Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2017, 08:45 PM   #1
Archimedes
Human being with feelings
 
Archimedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 294
Default Dangerous Bug or 'Feature' - Seriously Dangerous

See the attached GIF

(1) Open a blank project
(2) Create a track of anything
(3) Create a "volume" envelope
(4) Create points on that envelope
(5) Right click a point and select "Set Point Value"
(6) Delete whatever value appears in the text box
(7) The point will jump to 0.0 dB, even though you have not entered a value and have not pressed or clicked "OK"

If you are changing a point that is, say -30 dB, and you attempt to do the above while the track is playing, and are wearing headphones or earbuds, THIS COULD CAUSE SERIOUS HEARING DAMAGE. The volume will jump from the current value to 0.0 dB before you enter a value and press OK.

So, this is not something I think Cockos/Reaper should think is acceptable.
Attached Images
File Type: gif NotOkay.gif (15.4 KB, 34 views)
__________________
Supermicro 7048, Dual Xeon E5-2630 V3, 64 GB RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro, Lynx AES16e, Aurora 16, NVIDIA Titan Z, abt 9 TB HDD, 3 TB SSD, Reaper v5.62/x64, too many VST products to list but most frequently, Waves, iZotope, LASS, VSL, NI

Last edited by Archimedes; 11-13-2017 at 08:50 PM.
Archimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 10:48 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,474
Default

"Dangerous" Obviously you forgot "(8) all audio files in the project are deleted."

No number equals Zero. IMHO a rather obvious and usual behavior. Do you suggest it better should be "no change" or "Not accepted (-> don't leave the edit mode) ?

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 02:22 AM   #3
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 613
Default

Yeah, it is not something you would want to happen like that, apart from the possibility of hearing or trouser damage.

I believe you can highlight rather than delete what appears in the text box and over-write but I am not sure if it increases/decreases AS you input numbers- not at my machine at the moment so cant check - just dont forget the minus sign...
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6.
Up to date Reaper 64.
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 05:40 AM   #4
Archimedes
Human being with feelings
 
Archimedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
"Dangerous" Obviously you forgot "(8) all audio files in the project are deleted."

No number equals Zero. IMHO a rather obvious and usual behavior. Do you suggest it better should be "no change" or "Not accepted (-> don't leave the edit mode) ?

-Michael
Whatever the user intends to enter should not be applied until clicking "ok".
__________________
Supermicro 7048, Dual Xeon E5-2630 V3, 64 GB RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro, Lynx AES16e, Aurora 16, NVIDIA Titan Z, abt 9 TB HDD, 3 TB SSD, Reaper v5.62/x64, too many VST products to list but most frequently, Waves, iZotope, LASS, VSL, NI
Archimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:32 AM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archimedes View Post
Whatever the user intends to enter should not be applied until clicking "ok".
There's an option in Preferences->General->Keyboard/Multitouch to commit changes to some edit fields after 1 second of no typing, but looks like entering envelope point values is one of the edit fields that doesn't follow this setting...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:34 AM   #6
Archimedes
Human being with feelings
 
Archimedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertP View Post
Yeah, it is not something you would want to happen like that, apart from the possibility of hearing or trouser damage.

I believe you can highlight rather than delete what appears in the text box and over-write but I am not sure if it increases/decreases AS you input numbers- not at my machine at the moment so cant check - just dont forget the minus sign...
Yes, but any activity in that box causes the envelope point to change whether you hit "OK", or press an Enter key, etc.

This has happened to me, while wearing open-back cans. Pisses me off.
__________________
Supermicro 7048, Dual Xeon E5-2630 V3, 64 GB RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro, Lynx AES16e, Aurora 16, NVIDIA Titan Z, abt 9 TB HDD, 3 TB SSD, Reaper v5.62/x64, too many VST products to list but most frequently, Waves, iZotope, LASS, VSL, NI
Archimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:38 AM   #7
Archimedes
Human being with feelings
 
Archimedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
There's an option in Preferences->General->Keyboard/Multitouch to commit changes to some edit fields after 1 second of no typing, but looks like entering envelope point values is one of the edit fields that doesn't follow this setting...
Really quite dangerous Ed. Obviously not a big deal when the track is stopped or paused - but if I'm trying to bring up a faint Foley effect, like a gun shot or cinematic hit, I routinely hand-enter values rather than try to finesse a slider or drag the point. Next thing you know, Bang! in my ears! Yikes. Really toasts my roast.
__________________
Supermicro 7048, Dual Xeon E5-2630 V3, 64 GB RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro, Lynx AES16e, Aurora 16, NVIDIA Titan Z, abt 9 TB HDD, 3 TB SSD, Reaper v5.62/x64, too many VST products to list but most frequently, Waves, iZotope, LASS, VSL, NI
Archimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:41 AM   #8
jeranx
Human being with feelings
 
jeranx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Région de Caen, Normandie
Posts: 776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archimedes View Post
Whatever the user intends to enter should not be applied until clicking "ok".
Hi Archimedes. You'd better set this in Prefs/Audio/Mute/Solo



By security, you're right.

Bye
__________________
https://hearthis.at/jeranx-qd/
https://soundcloud.com/thierry-vastel
Un peu fort et .. au casque
jeranx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:46 AM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,562
Default

Next time try using shift+drag the point instead of typing a value, perhaps? I mean, I know typing in can be faster, but if safety is concerned, it's a workaround that's available.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:09 AM   #10
Archimedes
Human being with feelings
 
Archimedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeranx View Post
Hi Archimedes. You'd better set this in Prefs/Audio/Mute/Solo

By security, you're right.

Bye
Yep, I have that set. A blast from -30 db to even 0.0 dB though is painful - trust me - I've experienced that.
__________________
Supermicro 7048, Dual Xeon E5-2630 V3, 64 GB RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro, Lynx AES16e, Aurora 16, NVIDIA Titan Z, abt 9 TB HDD, 3 TB SSD, Reaper v5.62/x64, too many VST products to list but most frequently, Waves, iZotope, LASS, VSL, NI
Archimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:11 AM   #11
Archimedes
Human being with feelings
 
Archimedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 294
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Next time try using shift+drag the point instead of typing a value, perhaps? I mean, I know typing in can be faster, but if safety is concerned, it's a workaround that's available.
Yep. Now I just stop the track, loop around the around the area I'm trying to adjust, etc. But, that's a hack. Why have an "OK" button in this case? Doesn't make sense.

Anyway, thanks! (and thanks for everything you do in the pre forum - very impressive!)
__________________
Supermicro 7048, Dual Xeon E5-2630 V3, 64 GB RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro, Lynx AES16e, Aurora 16, NVIDIA Titan Z, abt 9 TB HDD, 3 TB SSD, Reaper v5.62/x64, too many VST products to list but most frequently, Waves, iZotope, LASS, VSL, NI
Archimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 08:56 AM   #12
jeranx
Human being with feelings
 
jeranx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Région de Caen, Normandie
Posts: 776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archimedes View Post
Yep, I have that set. A blast from -30 db to even 0.0 dB though is painful - trust me - I've experienced that.
Yeah Archi, I agree with that..
__________________
https://hearthis.at/jeranx-qd/
https://soundcloud.com/thierry-vastel
Un peu fort et .. au casque
jeranx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 06:32 PM   #13
Archimedes
Human being with feelings
 
Archimedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 294
Default

I think the logic should be

If (playing) {commit if no input after 1 sec = false} else {commit if no input after 1 sec = as specified by user}
__________________
Supermicro 7048, Dual Xeon E5-2630 V3, 64 GB RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro, Lynx AES16e, Aurora 16, NVIDIA Titan Z, abt 9 TB HDD, 3 TB SSD, Reaper v5.62/x64, too many VST products to list but most frequently, Waves, iZotope, LASS, VSL, NI
Archimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.