Old 01-09-2018, 08:44 AM   #1
pmarinomusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default Reaper affects system audio?

Hi all.

Quick question, I hope. I'm running Reaper through a Focusrite Clarett 4Pre on an iMac. For some reason, when I launch Reaper, the audio in other apps changes. As an example, right now with Reaper running, a YouTube video on Firefox (and on Chrome) runs with the audio at a higher pitch than it should, as if the playback speed has increased slightly. If I close Reaper, and then load a new YouTube video, it eventually goes back to normal. This doesn't happen when I run a project in Studio One 3.5, so it seems to be an issue that starts in Reaper, not the Focusrite. It's very odd... Any ideas?

Thanks,
-Philip
pmarinomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 08:49 AM   #2
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 683
Default

Check Preferences/Audio/Close audio device when stopped and application is inactive is active
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 08:50 AM   #3
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 683
Default

BTW is this Phil Marino of "Days Like These"?
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 08:52 AM   #4
pmarinomusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncleswede View Post
Check Preferences/Audio/Close audio device when stopped and application is inactive is active
That was unchecked. It's now checked and that seems to have fixed it. Thanks so much!
pmarinomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 08:53 AM   #5
pmarinomusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncleswede View Post
BTW is this Phil Marino of "Days Like These"?
It is... Who are you?
pmarinomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 09:16 AM   #6
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmarinomusic View Post
Hi all.

Quick question, I hope. I'm running Reaper through a Focusrite Clarett 4Pre on an iMac. For some reason, when I launch Reaper, the audio in other apps changes. As an example, right now with Reaper running, a YouTube video on Firefox (and on Chrome) runs with the audio at a higher pitch than it should, as if the playback speed has increased slightly. If I close Reaper, and then load a new YouTube video, it eventually goes back to normal. This doesn't happen when I run a project in Studio One 3.5, so it seems to be an issue that starts in Reaper, not the Focusrite. It's very odd... Any ideas?

Thanks,
-Philip
Sounds like Reaper had core audio in focus and a sample rate request from the media player (Youtube) didn't get through. So Youtube just kept going anyway assuming a different sample rate. Hence wrong speed playback.

If you want youtube audio running concurrently with Reaper (and the ability to record it into Reaper and so forth), have everything use the same sample rate. Audio with video is often 48k.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 10:51 AM   #7
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 683
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmarinomusic View Post
It is... Who are you?
Colin of "Futureland" & "Still Waters" ;-)
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 10:59 AM   #8
pmarinomusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncleswede View Post
Colin of "Futureland" & "Still Waters" ;-)
Hah! Hope you're well. Thanks again for the help.
pmarinomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.