Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 10-03-2019, 05:20 AM   #1
The Utter East
Human being with feelings

Default Looking for a quicker way to load a track template - scripts?

So I've got a track pre-set up with EQ and High and Low shelves. Since most tracks require these things I think it'll be easier to start with them loaded, and then remove (or just leave zeroed) if not required.

I've saved the FX Chain, I've saved the track as a template, and I've set up an action to load a track template, but I can't find any way to open that specific track template with just one button. I can't find a way to load an FX chain with an action at all.

Is it possible to write a script to do this? A quick look through the documentation doesn't suggest to me that it is, but I'm far from an expert when it comes to such things.
The Utter East is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 06:10 AM   #2
Michael AD

I just right-click, choose load track template, and I am given a choice of all my saved track templates, including some that may have an FX chain.

Why do you need an action?
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 06:24 AM   #3
Edgemeal

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Utter East View Post
I can't find a way to load an FX chain with an action at all.
Open FX Browser window, Select 'FX Chain' folder in left column, in right column right-click a FX Chain and select Create Shortcut from menu, if you only interested in adding the chain as a toolbar button then just close the dialog. You'll now have a new action in the Actions window, these are named "Insert FX chain: NAME OF CHAIN HERE". You can now add the actin to a toolbar button or whatever you want.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 07:52 AM   #4
The Utter East

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael AD View Post
Why do you need an action?
Because it's quicker. All the little things you can do quicker add up to better workflow.