Old 04-06-2020, 05:21 PM   #1
dsealer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pa
Posts: 327
Default Question for the Tech experts

I have a friend who sent me a file for a project I'm working on. The file format he sent it to me is M4a. I wasn't able to insert the M4a into my project so I tried to convert the file to Wav. But it doesn't line up/sync with the items in my project. Is there a way to make the file compatible?
Thanks,
__________________
Don.....
dsealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 05:25 PM   #2
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,474
Default

you should be able to load / play an M4a file in Reaper if you have VLC installed.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 05:53 PM   #3
dsealer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pa
Posts: 327
Default

I am unfamiliar with vlc. Can you give me more information and how I would use it?
Thanks,
__________________
Don.....
dsealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 06:22 PM   #4
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 9,976
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsealer View Post
I am unfamiliar with vlc. Can you give me more information and how I would use it?
Thanks,

VLC is a free media player, see https://www.videolan.org/vlc/index.html
peter5992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 03:39 AM   #5
dsealer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pa
Posts: 327
Default

I understand I can play the file with VLC. Can I insert that file into my project and will it line up with my other tracks in Reaper?

Thanks again,
__________________
Don.....
dsealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 04:20 AM   #6
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,699
Default

They aren't telling you to play it in VLC. They are telling you that with VLC installed correctly for Reaper to use it the M4a will load directly into Reaper.

No way to know if it will align with your tracks because how can we know the guy recording it has done so starting at the same bar your project starts.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 05:17 AM   #7
dsealer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pa
Posts: 327
Default

Thanks. Do you know if there are instructions somewhere detailing how to install VLC correctly into Reaper?

Thanks again,
__________________
Don.....
dsealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 05:32 AM   #8
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,474
Default

you don't install it "into" Reaper. Just install the relevant version of VLC (32 bit if you use 32 bit Reaper or 64 bit if you use 64).
Once it's installed Reaper should automatically see the stuff it needs from VLC
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 05:44 AM   #9
Alistair S
Human being with feelings
 
Alistair S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,532
Default

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=82459
Alistair S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2020, 06:36 AM   #10
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,699
Default

Sorry if my post was misleading....as said choosing the same 32 or 64 bit as your reaper version is the only thing you need to check.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.