Old 05-16-2015, 12:39 AM   #81
syntetic
Human being with feelings
 
syntetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 160
Default

or it would be quite good to have option to hide effect types/vendors,
when there are many plug-ins, me confuses a few such amount of text in plugin list for add fx.

Last edited by syntetic; 08-10-2015 at 03:14 AM.
syntetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016, 07:04 PM   #82
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In a home
Posts: 2,824
Default

This is EASILY one of the most unattractive, annoying, and redundant oversights in Reaper today. I am so tired of not being able to just type a letter and jump to a plugin, nope! They are all "V" as in VSTs!!!!!!!!! So much text in the FX window, ugh. How many more years until it gets cleaned up? LOL
It makes reaper look so immature and childish imho. But I'm sure people will say "uh it's no big deal bro just deal with it it's not broken".

Because, Reaper.

SEVEN YEARS and counting....seriously?
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 07:03 AM   #83
OPI
Human being with feelings
 
OPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,875
Default

Is there a poll for this?
OPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 12:47 AM   #84
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,957
Default

Couldn't we have some sortable columns for plugin type, vendor, comments, rating etc instead of these mandatory prefixes?

These annoying prefixes have really been bothering me lately; often hard to find a plugin when large lists are not completely alphabetical.

Please, Cockos, remove these cumbersome name prefixes from the fx browser and fx add menus, etc...
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 06:18 AM   #85
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In a home
Posts: 2,824
Default

I wish we could just type a letter and have search jump to the plugins of that letter. You know, like every other program out there

They are all "V" lol for VST oh brother
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:38 AM   #86
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,676
Default

I still find the customization options a bit limiting in this window. The only way I get to plugins is by typing them...

and that's annoying because I already need to know what im looking for - no browsing for options
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 12:26 PM   #87
OPI
Human being with feelings
 
OPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,875
Default

Please... I feel like I'm looking at DOS everytime I open the fx browser
OPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 03:51 PM   #88
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In a home
Posts: 2,824
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OPI View Post
Please... I feel like I'm looking at DOS everytime I open the fx browser
going on 7 years now totally ignored. ugly and foolish looking.

clinging to xp and vegas 1.0. le sigh.

literally one of the easiest things to program is an option to make this prefix visible or not.
(if it was a priority i mean)
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 03:18 PM   #89
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 350
Default

Bump for this.

2017 and prefixes are still there. They are redundant and annoying ... anyway WyattRice's approach might be the best solution #38

Evildragon, why isn't this in Feature Request?

Last edited by Vagalume; 01-19-2017 at 03:38 PM.
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 07:29 PM   #90
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,957
Default

Fer fuck's sake yes, yes and GODDAMMIT YESSSS!! Can't even rely on alphabetical order to find plugs because of this obligatory categorical nonsense!

But since this is clearly not getting any of the devs' limited love supply, why don't we just come up with a new system that could potentially waken the excitement of the sleeping giants?

My suggestion would be: Plugin thumbnail view. Would be so much quicker to just find a pic of the plug you've looked at a thousand times. Would also love to see them sorted by use count. And it's even in line with the OP title...
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 09:00 PM   #91
dea-man
Human being with feelings
 
dea-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Fer fuck's sake yes, yes and GODDAMMIT YESSSS!! Can't even rely on alphabetical order to find plugs because of this obligatory categorical nonsense!

But since this is clearly not getting any of the devs' limited love supply, why don't we just come up with a new system that could potentially waken the excitement of the sleeping giants?

My suggestion would be: Plugin thumbnail view. Would be so much quicker to just find a pic of the plug you've looked at a thousand times. Would also love to see them sorted by use count. And it's even in line with the OP title...
That would be "Sofa King" awesome!
__________________
Please check out my REAPER produced music here: http://soundcloud.com/dea-man
dea-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 12:44 AM   #92
morgon
Human being with feelings
 
morgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 'straya
Posts: 7,968
Default

The fx browser totally ruined my last hit record. I tried opening it at 192 samples but no improvement [though several others present at the time of testing were adamant they could discern a difference]

Is there a plugin to fix this? I asked an audio guy and he told me to get REA-AL but I haven't been able to find it anywhere...
morgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 12:48 AM   #93
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,894
Default

Morgon: Nail on head.
Lowellbein: At the risk of repeating myself, STOP repeating yourself.


__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 05:55 AM   #94
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In a home
Posts: 2,824
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
Morgon: Nail on head.
Lowellbein: At the risk of repeating myself, STOP repeating yourself.


ok
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 07:00 PM   #95
DarkFlameSquirrel
Human being with feelings
 
DarkFlameSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Texas
Posts: 34
Default

Whenever I vote yes on this FR it just throws an error 500. Ummmm?
Edit: I tried voting yes on another FR and it did the same thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Couldn't we have some sortable columns for plugin type, vendor, comments, rating etc instead of these mandatory prefixes?
I'm a recent FL convert and as thrilled as I am with everything else in Reaper, the plugin manager is most definitely one of the low points of this DAW in comparison to the DAW I came from.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OPI View Post
Please... I feel like I'm looking at DOS everytime I open the fx browser
Lmao ^ this
__________________
VSTi Metal | Vocal Synths | Shreddage 2 Fanboy

DarkFlameSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 08:27 AM   #96
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In a home
Posts: 2,824
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkFlameSquirrel View Post
Whenever I vote yes on this FR it just throws an error 500. Ummmm?
Edit: I tried voting yes on another FR and it did the same thing.



I'm a recent FL convert and as thrilled as I am with everything else in Reaper, the plugin manager is most definitely one of the low points of this DAW in comparison to the DAW I came from.



Lmao ^ this
Yup. Try right clicking on the FX button on a track from the TCP and go to a folder with lots of entries in it. You can't even type the first letter of the plugin to "jump" down to it ffs. Because, all plugins of course begin with V for VST. So you have to scroll hover wait and wait to get to the letter you want. Lame. Other programs, just type a letter, boom jump to letter.

Winning.
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 02:25 PM   #97
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,993
Default

wow...still no attention from the devs on this?
seriously :X
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 08:11 AM   #98
_jon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 40
Default

+1 please give us the option to disable it!
_jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 11:17 PM   #99
earforce
Human being with feelings
 
earforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 87
Default

+1 from me, it bothers me every day I work with REAPER
no attention on this very hot and long time requested feature from the devs. A lot nonsense features have been realised in the meanwhile. Why not this, can't be a big thing.
__________________
prima-audio.de
earforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 07:55 AM   #100
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by earforce View Post
Why not this, can't be a big thing.
That's a dangerous phrase to say to a developer.

Sometimes the most innocuous front-facing changes can be a ridiculously complex undertaking on the backend.

Then again... this shouldn't be that hard
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts every weekend.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 08:26 AM   #101
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,867
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Randolph View Post
That's a dangerous phrase to say to a developer.

Sometimes the most innocuous front-facing changes can be a ridiculously complex undertaking on the backend.
Absolutely. However, I think this is spending a lot of time on a tiny nitpick that could be time better served elsewhere. Secondly, the way my docking is setup, the left pane is often scrolled in such away that having these here are helpful.

karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 08:27 AM   #102
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Absolutely. However, I think this is spending a lot of time on a tiny nitpick that could be time better served elsewhere. Secondly, the way my docking is setup, the left pane is often scrolled in such away that having these here are helpful.

Surely it'll end up being an option...

Everything in REAPER is an option
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts every weekend.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 08:33 AM   #103
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,867
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Randolph View Post
Surely it'll end up being an option...

Everything in REAPER is an option
Yea, that's a never-ending always growing family tree problem too IMHO. There are options for stuff few or no one ever uses because the original passionate users who demanded are long gone. I can't tell what they are off hand but my point is I've been here long enough to see multiple, very passionate users present, discuss, demand, get features as options, then disappear, then years later we are explaining why that poorly named, wtf choice is what it is. IOW, by the time we get to some saturation point of nitpicks being options the returns diminish.

At some point so many things will be optional you might as well compile reaper yourself.

/embellished rant

Last edited by karbomusic; 10-19-2018 at 08:41 AM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 04:28 AM   #104
earforce
Human being with feelings
 
earforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Randolph View Post
That's a dangerous phrase to say to a developer.
I say that, cause I am a programmer myself. But in general you're right. Mostly, things a user thinks "only a small task for the programmer" it is a big issue and vice versa.
__________________
prima-audio.de
earforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 07:00 AM   #105
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,162
Default

I'd much rather want to see icons instead text for the plugin type. See Studio One.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 08:48 AM   #106
dea-man
Human being with feelings
 
dea-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I'd much rather want to see icons instead text for the plugin type. See Studio One.
Yup! That would be pretty cool!
__________________
Please check out my REAPER produced music here: http://soundcloud.com/dea-man
dea-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 02:12 PM   #107
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I'd much rather want to see icons instead text for the plugin type. See Studio One.
that's for sure!

it seems that the GUI part of reaper is growing really slow and that's too bad because lots of my friends don't use reaper only because its GUI very lame compare to other DAWs which give them more inspiration. :/
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 02:46 PM   #108
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I'd much rather want to see icons instead text for the plugin type. See Studio One.
Yeah, it would be much easier to distinguish between VST and VST3. What about JS? Also plugins' snapshots view in FX browser is also very welcomed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 07:23 AM   #109
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 739
Default

If the tags disappeared altogether I'd be happy, and so would my two independent alphabetically sorted VST & VST3 plugins...



But, for distinction, why not move it after the name "FabFilter Pro-Q3 (vst3)"
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 08:40 AM   #110
Tomm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,074
Default

I was gonna say you can just rename plugins, but it doesn't work and the prefix stays...


but from this I found a sorta bug: if you rename a (Cockos) plugin to something without "(Cockos)" in it, it disappears from the cockos filter... similarly, if you rename any other plugin and include "(Cockos)" in it, it apppears in the cockos category

seems like they might wanna fix that and not use names for the predefined category filtration?
Tomm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 09:06 PM   #111
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,793
Default

I like the idea of no leading "vst" text
Without it it feels like you are being handed a delicacy,
An individual selection if you will, a special moment and quality gift.

With "VST" it just feels damp somehow.


Grinder
grinder is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.