Old 10-10-2019, 10:31 AM   #1
Jasipi
Human being with feelings

Default How to open Mp4 video in Reaper?

I keep reading things about needing VLC or something but not how to use it with Reaper. I have Reaper and i have VLC, but now what? Drag'n'drop yields "could not import 1 of 1" and Open Media File gets an item that is offline.

I don't want to edit video or anything, i just want to use Reaper to put music to a film and that is all maybe using all that frames/tempo sync type of features. I've never worked with video before.

Thanks y'alls.
Jasipi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 11:24 AM   #2
Fabian

Check in Preferences > Video/REX/Misc that Reaper sees VLC. You click the "Show available decoder information" button. It should show something like this (I have Reaper portable install in P:\Reaper5):

Code:
Available decoder information:

========== VLC ==========
VLC v3.0.x
Loaded from: P:\REAPER5\VLC

========== ffmpeg/libav ==========
ffmpeg/libav DLL decoder v57.107.100

Loaded from: P:\REAPER5\Plugins\avcodec-57.dll
ffmpeg/libav configuration:

<and more>
Note that it is easy to download and install the 32-bit version VLC, which will not work with the 64-bit Reaper. And it was a bit tricky (at least when I did it last) to find the 64-bit version of VLC; but if you have 64-bit Reaper you must have the 64-bit VLC.

See here https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=168734
Old 10-10-2019, 01:07 PM   #3
Jasipi

Both Reaper and VLC are 64bit. Reaper says that the install path is not found, but it lists the correct install path. Actually it lists 2: HDD Programs/VLC and HDD Programs/REAPER/VLC. The former being the correct path i guess.

Could it have something to do with having installed VLC on a HDD that is not my C drive?
Old 10-10-2019, 02:05 PM   #4
Fabian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasipi View Post