Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Old 03-07-2018, 08:22 AM   #1
Cup
Human being with feelings

Default can't delete problem VST cos it's stuck open in host32

This is my first post. I'm sorry it's long - I've tried to break it down.

I had two questions, but one I've just solved, so editing to help others. The 2nd q remains interesting.

1 - I wanted to delete a DLL for a crash-prone VST, but when I went to file manager and tried, it told me it was open in Reaper_host32.exe. I wondered how to close host32 in order to make the file deletable. I've discovered that turning the PC off and back on releases it for deletion. Just closing Reaper doesn't.

2 - I've been using Reaper for about a year. I'm a non-technical musician doing home demos and mixing. I wanted a version of the John Lennon vocal sound, the one that appears on the Rock n Roll album. So I downloaded three or four delays from VSTs 4 free, plus the ADT that used to be offered by Vacuumsound, and which is now only available as a heritage download from some other place.

I loaded an old project in order to A/B the various FX on the vocal. I first tried ADT. I can't remember if it was then, or as I worked through the others, but Reaper started crashing. The mouse arrow would turn into the blue circle for a bit, an error message would appear, and then after a while the song would carry on along the timeline but with no sound (neither out loud nor any colourful lights on the track indicators). I closed, reopened, it worked for a minute, it went wrong again. Many times.

I checked these forums and found some near miss threads, which improved my understanding, but did not solve the problem.

Here is a sample error message pop-up:

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
X Runtime Error!
Program: C:\Program Files\Reaper(x64)\Plugins\reaper_host32.exe
R6025
- pure virtual function call