Old 04-16-2017, 11:25 AM   #1
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default Show/Hide Monitoring FX Toggle

In the view menu there is no ✓ beside Show Monitoring FX Chain. No way to toggle unlike the other windows in the menu.

in the action list there is no action to toggle or hide monitoring fx chain.

I want to assign show/hide to a button on MIDI controller but I have to use a mouse or load a screenset to close it instead of pressing the button again.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 05:39 AM   #2
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 2,065
Default

I was also just looking for a solution to this. I simply want a button that will toggle the visibility of the monitoring FX chain.

Better yet, one that will toggle just a single floating plugin window and remember the screen placement.

I have a semi-decent solution now but sometimes it seems to require some additional management and I can't figure out why.
__________________
REAPER, just script it bro.
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 02:09 PM   #3
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default

Google brought me back here with the same question months later.


I'm launching the monitoring fx chain from web remote, best I can think of for closing it is to hide all dockers but that's not ideal.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 04:27 PM   #4
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 7,239
Default

"Esc" key closes the monitor FX chain for me. But the focus has to be on it first.
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 06:03 PM   #5
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

Just made these. Don't know if all bases covered...

Code:
// toggle monitor fx window.eel

mt = GetMastertrack(0);
TrackFX_GetRecChainVisible(mt) == (-1) ? (
  Main_OnCommand(41882, 0); // show
):(
  TrackFX_Show(mt, 0x1000000, 0); // hide
);

function noundo() (abs(0));
defer("noundo()");
Code:
// hide monitor fx window.eel

TrackFX_Show(GetMastertrack(0), 0x1000000, 0);

function noundo() (abs(0));
defer("noundo()");
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 06:33 PM   #6
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default

Working great THANKS!
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 07:08 PM   #7
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

You're welcome.

It seems like I read before that there was supposed to be some undo handling (undo point) for closing an fx window, but I don't see any point being created when closing monitor fx with [X] button or changing screenset, so I made it to not create a point...well it's not part of any one project I guess.

Last edited by FnA; 11-04-2017 at 07:15 PM.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 08:33 PM   #8
RJHollins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,161
Default

Question

How do we add these .eel files into Reaper ?

How are they called?

thx
RJHollins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 09:15 PM   #9
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

Starting to have some second thoughts. This must affect something globally because it's not tied to a project. I don't have any specific reason to worry, but might be a good time to back up your config, since these have not been tested much and there hasn't been much time for many gurus to stop by. Maybe it was easy for a reason. lol.

So anyway, RJ, you can use your Action List. Click [new] by ReaScript. You have to give it a name with a .eel extension at the end. I copied the name.eel I used to the top of the script after the // which you DO NOT put in the script name. It just makes text which follows be a "comment," not code to be executed. Copy all the text in the code: box in the forum post to it. Save it. It will run once when you push Control+S. then it is in your Action List after a "Script:" prefix. If you come across .eel or .lua files directly you can add them to the REAPER Scripts folder. These will end up there too.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 08:20 AM   #10
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRMJP View Post
I was also just looking for a solution to this. I simply want a button that will toggle the visibility of the monitoring FX chain.

Better yet, one that will toggle just a single floating plugin window and remember the screen placement.

I have a semi-decent solution now but sometimes it seems to require some additional management and I can't figure out why.
That should be doable with similar method. Probably by index would be easiest. Maybe by name, but you would have to check that and edit it yourself. Index ok? I would just post one with a user editable variable at the top.

Probably just being paranoid about some danger here. The 0x1000000 thing is mentioned for a few track fx functions. Mostly the type that gets info. Seems they would figure people would want to use that information. To bypass, adjust parameters...close windows...

I see there is some information in hwoutfx.ini that looks like track chunk stuff from rpp...
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 08:28 AM   #11
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 4,937
Default

The two scripts above seems perfectly safe to me. 0x1000000 is just the index of the first FX in the monitoring chain for all TrackFX_* functions when used on the master track since v5.16.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 09:17 AM   #12
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

Thank you!

It seems there might be a fair amount of interest in these, which might make it a good candidate for ReaTeam?

I was pleasantly surprised that it will close an empty chain when calling 0x1000000
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 10:23 AM   #13
RJHollins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FnA View Post
So anyway, RJ, you can use your Action List. Click [new] by ReaScript. You have to give it a name with a .eel extension at the end. I copied the name.eel I used to the top of the script after the // which you DO NOT put in the script name. It just makes text which follows be a "comment," not code to be executed. Copy all the text in the code: box in the forum post to it. Save it. It will run once when you push Control+S. then it is in your Action List after a "Script:" prefix. If you come across .eel or .lua files directly you can add them to the REAPER Scripts folder. These will end up there too.
Thanks FnA !
RJHollins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 10:54 AM   #14
fundorin
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 554
Default

Why?
fundorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 02:44 PM   #15
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default

"Show monitoring FX" is not a toggle. it only opens the window

"FX Toggle Bypass" turns it on or off.


I want to open it when I want, and close it when I want without going through a menu.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 03:18 PM   #16
fundorin
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 554
Default

I'm using toolbar buttons to bypass and show monitoring FX window.
And it's fine for me to close this window by pressing "x" in the top corner, like with any other window in Reaper.
fundorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 03:28 PM   #17
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fundorin View Post
I'm using toolbar buttons to bypass and show monitoring FX window.
And it's fine for me to close this window by pressing "x" in the top corner, like with any other window in Reaper.
uhh good for you ? I don't want to argue. FNA's scripts solved the problem for me.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2021, 05:58 PM   #18
rotkäppchen
Human being with feelings
 
rotkäppchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FnA View Post
Just made these. Don't know if all bases covered...

Code:
// toggle monitor fx window.eel

mt = GetMastertrack(0);
TrackFX_GetRecChainVisible(mt) == (-1) ? (
  Main_OnCommand(41882, 0); // show
):(
  TrackFX_Show(mt, 0x1000000, 0); // hide
);

function noundo() (abs(0));
defer("noundo()");
How would one change the code to run the script for the currently selected track? Tinkered around with "GetSelectedTrack" instead of "GetMastertrack" and "tr" instead of "mt" but didn't get it to work error-free.

Last edited by rotkäppchen; 11-07-2021 at 06:04 PM.
rotkäppchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2022, 12:56 PM   #19
Vueaou
Human being with feelings
 
Vueaou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rotkäppchen View Post
How would one change the code to run the script for the currently selected track? Tinkered around with "GetSelectedTrack" instead of "GetMastertrack" and "tr" instead of "mt" but didn't get it to work error-free.
Have u got the script?
Im join the desired script to toggle current selected FX Chain.
Vueaou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.