Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2024, 03:31 AM   #1
alanlaw87
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 2
Default wasapi sharedloopback with vocal input

hi,

i am new to reaper and i want to get this issue fixed before purchasing the software. I am trying to record computer sound coming from youtube and at the same time able to add my own vocal to the track. the device that i am using is a

Yamaha ag03 mk2.

My computer system is able to detect my audio device. I am able to record only from sounds coming out from my computer system(youtube) when i try to use my condenser mic to record my vocal at the same time it is not working.

i have included some images of what my setting is. Really appreciate if someone would tell me what setup is wrong on my end.
Attached Images
File Type: png sound setting.PNG (138.2 KB, 18 views)
File Type: gif reaper audio device.gif (251.2 KB, 17 views)
alanlaw87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2024, 09:06 AM   #2
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,801
Default

I'm not sure wasapi works for this as it's not multi channel.

You may need a third party virtual audio router like voicemeeter.
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2024, 09:19 AM   #3
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,439
Default

Quote:

In loopback mode, a WASAPI client can capture the audio stream played by a rendering endpoint device.
th driver has to support this.

you record what your sound device is playing. so you have to feed it with the youtube and your mic signal, afaik before the REAPER.

i use the shared looback often to get audio direct from websites. turning the v olume down on REAPERs output is a good advice then.


you can try the asio4all, that can aggregate inputs. or the bananas
voicemeter and there is jack(d2) (*) that may run on your system, i never entered this ladder.
(*) yes, jack for windows
__________________
ds drums tedious REAPER stufflistenLV2Search in Forumwalk
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2024, 09:23 AM   #4
King Stupid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1,312
Default

As others mentioned, I believe ASIO4ALL is the one youre going to need, or if you have a Creative card, the Creative ASIO may work.
__________________
Tell us your hardware and setup. Show us your Options > Preferences > Device screen.
Nearly human, with very few feelings.
King Stupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2024, 09:57 AM   #5
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,439
Default

i apologize for the jack thing.

jack does run in windows but to get the routings done without using asio (and here the jackrouter) besides of reaper is challenging if not impossible.
__________________
ds drums tedious REAPER stufflistenLV2Search in Forumwalk
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2024, 10:09 AM   #6
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post

you can try the asio4all, that can aggregate inputs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Stupid View Post
As others mentioned, I believe ASIO4ALL is the one youre going to need,
Can you explain how ASIO4all can work with YT audio....it can aggregate inputs but I don't see how it works to record the system audio??
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2024, 11:08 AM   #7
Sid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 564
Default

"at the same time able to add my own vocal to the track. "

Why not record the web audio first and record your voice on a second pass? Since you might want to comp your vocals later anyway, don't see the point.

Anyhow, to do what you want, there is this plugin that listens to wasapi without you having to change your reaper settings. Set the track to record output (and uncheck sending to Master), while you set up the other track to record your microphone as usual.

https://www.birdsthings.com/system-audio-bridge
__________________
Reaper v6.81 Windows 10

Last edited by Sid; 07-10-2024 at 07:29 AM.
Sid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2024, 08:43 PM   #8
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,439
Default

yes audiobridge works
tracking
  • - select wasapi shared mode
  • - lower masterfader or put a headset on to separate in and output, use headphones
  • - start the youtube
  • - one track with the audio-bridge-plugin set to record output in stereo may be you disable send to master, input meters will jump, set it to recarm
  • - create another track for the mic, input as needed, maybe monitor off, separate the mic input from the youtube audio that propbly will hear via your speakers / headphone
  • - recarmed both and record, the "youtube track" will rec the yoututbe audio , the mictrack the mic

for playing it back you have to disable the audio-bridge-plugin and recheck the master-sends you propably have disabed while tracking

and yes asio4all won't do a good job here
__________________
ds drums tedious REAPER stufflistenLV2Search in Forumwalk

Last edited by bobobo; 07-09-2024 at 08:53 PM.
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2024, 02:22 AM   #9
alanlaw87
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella645 View Post
I'm not sure wasapi works for this as it's not multi channel.

You may need a third party virtual audio router like voicemeeter.
hi stella, i have downloaded the voice meter software but i am not sure how to route it to record youtube and vocal with my audio interfere yamaha ag03 mk2. can you explain how to set it up
alanlaw87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2024, 03:53 AM   #10
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanlaw87 View Post
hi stella, i have downloaded the voice meter software but i am not sure how to route it to record youtube and vocal with my audio interfere yamaha ag03 mk2. can you explain how to set it up
Honestly....The above mentioned audio-bridge looks like a simpler solution.

But if you want to continue with Voicemeeter search some videos for how to set up....this one for example though it's not reaper specific.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m6rp9lkiFBU
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2024, 05:46 AM   #11
King Stupid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post
yes audiobridge works
tracking
  • - select wasapi shared mode
  • - lower masterfader or put a headset on to separate in and output, use headphones
  • - start the youtube
  • - one track with the audio-bridge-plugin set to record output in stereo may be you disable send to master, input meters will jump, set it to recarm
  • - create another track for the mic, input as needed, maybe monitor off, separate the mic input from the youtube audio that propbly will hear via your speakers / headphone
  • - recarmed both and record, the "youtube track" will rec the yoututbe audio , the mictrack the mic

for playing it back you have to disable the audio-bridge-plugin and recheck the master-sends you propably have disabed while tracking

and yes asio4all won't do a good job here
Yeah I'm sorry, Iw as confusing it with the weird creative asio "whatuhear" "feature"
__________________
Tell us your hardware and setup. Show us your Options > Preferences > Device screen.
Nearly human, with very few feelings.
King Stupid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.