Old 04-17-2018, 01:21 AM   #1
Diego
Human being with feelings
 
Diego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy and... world
Posts: 123
Default Tablet as a second monitor

Hi all, I would like to use a tablet (cheap one since I don't need many of tablet features) as a second monitor to control plugins and VSTi. Do you have any experience about (how do you connect your PC and tablet, wich app do you use and so on...).
Thanks
Diego
__________________
G66 Technical Manager for Italy
Diego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 05:26 AM   #2
snooks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,546
Default

I'm lusting after this at the moment...

https://www.yourslide.com/

First orders are supposed to be shipping now/soon, but I'm waiting for real user feedback to see how breakable it is or isn't.
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 05:37 AM   #3
Diego
Human being with feelings
 
Diego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy and... world
Posts: 123
Default

I already have a 34 inches monitor. The tablet will go over the Avid Artist Mix to control the plugins and VSTi.
Your solution can be a nice solution for a laptop, a little less with a workstation
__________________
G66 Technical Manager for Italy
Diego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 05:59 AM   #4
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 847
Default

Hi,
Mamma mia! That's exactly what I did! It fits perfectly over my 8 strip MCU alike.
I use team viewer believe it or not. With an old 10 inch lenovo.
I tried some other apps...this was 2012 or so.... And the best one was team viewer. But I had to attach areal second monitor..an old one I don't really use...to let the tablet show a second monitor. I believe there may be a way to put in a "dummy" monitor, but this works fine for me.
You install team viewer on the PC and the android. I use an older version of team viewer on my PC because its xp. Low CPU use.
Funny, great minds think alike:-)
Bona fortuna,
Guido

Edit...there should be a way to do it with USB, but I couldn't find anything back then, maybe there is a USB solution now? That thing snooks brought up connects via USB no? But do it without the fancy hardware that holds the tablets.

Last edited by LugNut; 04-17-2018 at 06:11 AM.
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 07:54 AM   #5
Magicbuss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diego View Post
Hi all, I would like to use a tablet (cheap one since I don't need many of tablet features) as a second monitor to control plugins and VSTi. Do you have any experience about (how do you connect your PC and tablet, wich app do you use and so on...).
Thanks
Diego
Duet
https://www.duetdisplay.com/
Magicbuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 10:05 AM   #6
Diego
Human being with feelings
 
Diego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy and... world
Posts: 123
Default

Thanks but I was thinking to something less expensive since it will use just 3% of the power of an iPad.
__________________
G66 Technical Manager for Italy
Diego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 01:20 PM   #7
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diego View Post
Thanks but I was thinking to something less expensive since it will use just 3% of the power of an iPad.
That's why I went for TV. Free. Never had an issue. Meters on vsts update pretty snappy.

Edit I did buy an app to accomplish this..I think it was air display...but it wouldn't work smoothly on my system.
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 01:36 PM   #8
Magicbuss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diego View Post
Thanks but I was thinking to something less expensive since it will use just 3% of the power of an iPad.
You could buy a used iPad 3 for under $150. A Used iPad 2 goes for even less.
Magicbuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 01:56 PM   #9
Diego
Human being with feelings
 
Diego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy and... world
Posts: 123
Default

This is true (used old iPad are cheap today) BUT some apps (and the one you suggested is one of them) require iOS 7 that can not be installed on iPad 2 (maybe on the third generation but I have to check).
However thanks for the suggestions, maybe someone can point me to some of the Android or windows tablet (I saw some of them under 200€ on Amazon).
__________________
G66 Technical Manager for Italy
Diego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 04:24 AM   #10
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 847
Default

Hi,
My lenovo is running jellybean. You don't need much.
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 07:33 AM   #11
Magicbuss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diego View Post
This is true (used old iPad are cheap today) BUT some apps (and the one you suggested is one of them) require iOS 7 that can not be installed on iPad 2 (maybe on the third generation but I have to check).
However thanks for the suggestions, maybe someone can point me to some of the Android or windows tablet (I saw some of them under 200€ on Amazon).
I just checked. The iPad 2 supports up to IOS 9.3.5.
Magicbuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 07:48 AM   #12
Diego
Human being with feelings
 
Diego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy and... world
Posts: 123
Default

Thanks I will look at this!!
__________________
G66 Technical Manager for Italy
Diego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:05 AM   #13
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,941
Default

I've got a cheap Samsung tab e7 and I use an app called TwoMon to make it an external monitor over USB + wifi. I tried some free apps but they were all worse.

It's no good trying to use it as a video monitor (too much latency) but it's fine for an extra metering window. I like to have Heda's loudness graph script on it. like a poor-man's Clarity M

here's a pic of what that looks like
https://www.instagram.com/p/BPJ3FzAjTw_/

Works better just running as a web remote to trigger actions.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:40 AM   #14
Diego
Human being with feelings
 
Diego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy and... world
Posts: 123
Default

Thanks, at this point I think I will go for a second monitor, maybe a small one, touch screen, just to display plugins and VSTi
__________________
G66 Technical Manager for Italy
Diego is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.