Old 09-17-2018, 06:41 PM   #1
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 122
Default Sampler like sampleomatic

But where we can import audio items and assign a note per item.

Basically I have a bunch of items loaded(from one large item but split by hand in reaper) and I'd like to play items based on notes.

Rather than have to export all the items and load them in to a sampler, it would be nice if I could use a plugin and just select the item and assign a note to it. When that midi note is played it plays the item, no pitch shifting or anything.

Something like samplomatic but for individual items(rather than a single item).

Last edited by InfiniteDimensionality; 09-17-2018 at 06:50 PM.
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 09:55 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,143
Default

I never tried this, but AFAIK, NI Kontakt is a tool that is crafted for that purpose and hence should be decently workable.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de

Last edited by mschnell; 09-18-2018 at 06:58 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 01:00 AM   #3
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 572
Default

Use TX16Wx. I think that's the kind of software you're asking for. It has a great free version and the pro version comes with a Reaper like pricing.

http://www.tx16wx.com/

And besides Kontakt you may have a look at UIV Falcon.

or if you want to go vintage have a look at TAL-Sampler.

https://tal-software.com/products/tal-sampler

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 02:21 AM   #4
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
I never tried this, but AFAIK, NI Kontakt is the a tool that is crafted for that purpose and hence should be decently workable.

-Michael
But this requires me to add samples as files, not samples that are audio items in reaper. kontakt has no idea about reaper. This is is going to either take a script(with midi input, which I think does not exist, and also outputs to the engine so it can be rendered), possibly a jsfx(but still needs access to audio items), or reaper itself).
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 02:30 AM   #5
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masi View Post
Use TX16Wx. I think that's the kind of software you're asking for. It has a great free version and the pro version comes with a Reaper like pricing.

http://www.tx16wx.com/

And besides Kontakt you may have a look at UIV Falcon.

or if you want to go vintage have a look at TAL-Sampler.

https://tal-software.com/products/tal-sampler

Masi
The problem is that all these require samples as files, not as reaper audio items.

Also, I do not need anything complex.

If a jsfx could have access to any audio item in the arrange it would be very simple.

I really just need to assign a midi note to an item and play it, nothing fancy like pitch shifting, ADSR, etc...

I play a B note in midi, and it plays some audio item I've assigned to it.

If the devs would add the ability for jsfx to access midi items such as using a slider,

slider1:0<_AudioItems_[%name%{A*item}]>

say,

where *A*item is just a filter that limits the items names, just so the list isn't infinite then the user can easily assign an item.

slider1 returns the item name as a string.

Then _AudioItems_[slider1](t) would get the audio bits for that item at time = t(with t = 0 the start of the item).

These two simple things would easily allow one to do what I ask and even more advanced things and should not be all that difficult to implement.

Of course, other methods could be used, what is important is some way to use them.

Scripts can get audio items easily and do all the assignment but the cannot insert audio in to the render stream AFAI nor can they really do anything with midi.

These disconnects is what makes it difficult to combine their functionality to actually get things done.

What would be nice, also/or, is to have have JS fx interact with scripts.

e.g., a jsfx can launch a script that handles certain things and they can communicate through gmem like functionality or some other method.


Again, the main thing I'm trying to avoid is having to render all the items to individual files and then load them in a sampler.

I suppose a sampler that could load a single file and assign parts to different notes would work but I have multiple audio items with multiple parts so it would have to be a little more robust.

I'll probably have to go that way since I doubt I'll get what I ask... at least any time soon.
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 05:23 AM   #6
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Dunth, NC
Posts: 1,640
Default

rs5k + mpl's scripts will do what you're trying to do. you split items in reaper and run a script that assigns the selected items to midi notes starting at a specified note. there's an older, maybe unsupported version that doesn't render.

also, if you have only a few, you can double click the note range knob in rs5k and it'll default to the last received note
__________________
check out MPL's amazing RS5K manager
FR: select midi recorded in most recent engagement of record/overdub.

Last edited by mccrabney; 09-18-2018 at 05:35 AM.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 09:20 AM   #7
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
rs5k + mpl's scripts will do what you're trying to do. you split items in reaper and run a script that assigns the selected items to midi notes starting at a specified note. there's an older, maybe unsupported version that doesn't render.

also, if you have only a few, you can double click the note range knob in rs5k and it'll default to the last received note
This still does not seem to do what I want. You have to drag and drop actual audio files and NOT audio items(reaper audio items).

Again, I don't want to have to render all the cuts just to assign them. I should be able to just assign them from the arrange view where they are located. Having to jump through a bunch of hoops to achieve something that requires no hoops is not a solution I'm looking for.

Having to chop up a thousand different samples and render them to a file when they are already chopped up in reaper with all the loop info and data is not the way to go.

The script definitely could automate this but it doesn't have the ability the best I can tell.

I should just be able to select an item and assign it to a pad... simple as that. Takes about 1 second for each item.

Reaper sampleomatic already has an "import from arrange". I suppose I could manually go through all and open sampleomatic and click the button... take about 10 times longer than it should though(e.g., 1hr vs 10hrs for all those that can't do math).
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 10:20 AM   #8
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Dunth, NC
Posts: 1,640
Default

you've seen import from arrange.



this is the mpl script

__________________
check out MPL's amazing RS5K manager
FR: select midi recorded in most recent engagement of record/overdub.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 10:41 AM   #9
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 122
Default

Thanks, yeah, I'll play around with it and see.

I have a little bit more complicated setup in that I have a matrix of items that I would like to assign so that rows get mapped to an octave(< 12 items in a row) and columns get mapped to a pitch in the octave or vice versa.

I suppose I could use one instance per row or column then combine them all though, probably the easiest way for now...
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 09:32 AM   #10
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
you've seen import from arrange.



this is the mpl script

This is nice, but we need at least a 8 out version of this.

Example:
item 1: goes to out 1
item 2: goes to out 2
item 3: goes to out 3
item 4: goes to out 4
...
item 8: goes to out 8
item 9: goes back to out 1, as we have only 8 outs

If we have e.g. 16 outs, item 17 would go back to out 1. In short, this should use multiple tracks, not a single track. For 8 out case, using 8 tracks. For 16 out case, using 16 tracks. Not sure, maybe this exists already, did not check mpl's stuff for a long time.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 04:52 AM   #11
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 106
Default

Also don't forget mouse modifier pass through to item drag context where you can drag n drop audio from arrange into any sampler that is supported which means no need to export each time your audio to open it from a sampler.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.