Old 08-30-2012, 12:36 PM   #1
pennymobb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Default no sound in reaper with asio4all

hey guys this is my first post so hi. just warning you im a recording amateur

unfortunatly im having a problem with reaper. i used reaper for 2 years straight on my old laptop and i used asio drivers and everything worked perfectly. my old laptop was an HP G42. like i said everything worked perfectly (not to say i didnt have problems at the begining, but i eventually conquered them).

but that fateful day came when my hard drive crashed. so i went out and bought an HP pavilion G7. 6GBRAM and an intel core i5. and an onboard sound card. so im installin stuff like reaper and flstudio and once i get it all done i boot up reaper to see what kind of latency i get with asio drivers.

but theres no sound. so i start trying to figure out what the problem is. i went to audio devices in reaper preferences and start messin with stuff there. i finally try switching to direct sound and BAM theres sound.

im telling you right now though that direct sound simply wont work for me because i get about 150ms latency where as asio i dont even get 15.


if anyone has any tips, ideas, or suggestions please reply here. ill be watching this post all day and tomorow so ty for replys!


p.s. sorry its so long, just trying to give u all the info
pennymobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:49 PM   #2
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default

In your Preferences->Audio->Device click on the Asio configuration button, then click on the spanner icon so it has a red cross through it.
You should now see all the inputs and outputs available.
What is likely is you'll see your outputs with crosses through them, which means some other software has control of your soundcard.
You'll have to find out what it is and turn it off.
Steve
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:19 PM   #3
pennymobb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Default

ok so i did that and im on the asio window.

i see the WDM device list and there is only one thing.

the green power button to the left of it has no x, but it doesnt have the arrow thats usually just to the right of the power button.

the device is listed as IDT high definition Audio CODEC

on my old laptop it had something like that but then i could expand it to see inputs and outputs but on this laptop its just the IDT HDA CODEC wich doesnt expand.

maybe thats the problem? ty for reply.
pennymobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:21 PM   #4
pennymobb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Default

also im having the same problem with FLstudio 8. primary sound driver works fine sound wise but asio4 all has no sound D:

maybe asio4all isnt installed correctly? would that cause these problems?
pennymobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 01:22 PM   #5
pennymobb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Default

sorry double post
pennymobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 02:26 PM   #6
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default

Hmm. There may be a bug in Asio4all v2.10. I've just deliberately blocked the onboard card and it showed on the config page as working.
You might want to try the WDM streaming driver, it usually gives a lower latency than Asio4All.
Steve
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:06 PM   #7
pennymobb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Default

where can i download the wmd streamer driver
pennymobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.