Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2018, 06:04 AM   #1
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,121
Default Right-click in marker lane should not move cursor...

I don't know it it has always been this way, but it sure looks like a bug to me. At least it is extremely annoying behavior (to me).

Right-click in the marker lane moves the cursor to the right-click point. It should not.

My scenario:
1. Place a marker at time x
2. Place a marker at time y
3. Double-click the marker lane to get a time selection between x and y, this puts the cursor at x
4. Right-click to get drop-down menu, to select "Insert tempo /signature marker..."

What happens:
The cursor is moved to the right-click position, which is somewhere in-between x and y, and the tempo marker gets inserted there.

What I expected:
The cursor not to move, and the tempo marker to be inserted at the beginning of the time selection, at x.

This is annoying, as I have to double-click the marker lane to get the correct time selection, double-clicking any of the other ruler lanes makes a time selection of the whole project. So to work around this bug, I have to remember to move the mouse slightly up or down, into one of the other ruler lanes, where right-click does not move the cursor, before right-clicking to get the menu. This kills my workflow!

And I can find no mouse modifier settings related to right-clicking the marker lane.

I see no reason whatsoever why right-clicking should do anything else but popping up the menu.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 02:16 AM   #2
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,319
Default

Altough you may seem this as a workaround,
Can't you just use this Action and assign it to a keyshortcut ?:

Tempo envelope: Insert tempo/time signature change marker at edit cursor...

This would even be faster workflow than having to rightclick and then navigate your mouse to menu item "insert tempo/ time signature marker"
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 04:51 AM   #3
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Altough you may seem this as a workaround,
Can't you just use this Action and assign it to a keyshortcut ?:

Tempo envelope: Insert tempo/time signature change marker at edit cursor...

This would even be faster workflow than having to rightclick and then navigate your mouse to menu item "insert tempo/ time signature marker"
Yes, good point. Thanks. I'll try that. The only problem I see is there are so many kbd shortcuts I cannot remember them all, even the ones I set up myself...
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 04:58 AM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,319
Default

I hear ya, good point.. i experience the same thing lol.
But, even if it's hard it is to remember all those shortcuts, i prefer working as much as i can with shortcuts (most speedy workflow for me).

Try to assign logical / meaningful shortcuts.
For example, i have assigned the create tempo marker action to CTRL T.

T for Tempo.
CTRL key i use for all actions that bring up a popup window (like the insert tempo action)

EDIT: I also use an ipad app called Midi Designer.
In this you can create buttons and label them meaningfully.
These buttons can send out midi data like midi note or midi cc data to Reaper.
You can link Actions in Reaper Action List to this kind of midi messages.
So then you trigger Reaper actions with the Midi Designer buttons.
Works very well !
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 08:24 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,126
Default

Hmm by default the right click should not move the cursor -- maybe you have the right click mapped to another action?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 12:13 PM   #6
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Hmm by default the right click should not move the cursor -- maybe you have the right click mapped to another action?
OK... strange.
I just did a new portable install of Reaper on a RAM drive, and right clicking the marker lane sure moves the cursor.



I am on W7x64 Pro, running 64-bit Reaper, portable install.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 12:51 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,126
Default

Ah right, my mistake, hmmm yeah.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 01:32 PM   #8
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Ah right, my mistake, hmmm yeah.
I would be very happy if you correct this mistake in some coming release
Thanks
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.