Old 03-05-2021, 01:53 PM   #1
David_Music
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Default I'm having issues sidechaining

Hi guys,

this is my first post here, I usually find answers to my questions from previous threads on here or on tutorials, but I'm sort of stumped on this one.

I'm trying to do side chain compression, where my synth sound ducks when the kick is triggered.

both of these tracks are midi notes, aka they are not waveforms/audio on the track.

This is what I do, as demonstrated in a heap of video tuts I've watched:

1. I send the kick track to the synth track, (setting it up as a sidechain, so it's 1/2->3/4) and then

2. add reacomp as an FX to the synth track

3. change the detector input on reacomp to Aux L+R, and then adjust my comp settings as desired.

in my FX chain on the synth I have it ordered like this:
Synth VST plugin
ReaComp


According to the tutorials I've watched, this should result in the synth ducking out when the kick drum plays, however it will not work for me. the compressor doesn't show to be doing anything... but here's the weird thing (at least I think it's weird)... when I initially set the threshold on my compressor, it will show that it's doing something, just for that split second that I've clicked on it. but then after that it does nothing. I don't understand what I'm doing wrong.

I read that by setting the midi in the routing from all -> all to none -> none it would fix the issue, but that hasn't. I feel like I've tried everything and it's just not working...

I've tried doing this with straight up audio tracks, aka no midi, and it works fine.

I've attached an image showing my settings etc.


Hopefully someone can pick up on some mistake I'm making and help me with this!

Many thanks and best wishes,

David
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled-1.jpg (53.5 KB, 37 views)

Last edited by David_Music; 03-05-2021 at 05:27 PM. Reason: added a screenshot
David_Music is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 02:18 PM   #2
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 2,371
Default

Where is the actual kick sound coming from?
Stella645 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 03:39 PM   #3
David_Music
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella645 View Post
Where is the actual kick sound coming from?
I'm using East West Goliath VST and then the midi notes trigger the kick sound from this
David_Music is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 04:35 PM   #4
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David_Music View Post
I'm using East West Goliath VST and then the midi notes trigger the kick sound from this
and the side chain trigger is coming from the (audio) track of Goliath, rather than the MIDI track (if there is a separate one)?
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 05:16 PM   #5
David_Music
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
and the side chain trigger is coming from the (audio) track of Goliath, rather than the MIDI track (if there is a separate one)?
there is no separate track, the midi and audio of the trigger are on the same track, sent into the midi and audio of the second track. I hope this answered your question.

I put a screenshot that might be helpful on the OP.

Last edited by David_Music; 03-05-2021 at 05:27 PM. Reason: added attachment to original post.
David_Music is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2021, 04:47 PM   #6
dahya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 123
Default

I am getting exactly the same problem, just installed the 6.25 update today. I think I know how to set up a side chain using ReaComp, done it loads of times before, drag from the routing from one track to ReaComp on another track. Then set ReaComp to Aux L/R.....sidechain doesn't work anymore, I can hear the track that is being sent on the destination track when I shouldn't do !!

Is this a bug or something?

Can anyone else try and see if sidechaining is broken ?
dahya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2021, 05:08 PM   #7
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dahya View Post
Can anyone else try and see if sidechaining is broken ?
working fine for me (on win 7 64bit)
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2021, 05:10 PM   #8
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dahya View Post
I can hear the track that is being sent on the destination track when I shouldn't do !!
check that "preview filter" isn't ticked
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2021, 05:51 PM   #9
dahya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domzy View Post
check that "preview filter" isn't ticked
Thanks for checking - I had a look at Preview Filter (I never even look at it usually !), and it's not ticked. I don't understand it as it's so easy usually !
dahya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2021, 06:26 AM   #10
David_Music
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Hey guys, just to give an update. I never figured out how to do this with the midi tracks. my workaround was to apply FX and render the midi to audio, and then do the sidechain that way. It works fine when it's just a straight up audio track like that but it would be nice to figure out how to do it without having to render it to audio for flexibility if I wanted to change the midi later on etc without having to keep rendering it each time.

Cheers for any input so far and any more to come!
David_Music is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2021, 08:22 AM   #11
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,799
Default

Are you sure that the synth on the track with ReaComp isn’t overwriting channels 3/4? The send hits the track before the plugins, so if the plugins have output on 3/4 (even if they’re putting out silence) it will replace the signal coming in from the send before it reaches the compressor. Open the plugin pins for the synth and untuck they 3/4 outputs.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 08:20 PM   #12
MonkeyBars
Human being with feelings
 
MonkeyBars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hollyweird
Posts: 428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
Are you sure that the synth on the track with ReaComp isn’t overwriting channels 3/4? The send hits the track before the plugins, so if the plugins have output on 3/4 (even if they’re putting out silence) it will replace the signal coming in from the send before it reaches the compressor. Open the plugin pins for the synth and untuck they 3/4 outputs.
Not a bug. My synth (Surge) just had 3/4 on its outputs on by default.

Last edited by MonkeyBars; 04-06-2021 at 08:27 PM.
MonkeyBars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 08:25 PM   #13
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,799
Default

I very much doubt it. Those channels are being blocked in FX chain somewhere. Uncheck the channel 3/4 output pins on the synth plugin.

Edit - Or else you have feedback loop.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 08:28 PM   #14
MonkeyBars
Human being with feelings
 
MonkeyBars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hollyweird
Posts: 428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
I very much doubt it. Those channels are being blocked in FX chain somewhere. Uncheck the channel 3/4 output pins on the synth plugin.

Edit - Or else you have feedback loop.
Wow, you're quick! I edited my post and you're absolutely right. Thanks!
MonkeyBars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 08:42 PM   #15
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,799
Default

Oh I just happened to drop in at the right time, I guess. Notice, I edited my reply to cover my ass in case you came back and said "I already did that".

Glad you got it sorted.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.