: ---
http://cse.google.com/cse?cx=0024585...%3Anbhva-j9iic
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 11:10 AM   #8
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 5,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
I'm not familiar with that. So users can make their own contest menus?
Not context menus, contextual toolbars (you can have a different one for most of clickable areas of the interface). Comes with SWS, just search actions list for "contextual toolbars." I find it a lot handier than menus since you can have more of them with fewer and contextually specific choices in each.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.