Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS

Old 04-08-2014, 08:53 AM   #1
Gypsysinger
Human being with feelings

Default Hello and a little plugin help please

Hi everyone, I'm new to the DAW world and figuring out how all this stuff works. I figured Reaper would be a great place to start and wow was I right. Basically, if I can think of it....there seems to be a way to do it. MAJOR thanks to everyone at cockos for this fantastic program!

Now, I'm just getting into adding plugins and I have two questions right off the bat.
FYI: I'm running Reaper 4.61/64 on a Macbook Pro

1. I'm using Reaper's default directory Library/Audio/Plug-ins/VST to install my plugins which works fine if they are in VST format but when I get a plugin as a *.dmg file and unpack it in this folder the plugin "disappears". There are no files anywhere that I can find no matter what search string I use. Here's the weird part, when I tell Reaper to auto-detect, it actually finds them and uses them but I would really like to know where my computer has (in all it's computerly wisdom) put these files so I can keep track of them in the future. Anybody know the answer?

2. I was installing the ThrillseekerLA.dll plugin in the Library/Audio/Plug-ins/VST folder but Reaper doesn't even "see" it. Auto-detect and Re-scan don't work. Anybody know what's going on with this one? I searched for dll but I don't see anything on the forum.

That's it for now except to say a huge thank you to YEP for the now infamous WDYRSLA thread that finally made me believe I could do this (Smurf for taking the time to catalog it all) and Kenny Gioia for explaining how to do it over at Groove 3.

I look forward to posting my first mix for everyone to hear and criticize (creatively I hope)

Cheers!
Old 04-08-2014, 11:05 AM   #2
Sinner